We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return.”
Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #3 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Sharon and I regrettably allowed only two days in Edinburgh. James and Angela were the consummate host and hostess. They welcomed us into their home and made us feel part of the family. We even got to meet their daughter and grandson. The food was B&B excellent - a very high standard. Even the off the beaten path location added to the homelike feel. James could not have been more helpful with directions and advice. All we can say is that as frequent travelers who prefer B&Bs wherever possible, 14 Hart Street ranks within our top five and is not likely to drop out anytime soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

We spent 3 nights at 14 Hart Street before travelling out into the Highlands. The accommodation was first class in every way and James and Angela the perfect hosts. We travelled with our 7 year old daughter who absolutely adored this B&B, probably because the home made breakfast was more of a feast than your average B&B selection.

The rooms are cozy and charming in every way, the beds very comfortable and the quiet setting make for a relaxing sleep. Our bathroom was large and equipped with everything we needed.

The small selection of beverages in our room including a whiskey, wine, water and tea as well as some cookies was an additional treat. James even provided us with ice and milk to complement the beverages.

The city centre as well as pubs and restaurants can be easily accessed on foot in 10 minutes which made this the ideal location for us.

Finally, the graciousness of the hosts was outstanding and we felt welcome and at home. We can highly recommend 14 Hart street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_platts_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

14 Hart Street is a fabulously charming bed and breakfast. It's a Georgian gem in the heart of Edinburgh. My room was tastefully decorated to the finest standard and I particularly loved the attention to detail and the aesthetic flourishes. The fine decour was particularly impressive. The hosts Angela and James could not have been more accommodating and attentive. They made me feel genuinely welcome with their warm hospitality. I particularly appreciated their hints and tips for exploring Edinburgh. I felt well and truly pampered. I loved the breakfasts which were prepared with care and were especially yummy. The bed was very comfortable and cozy and room was well proportioned to suit my needs. The location was ideal for exploring the old town and the B&B was a welcome sanctuary after my adventures in Edinburgh. I would highly recommend this B&B to the most discerning of travellers. As an American I'd happily recommend this B&B to my fellow Americans whom I'm sure will love 14 Hart Street as much as I do.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We spent three days and nights at 14 Hart Strreet, and it was the perfect home base for visitors who had never experienced Edinburgh before. James was a super host, very helpful without being intrusive. And his breakfasts were outstanding -- both hot and cold (the selection of jams was mouthwatering). Our room was scrupulously clean, and it came with a duvet that made you never want to leave the bed. But we did...because the best sights in Edinburgh were only a short walk away -- comfortable enough for 60-somethings to hike back and forth for three days straight without exhausting ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoFormerJournalists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The place was great. James was really nice. Would stay here again and would recommend it wholeheartedly. The breakfast was fantastic and the area of town was nice and a little away from the tourist section of town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

My husband treated me to a weekend at 14 Hart Street for my birthday. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed very warmly by Angela and James. Our room was warm, comfy,clean and looked lovely. It's a great location only 10-15 minutes to the royal mile. The breakfasts are something special, James cooks everything to order and its certainly filling.A wonderful stay and we will definatley be back again. Can't recommend it enough. Thank you for everything. X

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed at 14 Hart St for a long weekend at the tail end of the Edinburgh Festival. The room was very nice with a clean, new bathroom. It was very well located near great restaurants and pubs and just a short walk from Princes St. We liked being able to stop back to the room and enjoy some tea and cookies (or occasionally, complimentary whiskey and wine) after a long day of sight-seeing!

The owners were friendly and eager to provide recommendations. With an early flight on our last day and not needing breakfast, James reduced our bill without us even having to ask. 14 Hart Street was an all-around great choice for our long weekend in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,004 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
758 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
500 reviews
Six Brunton Place Guest House
#11 of 393 in Edinburgh
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £513 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing