We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!14 Hart St - Excellent”
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Ranked #1 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“!14 Hart St - Excellent”
Reviewed 23 June 2008

My parents (in their mid 60's) recently stayed at 14 Hart St for a couple of nights during their tour of Scotland & Ireland. I booked this for them at the suggestion of Gerald (from Gerald's Place) who I had originally tried to book with. Thank you Gerald for a fine recommendation! My parents had a fabulous time. Angela was great to deal with and booking was very easy (via email).

Edinburgh was a big highlight of their trip. Mom grew up in Glasgow but had never been to Edinburgh. I know they want to go back to Scotland and spend more time in Edinburgh. 14 Hart St is the first place they'll call. My dad could sleep in a bus station and wouldn't complain. Mom, on the other hand, is harder to please! According to Mom, the service was great, the room was first rate, and the location made all their sightseeing very simple. Including a jaunt over to North Queensferry where my Mom used to spend summers as a kid. Great memories. Definitely a 'strongly recommend' from the parents.

Thank you Angela!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DPfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
97
563
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We had a great stay at 14 Hart Street at the beginning of June 2008 with our two Belgian friends. It was recommended by Gerald of Gerald’s Place because he was full and could not take us. It is a small B&B with only 2, or possibly 3, letting rooms but it was perfect for our stay. The bedrooms are excellently furnished and very clean and the breakfasts wonderful, all of the above due to the gem of a housekeeper, Betty, who keeps things running smoothly. There is also complimentary wine, water & Scotch! Centrally located so that you can easily walk to the main attractions, but it is also fairly easy to park a car virtually outside at £1.20 an hour for up to 4 hrs (8.30 – 17.30). Once we had sussed out that you could pay in the evening for parking the following morning, and then park in the NCP Car Park at Greenside Place during the days when we didn’t need the car then there was no problem. It is an ideal place for 2 (or 3) couples travelling together because you virtually have the place to yourselves. It is not cheap (£86 per room per night) but as the old adage goes “you get what you pay for”.

  • Liked — The standard of the rooms.
  • Disliked — The rooms are at basement level.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Fusspot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

14 Hart St is an elegant historic property in New Town furnished with antiques and convenient walking distance to attractions and restaurants. Our room was very quiet with a view on to the garden and equipped with a modern luxury shower ensuite with heated towel rack. The scotch whiskey tray in our room was a treat we enjoyed after touring for the day. James and Angela provided exceptional hospitality - procuring a brand new street atlas when we were looking for a walking map and allowing us to keep our luggage in the room the morning after we checked out so that we could visit Holyrood House. Our thanks to Gerald for his endorsement and also for his help in locating reasonably priced off street parking (municipal car park is much less than John Lewis).

  • Liked — location, decor; hospitality
  • Disliked — no parking
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Bitinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

My husband and I stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. We arrived by train and it was an easy walking distance to Hart Street, quiet central location – and easy to walk from to see the sights of Edinburgh. There wasn't a sign at the front of the property, a quiet, discreet B&B.
James and Angela open their lovely home, decorated with antique furniture and various interesting items, with old prints / etchings on the walls of various places in Europe. You enter the property at street level where the grand and spacious breakfast room is on the left, off the hallway.
Stairs go down to the B&B accommodation - similar decoration throughout, with lovely modern ensuite bathrooms, good quality towels and linen, tea / coffee facilities, biscuits, hairdryer, plus wines and whisky – a really nice touch.
The only thing I can fault with the accommodation, was that the antique bed with what sounded like a metal spring base, was a little noisy, made worse by the bed being placed on a creaky floor board.
In all, we really enjoyed our stay and really do recommend it!

  • Liked — Beautiful and clean with great central location
  • Disliked — Creaky antique bed
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LinnyUKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We were very pleasantly surprised to find such a friendly, convenient bed & breakfast having been recommended by Gerald as he had no vacancies. We are so grateful to him. We visited Edinburgh with my brother & his wife for a short break. Betty, the housekeeper greeted us on arrival & made us feel very welcome. The rooms were in the basement & were very inviting with a welcome tray of tea, coffee, wine, whisky, water & biscuits. The bed was extremely comfortable & very welcome after a long day siteseeing. All rooms were en-suite. We had a good breakfast to start our day in a tastefully decorated dining room. This was prepared by Betty who always had a smile to greet us. We had a good chat to Angela & James on our return in the evenings who also made us feel welcome but were not intrusive. They very kindly let us leave our cases at the house on our final day as our plane was not until the evening. They were very trusting in that we could keep the keys until we collected our cases & if they had not been at home we were to post the keys back in the letterbox. Altogether it was a very pleasant stay & we would highly recommend this bed & breakfast.

Cherry & Mike

  • Liked — Friendliness, comfort & location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonMesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2008

What a lovely place to stay. This is a small guest house with only two or three rooms available for Bed and Breakfast. It is in a quiet area and only a few minutes walk from the centre of Edinburgh. The correspondence prior to the trip was good and the warmth of the owners came across in their emails. When we arrived we were welcomed by Betty , a bubbly and efficient housekeeper, in the owners' absence. During our stay we met the owners who also made us feel very welcome and helped us with ideas on where to eat, what to see etc. The rooms were good with on suite facilities. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and, as a result, we had a wonderful stay in Edinburgh.
Thanks
Dave and Eirwen

  • Liked — The friendliness and the closeness to the centre of Edinburgh
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTeignmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swnewyork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

My daughter and I stayed at 14 Hart Street in May, having been pointed there by Gerald of "Gerald's" when he didn't have a room available for us. We're so glad he did. We have these things to note about 14 Hart:

- Beautiful public rooms, and elegant breakfast
- Spacious guest rooms are on lower "English basement" level but you'd never know. Windows are full sized, light is good, and not a bit of dampness.
- Building sits directly on a quiet side street, giving easy access to busier streets but providing privacy.
- Possibly the nicest bed linens and most comfortable beds we've ever slept in
- Incredibly wonderful shower with strong water pressure. The bathroom overall was very modern and spotlessly clean.
- Lovely welcome tray in room providing complimentary red and white wines, whisky, and water.
- James, the owner, is delightful, convivial and helpful while being unintrusive. That's a delicate balance that we are always happy and relieved to encounter when staying in B&Bs. Sadly, we did not get a chance to meet Angela as she was away the nights that we were in Edinburgh.

Know before you go:

- 14 Hart Street does not take credit cards. This was not a problem for us as James and Angela let us know in advance, and we were prepared with cash.
- The bathroom sink is quite small, with no place to keep a bar of soap or toothbrush - we reached across to use a shelf area for this purpose. This wasn't a big deal for us but I can see that if a man was fussy about his shaving routine it might be a bit of a nuisance. Certainly no reason to pass on 14 Hart.

I only wish one could find this sort of excellence and comfort at the London B&Bs!

  • Liked — Atmosphere, convenience, quiet, clean, lovely host
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank swnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing