We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Ranked #3 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2008

What a lovely place to stay. This is a small guest house with only two or three rooms available for Bed and Breakfast. It is in a quiet area and only a few minutes walk from the centre of Edinburgh. The correspondence prior to the trip was good and the warmth of the owners came across in their emails. When we arrived we were welcomed by Betty , a bubbly and efficient housekeeper, in the owners' absence. During our stay we met the owners who also made us feel very welcome and helped us with ideas on where to eat, what to see etc. The rooms were good with on suite facilities. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and, as a result, we had a wonderful stay in Edinburgh.
Thanks
Dave and Eirwen

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamTeignmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
There are newer reviews for 14 Hart Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2008

My daughter and I stayed at 14 Hart Street in May, having been pointed there by Gerald of "Gerald's" when he didn't have a room available for us. We're so glad he did. We have these things to note about 14 Hart:

- Beautiful public rooms, and elegant breakfast
- Spacious guest rooms are on lower "English basement" level but you'd never know. Windows are full sized, light is good, and not a bit of dampness.
- Building sits directly on a quiet side street, giving easy access to busier streets but providing privacy.
- Possibly the nicest bed linens and most comfortable beds we've ever slept in
- Incredibly wonderful shower with strong water pressure. The bathroom overall was very modern and spotlessly clean.
- Lovely welcome tray in room providing complimentary red and white wines, whisky, and water.
- James, the owner, is delightful, convivial and helpful while being unintrusive. That's a delicate balance that we are always happy and relieved to encounter when staying in B&Bs. Sadly, we did not get a chance to meet Angela as she was away the nights that we were in Edinburgh.

Know before you go:

- 14 Hart Street does not take credit cards. This was not a problem for us as James and Angela let us know in advance, and we were prepared with cash.
- The bathroom sink is quite small, with no place to keep a bar of soap or toothbrush - we reached across to use a shelf area for this purpose. This wasn't a big deal for us but I can see that if a man was fussy about his shaving routine it might be a bit of a nuisance. Certainly no reason to pass on 14 Hart.

I only wish one could find this sort of excellence and comfort at the London B&Bs!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank swnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

14 Hart street is an excellent location, 5-10 mins walk to Princes Street, 10-15 min walk to Waverley railway station, 5 min walk to the bus station. Although centrally located, Hart St itself is very quiet.

The accommodation is a Georgian Town House, beautifully decorated and full of character. The bedrooms were very spacious with lots of nice touches such as shortbread, wine and whisky!!! The breakfasts were also excellent.

Angela and James are the perfect hosts; very welcoming, approachable and helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. They ensured that we got the most out of our stay allowing us to check in early and to leave our luggage until we had to catch our train.

I thoroughly recommend 14 Hart St.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Him_and_hangerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

We enjoyed so much our stay in 14 Hart Street Edinburgh.
The situation is very good, and in weekend you can leave the car outside for free.
The house is amazing. Our room was very big with a lot of space and very nice. Very clean.
Breakfast was very good.
If we come back to Edinburgh we will go to 14 Hart Street for sure.
James was gave a very warm welcome.
It's a place to tell to everybody that want to have a good stay in Edinbugh.
Joan and Mayte

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan_i_Mayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

14 Hart Street is very well located in the New Town of Edinburgh. It's a short walk from there to any of the major sights. There are loads of bars and restaurants within a VERY short walk, but Hart Street itself is very quiet.

The accommodation is excellent with very good touches - loads of towels provided and shower gel etc. There are also tea and coffee making facilities in your room and whisky and wine provided.

Breakfasts are cooked to order and taken in a beautiful room. The hosts Angela and James are very welcoming and feel like old friends.

This is a truly excellent guesthouse and we would love to stay again.

Thank you very much for our wonderful stay in Edinburgh.

Helena and Nigel

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaandNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Where to begin?? As stated in other reviews, you will not find more hospitable hosts in Edinburgh. Our stay was for 3 nights and we could not have been more pleased! James & Angela are the kindest and most considerate people you will ever meet. As soon as the door to 14 Hart St. opens, you will become part of the family.

Our room (the Garden room) was large and very comfortable. Snacks, teas and hot chocolate were always awaiting us after a long day of sightseeing. (Sorry no photos of the room...I must have been very tired!)

The location could not have been better. A quiet street yet within walking distance to almost any attraction. Several places to eat are close by (as is a cash machine). On recommendation, we tried a local Italian restaurant and it was delicious! Taxi fare from the airport was 20 pounds w/tip and well worth not having the hassle of hauling our luggage around.

I could go on and on, but by now I'm sure you've gotten the picture:) You cannot go wrong staying at 14 Hart St. We would not stay anywhere else in Edinburgh.

Thank you Angela & James!

Joe & Kari, Noble, OK

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faithrunfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

14 Hart Street is situated in a quiet area yet within walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh.

Our double room there was clean and comfortable with a large shower in a modern ensuite bathroom. There was a small TV and hairdryer in the room and, in addition to the usual tea and coffee-making facilities, whisky, wine and shortbread were provided.

In the morning (time to suit) we were offered a tasty freshly-cooked breakfast and pot of coffee and the large table was laden with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, juice, jams and honey.

However, the best thing about this bed and breakfast is the friendliness and helpfulness of its owners, James and Angela. Booking directly with them via email address on their website was easy and efficient. We were able to call early and leave our case on the 1st day and collect it just before leaving for the airport on the evening of departure. We were offered a map and umbrellas were available should we have required them. We also very much appreciated the lift to the airlink bus stop from Angela on her way to the shops - thank you again!

We would definitely stay there again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,856 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
495 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
745 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £90 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing