We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great BandB”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #3 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great BandB”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed here with my family and it was perfect. It felt like home - or a home I would have if I could decorate. The bathroom was modern and very clean. Hart Street is very close to Princes Street and Broughton Street is lovely and worth exploring - I recommend the New Town Deli.
The breakfasts were very good - and it was great to have the newspapers - Just one of the many ''little touches'' which make a BandB excellent. James and Angela are perfect hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
95
551
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed at Hart Street for five nights for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival after a recommendation from my manager. We were not disappoined! The location was excellent with easy access on foot to all areas around the city & great restaurants in the immediate vicinity. We arrived early morning to a lovely welcome from James & Angela who could not have been more helpful, giving us recommendations for places to eat & general information about the city. The accommodation was spotlessly clean & beautifully decorated, as is the rest of the house. It was the little touches in the room that made the stay even nicer such as fresh milk for your tea & whiskey for a night cap! As many people have mentioned James' breakfasts are amazing & will definitely set you up for the day! We will definitely hereafter Hart Street again & have already recommended it to friends planning to visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzball70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A first class stay in a wonderful setting looked after by two of the nicest people you could wish to meet. We enjoyed the whole experience and would recommend it as THE place to stay in Edinburgh (with an extra mention for the breakfast with Black Pudding).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomalfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We spent the weekend in Edinburgh for a birthday treat - thanks to James and Angela, their accommodation is lovely. Rooms are elegantly furnished and our bed was one of the most comfortable that we have ever slept in! Breakfast was very nice, cooked to order, with plenty of choice. We found the location absolutely perfect for the centre of Edinburgh. Hopefully we will have a further opportunity to visit again. If you are looking for a place stay in Edinburgh with a personal touch, you won't be disappointed with this gem. Dawn & Allan

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is an exceptional B&B. Wonderful house. Our room was furnished with much care to detail and it was very elegant. We loved it. Jame's breakfast was wonderful. We enjoyed having a chat with him and Angela and they gave us a warm welcome. We very much recommend this ideally located B&B. Isabel & Pierre

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Second time of staying at this delightful B&B. I'm more used to staying in hotels and this experience is much closer to that, just without the restaurant and bar! The rooms are beautifully furnished with nice little touches such as complimentary water, whiskey and little bottle of wine. For the non-alcoholics there's tea and coffee making too. Our bathroom was good sized, modern with a big walk in shower.
James and Angela the owners take a keen interest in your day without being intrusive and James's cooked breakfasts are fabulous. I had a lovely full English with fresh ingredients. No tired sausages under a hot plate here! My wife's porridge was excellent and she sometimes finds my cooking wanting. Plus there was cereals, fruit, juice, toast and a massive array of preserves.
If I was to find fault, and just to prove I'm not family - and it's hard to find fault - our room could have done with a bit more dusting before we arrived. We've already booked next year's accommodation there...

Room Tip: All rooms quiet. Bed size and bathroom size varies. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 nights here and had a great stay. The location is perfect (10-15 min walk from all main, central sights) and the place is spotless. The owners made the stay so memorable...they are extremely nice, hospitable and there for any need. The furnishings are nice and traditional, the walls in the rooms and halls are painted great historic colors. Additionally our bathroom was white, bright and spotless. Breakfasts were delicious and filling. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFtravelingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,766 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,627 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
464 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — 14 Hart Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing