We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveller rating
889
590
125
29
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
889
590
125
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple store waverley station princes street great location boiled eggs continental breakfast air con rooms are basic old town royal mile central location comfortable bed lounge area christmas market open the window short stay city break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms spotlessly clean. Breakfast was continental with a huge selection. Would definitely recommend it and will be back. Location is fantastic. Above the apple shop on Princes Street. Across the street from Waverly station and shopping centre and around the corner from the tram stop at st Andrews square. The tram brings you directly from the airport. Amazing hotel. Especially the bar area with window seats overlooking Princes Street

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 781joannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time in motel one. Excellent location. Very clean. Great value. Very central to everything. Continental breakfast. Staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank angelal649
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

The location was spot one... less than a minute distance from bus transfers to and from tge airport...bus tours and trains without the trouble and annoying busy and traffic noise.

The hotel itself is very clean, people were friendly and very accommodating. Hotel lounge is very nice and cozy...you can loiter and lounge around freely and there's plenty of spaces to wander and comfy seats relax on or do your work on your stuff till late in the morning without the worry of getting disturb by anyone.

Room is quite trendy and well kept. Clean and spacious. One thing I do not like is that they do not have separate beds for sharing room. Meaning I have to share a bed with a friend is not so comfy.

T&B were were great...quite newish and trendy. The only thing is... they do not have give small packets of soaps or shower gel /shampoo. They are on a regular pump size hand wash and shampoo/body wash bottles. So whatever is left from the previous occupier is just there to be use bybtge next occupant. However, I must say they're are lovely and so quality kind of toiletries but not hygienic enough.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank alfonso-diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Hotel has everything you need for a quick trip
to Edinburgh. Great location. Doesn’t have many extras but totally adequate (does have tea and coffee) Very comfy bed, fab shower
- adequate bathroom and the continental breakfast excellent. Great value for money - hopefully we will be back .

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Highlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

The location of this hotel was superb but they was the only positive aspect of staying at Motel One Edinburgh-Princes for me personally.

The entrance is at the side of The Apple Store, Reception is on the first floor so initially you are greeted by a rather large desk and two chairs, no staff member, it just wasn’t welcoming.

For me I didn’t find the hotel very personable, I wasn’t into the decor and didn’t particularly feel that safe walking along the corridors as anybody could walk in off the street, there was no security m, vetting or monitoring genuine guests, I also found the place noisy as the bar is open 24/7 which it’s not for me.

My room was small, basic and again I didn’t like the decor, it lacked warmth. I was told that I had a room with a view but all I could see on the third floor was the wall facade
in front of me, the view was poor. Everything in the room was very basic from the tea & coffee facilities to the toiletries.

I pre-booked the breakfast but asked for refund as there was not much vegan selection and I ended going to a wonderful local cafe instead.

For me Motel One is not the kind of hotel I like to stay at, I do prefer more high-end, comfortable, stylish decor, safety is a priority and a good traditional breakfast which is not what I found here.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank CeriE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews