We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an overdue but rave review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #145 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“an overdue but rave review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

When I first called to book our room I knew I would enjoy my stay as Mike was so lovely on the phone. From that good start our experience didn't falter. We were up for a wedding at the zoo so were bound to have fun, but Ann and Mike's hospitality really made it a special trip, from the extensive variety of breads and gorgeous homemade products at breakfast to the sheer warmth of their hospitality. A lovely, warm and happy house and one I hope to visit again. Just sorry it took me so long to get round to writing this!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at Tantallon Place in Edinburgh for 5 nights in September and could not have been more satisfied. Mike and Ann, our hosts, made us feel at home in their charming B & B located 10 to 15 minutes walk from the Royal Mile. The breakfasts offered great variety and Mike took great pride in his morning fruit presentation. Mind you, the fruit was just the beginning to a full Scottish breakfast. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Searching the internet for a good B & B at a reasonable price takes time and it is not often that the choice one makes surpasses expectations. I would venture to say that 99% of those staying with Mike and Ann at Tantallon Place will say that they have made an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I hate writing a rave review ecause it means we will never be able to get back there, so it was rubbish. I hate having a superb, well appointed room, attentive hosts who cannot do enough for you but still give you your space, delicious comprehensive breakfasts that make you skip lunch and excellent access to the city and all the sights. The property is immaculately clean and we were serenaded at breakfast from the 'piano lounge'. Personally, it was a wonderful introduction to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The front double room is large and bright, with a massive bed and floor to ceiling wondows. Didnt se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adsnape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Any time we are in Edinburgh, this is our first choice of where to stay. Mike and Ann are such welcoming hosts--enthusiastic and warm. We love the double room overlooking the garden but they also have a bigger room at the front which might suit you better if you're planning a stay of more than one or two days. They have thought of everything for an enjoyable stay and their breakfasts are delicious. Better than any hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friedrichshafen, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed for three nights at Tantallon place and we really enjoyed it. The rooms are very nice and well equipped. The hosts Anne and Mike are very friendly, heartily and helpful. The breakfast was marvellous. Moreover Tantallon place is situated within walking distance from Edinburgh center town.
When staying next time in Edinburgh we will come back here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We've stayed in Ann and Mike's Bed and Breakfast from 27th of May until the 31th of Mai 2011 and again from June 2nd until June 5th 2011, During this time we had a lovely room with excellent bedding above all a fantastically comfortable mattress, something we value very much also at home. Breakfast is something special,as Mike and Ann are rightly proud on their daughters - a baker - organic bread and Mikes homemade preserves. Coffee is prepared the Italian way and truly is very aromatic and lovely.Porridge and smoked salmon on request are also lovingly cooked by Ann. Mike is very apolegetic about his Marmelade unrightly so, he regrets that he sometimes oversees some stalks of his black currants getting in the Marmalade. Mike, does this really matter? So why only 4 Stars instead of the full Monty which would be five:;First encouragement to our lovely hosts - Mike get Ann this Tumbler as soon as ever possible for 2 purposes - yes your towels will be much fluffier and it frees your lovely garden for the enjoyment of yourselves and your guests. Second we want to outdo ourselves next time we're in Scotland and award you the fifth Star. And as a final word to future guests Ann and Mike are about the coolest retired couple we know and share their tremendous sense of humour with their guests.

Room Tip: If you stay several nights you get the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RudolfTheSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at Tantallon when we visited our daughter and chose this B&B based on the recommendation of her boyfriend's parents. What a delight, the room we stayed in was huge, the bath ultra modern, the hot water would burn you if put the control in the red zone. The room was extremely well maintained, they even put away my luggage that I was to too lazy to move. Mike and Ann are simplely great hosts and if we go again this is the first place we would try to book.

Room Tip: Just a few rooms, book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenteague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Summer Hostels - Meadowcourt
#125 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Bruntsfield
Gillis Centre
Gillis Centre
#73 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Argyle Backpackers
#43 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Guest House
#53 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Sherwood Guest House
#29 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Browns Bed and Breakfast
#64 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 17 Tantallon Place, Edinburgh EH9 1NZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tantallon Place Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing