We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #1 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at 14 Hart Street and had a wonderful time. This is a superb establishment. Angela and James, the owners, together with Betty the housekeeper, made us feel so welcome. The house is really cute with quaint antiques and prints giving a much appreciated romantic touch, and only a stone's throw from the center of the city. The excellent breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room and along with the morning papes. There was even whiskey and wine provided in our room. We hope to return to this friendly wam place and are recommending 14 Hart Street to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinfandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    36
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
94
550
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

This was our first visit to Edinburgh and after our stay will certainly not be our last. What a friendly couple! Their hospitality was first class and generousity beyond the call of any B and B's I have ever stayed in. The location was brilliant a short walk from Princes street and the train station.
The room was a brillaint size, my husband loved the free whisky thank you! The cleanliness was really something and the breakfast outstanding.
Thank you for making our first vist to this beautiful city exceptional and we will be booking with you again in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springtime08_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

Lived up to all reviews.
Whisky, wine, biscuits. Friendly hosts.
Smashing breakfast. Lovely comfortable home from home.
Good location.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whimwham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

Made very welcome right from the first moment we arrived. Spotlessly clean and lovely breakfast. The hospitality tray of whisky and wine as well as tea and coffee was very much appreciated. Book early to avoid disappointment at this quiet haven that's only a couple of minutes from Princess Street. Would recommend to the most disconcerning guest without any hestitation whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMrsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bretagne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

The bed and breakfast have an excellent location. It is in the centre near to vistor attractions and restaurants. The bed and breakfast is in a street very calm. The welcome of the proprietors, James and Angela, is wonderful. They are very helpful and inform us about all interesting places to visit in the city.

The breakfast was serve by a friendly lady and it was really delicious. We love the full Scottish breakfast!

The house is very historic and has a very beautiful design. The bedroom we have was beautiful and comfortable also. James and Angela leave us whisky in the bedroom to feel the Scottish ambience. It was very good!

We are a couple and think the bed and breakfast is perfect for couples to visit Edimbourg. We hope come back to the bed and breakfast next year to visit more of Edimbourg.

  • Liked — The welcome, the location and breakfast
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RichardG_Bretagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrecen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

We stayed here for two nights as a short break to see the capital.14 Hart St was an ideal and homely base from which to explore the city. In contrast to an impersonal hotel this elegant and comfortable flat was like staying in a real home with period furniture and fascinating prints on the wall. The bedroom with ensuite ultra modern bathroom was cosy yet roomy and provided with a generous welcome tray. The whisky was perfect after a cold day's exploring!
Betty cheerfully produced a delicious Scottish breakfast , cooked to order, while the hosts, James and Angela, were available in the evening to suggest interesting tours and city visits including even a local guide to show us 'off the beaten track'sites.
We had a most enjoyable visit enhanced by the company of our hosts, the excellent location of the flat and the elegant surroundings. Would not hesitate to recommend this alternative to a hotel.
Maggi and Berci

  • Liked — Friendliness of hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bogdanDebrecen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

We chose 14 Hart St for a long weekend, based on the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor and we weren't disappointed. Angela and James provide a five star experience right from the word go. Every element of our stay was of the best quality – it's the attention to detail that sets 14 Hart Street apart as something special...

We received prompt, friendly replies to our emails when arranging the booking.

Towels were big and fluffy and the shower was definitely an invigorating 'power' shower – fantastic.

Crisp, clean sheets on the massive, luxurious bed.

Breakfast time was flexible to suit our plans for the day. Delicious cooked full breakfast, along with yogurt, toast, fresh fruit, cereals, pure juice, endless tea and coffee – MORE than enough! With a selection of the days' newspapers to read while our breakfast was being cooked. What a civilised, chilled start to the day.

A drawer in our room was filled with a great selection of travel guides on Edinburgh and Scotland, as well as specific information on local attractions.

Hart Street is perfectly located – a quiet side street with no noise at night. But 10-15 mins walk and you're at the castle and all the attractions that you'll want to see during your stay in Edinburgh.

Angela and James were on hand when we wanted to ask their advice on what to see and what to avoid. Their local knowledge is brilliant – a quick route to Holyrood House avoiding the tartan/cashmere/fudge shops. And the secret Sunday boot sale in a car park!

We would happily recommend 14 Hart Street to friends and we'd stay with Angela and James again next time we visit Edinburgh.

Katherine and Steve

  • Liked — Individual treatment
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelKatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
23 Mayfield
#2 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 14 Hart Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing