We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B in Edinburgh”
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Ranked #1 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was my second time to Edinburgh within this year. This time I stayed for 4 nights in the 14 Hart Street in October. A wonderful place indeed.

The B&B is situated about 5 to 10 minutes walk from the Princes Street and Waverly station, a very convenient location. You can find the St James shopping mall and John Lewis department store nearby, so easy for some last minute shopping also. Tesco and a few take away restaurants are also nearby, good for supper or when you come back late after a tour / visit and not in a mood for dining in a formal restaurant. Hart Street is in a residential area, quiet but safe.

The room was elegant, appropriately decorated and cozy. James had put some Whisky, red wine and shortbread inside the room for us to enjoy after a long day. The bed was comfortable and I managed to get some good sleep despite jet lag. The only minor thing was that the bathroom was a bit small for my room, though it wan't much a problem for me given I was traveling alone this time. I think the other rooms may have a bigger bathroom judging from the photos of other travelers.

James and Angela are very kind and helpful. You can get all the information that you may need to go around Edinburgh. It's always very enjoying to have a relaxing chat with James every morning during breakfast.

One of the highlights staying here was the wonderful breakfast. The breakfast was served in a well decorated colonial style breakfast room. I had a full English breakfast every morning during my stay which had me a wonderful start every day. The breakfast was delicious and generous. I still miss the yummy breakfast after I went back to my home country.

All in all, 14 Hart Street is a wonderful place to stay in Edinburgh. The price is very reasonable given the quality that you get especially the good breakfast. I would surely consider staying here again and have no reservation recommending my friends to consider staying in this wonderful and warm B&B when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aqavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
98
560
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights and it was my home away from home. Angela and James greeted me and got me situated in the first room downstairs. My room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The decorations made it feel homey. There was wine, water, tea and whiskey in the room and refreshed daily. You don't want for anything here.

Breakfasts were wonderful and James went out of his way to make sure everyone was taken care of. All of us staying there would share our plans for the day, share stories and just relax. It really was the perfect way to start each day.

The location can't be beat. You can get up to High Street in a quick 15 minute walk. There are also bus stops all around. There wasn't any place too far to walk, yet there are taxis always available.

I would come back here again and recommend it to anyone. The hospitality was wonderful. Thanks James and Angela!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chianti_girl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for a total of three nights - two at the start of our trip and one at the end - and can honestly say it was the best B&B of the whole two weeks. Located at the east end of New Town on a quiet street one block from restaurants, pubs and bus routes, the house is beautifully furnished with antiques - except for the very comfortable mattresses and super-modern and efficient bathrooms. The fact that the guest bedrooms are on the lower level doubly ensures a restful night. The complimentary whisky and wine in each room was unmatched anywhere else on our trip. The breakfast room is elegantly furnished, and breakfast was always ready for us no matter how early. James and Angela are the perfect hosts and no request was too much trouble. We would stay there again in a minute!

Room Tip: Of the two rooms we used, one has a kingsize bed and small bathroom. Another has queen size bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasannie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Owners James and Angela were great hosts at this quiet, yet central B&B. Every day we enjoyed a made-to-order breakfast with James gladly answering questions or offering assistance to ensure a pleasant stay. The rooms were tidy and comfortable although we were a bit surprised to find all rooms located on the lower level - windows were full size but not quite as bright as an upper floor room and no views which made it feel a bit close. The bathroom in our suite was VERY tiny but served the purpose - good water pressure, lots of hot water. Because it is so central there are plenty of restaurant options and many sights within walking distance. Overall a nice stay at 14 Hart Street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYCMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were impressed from the beginning at the thoughtfulness of James and Angela. We were driving up from Cheshire to attend a wedding and our time of arrival was unclear, and they had been away during the day too; their thinking ahead ensured our arrival dovetailed perfectly and we were met from our car by James.
Well situated for the sights of central Edinburgh, and with street parking available at the weekend, we were bowled over when it came to the breakfasts that were served to the table by James in an imposing period setting. A choice of cereals of all varieties was followed by a really fresh cooked breakfast which wanted for nothing. It was a genuinely warm welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed two nights at 14 Hart Street. Would highly recommend this B&B. Room was great and very quiet. Breakfast was outstanding. It is within walking distance of Old Town and the castle. James and Angela were very gracious hosts. The wine and whiskey tray was a very nice evening treat. We felt very welcomed at 14 Hart Street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Delightful! We stayed as part of our honeymoon Scotland trip, its started and ended in 14 Hart street. James and Angela were the perfect hosts with such a beautiful home which they welcome you in to it wasn't hard to feel at ease.The location was in the theatre district it was a ten minute stroll into old town, quiet and peaceful and definitely no need to have a car but good footwear is a must.The room we lovingly decorated and spotlessly clean with a hearty breakfast, what more could you want...wine or a whisky!? well that in the rooms too. We had a lovely stay, thank you so much for all your food and shopping tips offs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
932 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
23 Mayfield
#4 of 392 in Edinburgh
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing