We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Edinburgh B&B surely”
Review of Violet Bank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Violet Bank House
Ranked #163 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2012

v friendly welcome and a great room and breakfast - only stayed one night but it was fab. rightly scored and rated by many others :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SianCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Absolutely brilliant B&B on the outskirts of Edinburgh. Reta & John are lovely hosts with a wealth of helpful information. Our room was excellent and the breakfasts were wonderful. There wasn't anything we could find fault with and we will definitely be going back again (if we can get in!) Reta's helpfulness in booking restaurants and advising on where to go was second to none (she used to work for the Scotland Tourist Board) and John's cooking - excellent. The bus stop just outside meant we rarely used the car meaning we could both enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Violet Bank House is a brilliant B & B - almost a luxury hotel. Reta and John are warm, welcoming and extremely well organsied hosts. If all engaged in the tourist industry were as good at the job as they Scotland would sink under the weight of visitors.
If you want to spend time in Edinburgh and need a bed to rest your weary head visit Violet Bank House for which no praise is too high.

Room Tip: We love the downstairs bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Fantastic apartment in a lovely part of the city. 2 mins from bus stop with buses every five minutes into the city. every amenity within 5 minutes walk, waitrose, takeaway, italian restaurants and pubs. highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davewills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We loved it - again :-) It was my third and our first visit and it was really wonderful. Reta and John are the most kind hosts you can imagine and we had a great time in their beautiful house. The breakfast is outstanding - by the way, congratulations to you being recommended in the Michelin Guide! - I was looking forward to your delicious omelette since my last visit. The rooms are wonderful, well decorated and spotless clean; we especially loved the big bath tub and the view over the garden. Thank you again for your warm-hearted hospitality! It is always like visiting friends or even family! We're looking forward to our next visit maybe in the city apartment next spring?!? :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KundH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We spent 5 days at Violet Bank House and we found it to be a highlight of out trip to Scotland. It ranks right up there with the Edinburgh Military Tatoo. Reta and John MacLennon are the most gracious hosts we've encountered anywhere in the world.
Their B & B was outstanding and the breakfasts were wonderfull. We think so much of them that we invited them to visit out home in Tennessee if they ever come to the U.S.

Room Tip: Clean (spotless), roomey and quiet with a beautifull view of John's Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Violet Bank House. Rita and John really made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing and I'm now a true haggis fan!!! We would have loved to stay longer!
The bus in and out of edinburgh is fab, sometimes tricky finding exactly the right change but again Rita helped us out on this one.
The room we stayed in was lovely and clean, the bathroom was amazing too. Rita and John really have thought of everything when it comes to toiletries too, there was so much provided it was great.
Thank you Rita and John for a wonderful stay, you made our trip that bit extra special.
Emma and Richard

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmab175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#107 of 394 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Bank House

Address: 167 Lanark Road West, Edinburgh EH14 5NZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £45 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With five stars "It's the difference which makes the difference." Beds you won't want to leave, powerful showers, fluffy robes and towels. Breakfast on smoked haddock topped with tomato and melting cheddar, hot pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Our garden overlooks the Water of Leith, Pentland hills farmland and woodlands. Free Parking, Wi-Fi, DVD, TV and radio. 10 minutes to the airport. Heriot-Watt University - one mile. Finalists in "Friendliest Landlady "award - 2007-8. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Violet Bank House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing