We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun”

Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour
Ranked #76 of 274 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This was really the first thing we did after getting into town and I was so glad. Hazel and her husband(sorry his name escapes me) were amazing and knowledgable plus friendly. You'll not be disappointed!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"scottish literature"
in 35 reviews
"beehive inn"
in 18 reviews
"robert burns"
in 20 reviews
"jolly judge"
in 13 reviews
"cafe royal"
in 6 reviews
"famous writers"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful actors"
in 5 reviews
"walter scott"
in 9 reviews
"old town"
in 27 reviews
"two hours"
in 16 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 14 reviews
"great fun"
in 18 reviews
"starting point"
in 4 reviews
"royal mile"
in 19 reviews
"author"
in 41 reviews
"grassmarket"
in 29 reviews
"performance"
in 24 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018

Great way to hear about the history of writers in Edinburgh. Hosts were very entertaining and informative, taking us to a couple of pubs that would not have otherwise been on my radar! Did not realize there would be some steep hills/stairs for my mom with a bad knee, but they were extremely accommodating for her too.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We enjoyed the actors, John Muir and Hazel, and the information they provided about Sir Walter Scott, Robbie Burns, Robert Louis Stevenson and other Scottish writers. Other than the first pub, the other three were not directly related to the writers; they were just pubs. By the time we reached the third pub, it was cold and a bit windy. We were ready for the tour to end rather than sit around while only a few people imbibed. After more than 2.5 hours, we left when the information ended rather than go to yet a fourth pub to just hang out. The tour would be more enjoyable if it were shorter. Perhaps include only two pubs. We didn't need to be walking around Edinburgh just to say that we had, then have to find our way back to our hotel.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank TravelinGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

John Muir and Hazel were awesome guides as they played fun characters that took us on a lovely, engaging tour of Scotland's literary history, and the context around the work of great Scottish writers. Super fun. Nice walk. Great pacing, with ample time to hangout in a few key pubs. They were able to answer questions about the literature and the city. This is a great way to see a part of the city that takes visitors from Old Town to New Town, from past to present. Not too strenuous at all! Bring a jacket - it gets chilly as the sun starts to go down.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank JC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We had a lot of fun with our guides. Informative tour with great acting and great dialogue between the two.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing