We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #1 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Exactly a year since our last visit to Edinburgh and we had no hesitation in returning to 14 Hart Street.
I found the high standard and comfort of the accommodation was just as I remembered. We received a really warm welcome from our hosts James and Angela and immediately felt at home and ready to start our break.
The location of this house is so central and convenient for just about everything. Being just off Broughton Street, which is almost like a village within Edinburgh, we found ourselves drawn back there after our day of sightseeing and shopping to have something to eat or drink in one of the many nice bars and restaurants. Then it was only a short stroll back to Hart Street for our night cap of Scottish Whisky, compliments of our hosts.
I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone visiting family/friends or on a city break and am looking forward to returning again. It is a Gem!
Marion

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marionmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    36
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
94
549
44
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Returned from our late March stay in Edinburgh, and our 2 night stay at 14 Hart Sreet was a lovely surprise as it is sylish, warm and so friendly.... We were very well looked after by James and Angela, and nothing was too much trouble...
We were two couples staying, and so had two of the three rooms available, Our room was facing the back of this Georgian house, looking out to the garden, my cousin and her husband had a front facing room. Both rooms were luxurious, very quiet, large and also extremely comfortable
Very nice touches in the rooms with wine, whiskey and traditional scottish biscuits included in the cost of the room. The bed was very comfortable with lovely bedlinen. Both bathrooms are large, ours being a very modern one with large walk-in rain shower and underfloor heating. The other room has a traditional style bathroom, with a bath/shower and bidet ect; The hotel only provides shower/bath gel in the bathrooms , no shampoo, conditioner or body lotion...luckily we had some hair products with us...
The breakfast was tradional scottish cooked, but with most variations available....excellent fresh fruit platter and yogurts all served in a beautiful dining room furnished in keeping with the house
The whole stay was a treat and really we would like to keep the property a secret so we can always return and get a booking!

Room Tip: Choose the front room for a bath.....back of the house for the walk-in shower....both rooms were wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelina102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, Lancashire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just recently stayed here. Accommodation is within walking distance of waverley train station - 10 mins. James and Angela make you feel very welcome. The bedrooms are downstairs and our room was quite large with a bath and shower in the bathroom. Complimentary whisky, wine, biscuits tea and coffee in your room. Breakfasts are very good, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurts, cooked full English, fresh orange, tea, coffeee etc. Enough to keep you on for the day. We asked about the buses and James and Angela wrote all the information down for us indicting where to get the bus and how much the fare was. I asked for Eggs benedict for breakfast on the first morning and James kindly said he would sort this for the next morning :) overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend 14 Hart Street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angbrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fantastic welcoming accommodation which was clean, tidy with everything you need and the breakfast will set you up for the whole day. The owners James and Angela were extremely helpful and obliging. Location could not have been better as very close to Princes Street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanton In Peak
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Close to city centre in a beautiful georgian house. The owners gave us a friendly welcome, were constantly on hand without being in your face, and were knowledgeable about the city. The breakfast was great (perhaps a nod to veggies with veggie sausages etc), and the room very comfortable, but a bit dark as on ground/basement floor, and an extra chair to sit on would have helped. Value for money excellent and a much much better option than similarly priced hotels.

Room Tip: Go for whichever is the lightest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliewatson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

It is with pleasure that I write a review of 14 Hart Street. We arrived before check in, and owners James and Angela provided tea and a warm reception as we waited for our rooms. The rooms are tastefully designed, large, with clean, pristine bathrooms. Staff member Mary is on hand mornings to serve you a hearty breakfast with Scottish flair. Much to my relief, the rooms are insulated from noise, providing the jet lagged traveler a restful sleep. The location is perfect, major sites within walking distance. I recommend 14 Hart Street without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanzera11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

What can I say that hasn't been said before by hundreds of people!!!.

We have just returned from a few days in Edinburgh and after reading the reviews for 14 Hart Street just had to stay here and it was a delight from knocking on the door when we arrived to saying our goodbyes. It is a beautiful home which James and Angela share with all their guests they are so gracious and attentive and nothing is too much trouble and all the little extras make you feel very welcome like the whisky and wine and the delicious shortbread lol.

Because it is in the city centre there are plenty of restaurants to choose from we found a lovely very reasonably priced Italian called Asti a mere 2 minute walk from the house and also a fabulous French restaurant almost opposite the Italian called Les Escargot Bleu which was super quite a bit more expensive but well worth it.

We would definitely stay at 14 Hart Street again and hopefully will do so in the near future.

Thank you James and Angela for making our stay so nice.

Room Tip: This is an upside down house and all the bedrooms are in the basement but have windows you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XJSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
23 Mayfield
#2 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 14 Hart Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing