We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Ranked #1 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Edinburgh in order to celebrate my wife's 30th and wanted somewhere central with an air of luxury, comfort and personality - and 14 Hart Street delivered on all fronts. I had high expectations and they were exceeded by our stay. James and Angela are, as previous reviews have stated, fantastic hosts - approachable, attentive, forthcoming with recommendations when asked, but also considerate enough to leave you to your own devices when you feel the need to pass out after a long day (or 'sleeper' train). The rooms were warm, inviting and very comfortably furnished, the breakfasts delicious and cooked to order and the location was ideal for exploring the city. If and when we return to Edinburgh, we won't consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MTParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
96
559
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was our first visit to 14 Hart Street and we thought it was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in.

Great location, great rooms, delicious breakfast and James and Angela were excellent hosts. They were more than helpful with anything we asked and nothing was too much trouble. When we asked about printing our boarding passes for an onward flight to Orkney they bent over backwards to help us.

We would stay again without hesitation and would advise anybody going to Edinburgh to do the same.

Olive Branch Bistro (one min walk away) is also excellent.

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay Diane and Norman/Sue and Dave

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinormhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Exactly a year since our last visit to Edinburgh and we had no hesitation in returning to 14 Hart Street.
I found the high standard and comfort of the accommodation was just as I remembered. We received a really warm welcome from our hosts James and Angela and immediately felt at home and ready to start our break.
The location of this house is so central and convenient for just about everything. Being just off Broughton Street, which is almost like a village within Edinburgh, we found ourselves drawn back there after our day of sightseeing and shopping to have something to eat or drink in one of the many nice bars and restaurants. Then it was only a short stroll back to Hart Street for our night cap of Scottish Whisky, compliments of our hosts.
I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone visiting family/friends or on a city break and am looking forward to returning again. It is a Gem!
Marion

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marionmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Returned from our late March stay in Edinburgh, and our 2 night stay at 14 Hart Sreet was a lovely surprise as it is sylish, warm and so friendly.... We were very well looked after by James and Angela, and nothing was too much trouble...
We were two couples staying, and so had two of the three rooms available, Our room was facing the back of this Georgian house, looking out to the garden, my cousin and her husband had a front facing room. Both rooms were luxurious, very quiet, large and also extremely comfortable
Very nice touches in the rooms with wine, whiskey and traditional scottish biscuits included in the cost of the room. The bed was very comfortable with lovely bedlinen. Both bathrooms are large, ours being a very modern one with large walk-in rain shower and underfloor heating. The other room has a traditional style bathroom, with a bath/shower and bidet ect; The hotel only provides shower/bath gel in the bathrooms , no shampoo, conditioner or body lotion...luckily we had some hair products with us...
The breakfast was tradional scottish cooked, but with most variations available....excellent fresh fruit platter and yogurts all served in a beautiful dining room furnished in keeping with the house
The whole stay was a treat and really we would like to keep the property a secret so we can always return and get a booking!

Room Tip: Choose the front room for a bath.....back of the house for the walk-in shower....both rooms were wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelina102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, Lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just recently stayed here. Accommodation is within walking distance of waverley train station - 10 mins. James and Angela make you feel very welcome. The bedrooms are downstairs and our room was quite large with a bath and shower in the bathroom. Complimentary whisky, wine, biscuits tea and coffee in your room. Breakfasts are very good, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurts, cooked full English, fresh orange, tea, coffeee etc. Enough to keep you on for the day. We asked about the buses and James and Angela wrote all the information down for us indicting where to get the bus and how much the fare was. I asked for Eggs benedict for breakfast on the first morning and James kindly said he would sort this for the next morning :) overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend 14 Hart Street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angbrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fantastic welcoming accommodation which was clean, tidy with everything you need and the breakfast will set you up for the whole day. The owners James and Angela were extremely helpful and obliging. Location could not have been better as very close to Princes Street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanton In Peak
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Close to city centre in a beautiful georgian house. The owners gave us a friendly welcome, were constantly on hand without being in your face, and were knowledgeable about the city. The breakfast was great (perhaps a nod to veggies with veggie sausages etc), and the room very comfortable, but a bit dark as on ground/basement floor, and an extra chair to sit on would have helped. Value for money excellent and a much much better option than similarly priced hotels.

Room Tip: Go for whichever is the lightest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliewatson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,800 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 391 in Edinburgh
473 reviews
23 Mayfield
#2 of 391 in Edinburgh
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing