We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 Hart Street
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
849
38
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
38
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bperfect hostscomplimentary winequiet streethosts james and angelawithin walking distancebreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfastfriendly hostsyogurtgeorgian houseeach morningroyal miletrain stationmodern bathroompower showera wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
796 - 801 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2008

14 Hart St is an elegant historic property in New Town furnished with antiques and convenient walking distance to attractions and restaurants. Our room was very quiet with a view on to the garden and equipped with a modern luxury shower ensuite with heated towel rack. The scotch whiskey tray in our room was a treat we enjoyed after touring for the day. James and Angela provided exceptional hospitality - procuring a brand new street atlas when we were looking for a walking map and allowing us to keep our luggage in the room the morning after we checked out so that we could visit Holyrood House. Our thanks to Gerald for his endorsement and also for his help in locating reasonably priced off street parking (municipal car park is much less than John Lewis).

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Bitinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

My husband and I stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. We arrived by train and it was an easy walking distance to Hart Street, quiet central location – and easy to walk from to see the sights of Edinburgh. There wasn't a sign at the front of the property, a quiet, discreet B&B.
James and Angela open their lovely home, decorated with antique furniture and various interesting items, with old prints / etchings on the walls of various places in Europe. You enter the property at street level where the grand and spacious breakfast room is on the left, off the hallway.
Stairs go down to the B&B accommodation - similar decoration throughout, with lovely modern ensuite bathrooms, good quality towels and linen, tea / coffee facilities, biscuits, hairdryer, plus wines and whisky – a really nice touch.
The only thing I can fault with the accommodation, was that the antique bed with what sounded like a metal spring base, was a little noisy, made worse by the bed being placed on a creaky floor board.
In all, we really enjoyed our stay and really do recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LinnyUKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We were very pleasantly surprised to find such a friendly, convenient bed & breakfast having been recommended by Gerald as he had no vacancies. We are so grateful to him. We visited Edinburgh with my brother & his wife for a short break. Betty, the housekeeper greeted us on arrival & made us feel very welcome. The rooms were in the basement & were very inviting with a welcome tray of tea, coffee, wine, whisky, water & biscuits. The bed was extremely comfortable & very welcome after a long day siteseeing. All rooms were en-suite. We had a good breakfast to start our day in a tastefully decorated dining room. This was prepared by Betty who always had a smile to greet us. We had a good chat to Angela & James on our return in the evenings who also made us feel welcome but were not intrusive. They very kindly let us leave our cases at the house on our final day as our plane was not until the evening. They were very trusting in that we could keep the keys until we collected our cases & if they had not been at home we were to post the keys back in the letterbox. Altogether it was a very pleasant stay & we would highly recommend this bed & breakfast.

Cherry & Mike

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevonMesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

What a lovely place to stay. This is a small guest house with only two or three rooms available for Bed and Breakfast. It is in a quiet area and only a few minutes walk from the centre of Edinburgh. The correspondence prior to the trip was good and the warmth of the owners came across in their emails. When we arrived we were welcomed by Betty , a bubbly and efficient housekeeper, in the owners' absence. During our stay we met the owners who also made us feel very welcome and helped us with ideas on where to eat, what to see etc. The rooms were good with on suite facilities. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and, as a result, we had a wonderful stay in Edinburgh.
Thanks
Dave and Eirwen

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamTeignmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

My daughter and I stayed at 14 Hart Street in May, having been pointed there by Gerald of "Gerald's" when he didn't have a room available for us. We're so glad he did. We have these things to note about 14 Hart:

- Beautiful public rooms, and elegant breakfast
- Spacious guest rooms are on lower "English basement" level but you'd never know. Windows are full sized, light is good, and not a bit of dampness.
- Building sits directly on a quiet side street, giving easy access to busier streets but providing privacy.
- Possibly the nicest bed linens and most comfortable beds we've ever slept in
- Incredibly wonderful shower with strong water pressure. The bathroom overall was very modern and spotlessly clean.
- Lovely welcome tray in room providing complimentary red and white wines, whisky, and water.
- James, the owner, is delightful, convivial and helpful while being unintrusive. That's a delicate balance that we are always happy and relieved to encounter when staying in B&Bs. Sadly, we did not get a chance to meet Angela as she was away the nights that we were in Edinburgh.

Know before you go:

- 14 Hart Street does not take credit cards. This was not a problem for us as James and Angela let us know in advance, and we were prepared with cash.
- The bathroom sink is quite small, with no place to keep a bar of soap or toothbrush - we reached across to use a shelf area for this purpose. This wasn't a big deal for us but I can see that if a man was fussy about his shaving routine it might be a bit of a nuisance. Certainly no reason to pass on 14 Hart.

I only wish one could find this sort of excellence and comfort at the London B&Bs!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank swnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews