We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit in Edinburgh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Violet Bank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Violet Bank House
Ranked #142 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Visit in Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were in Violet Bank House in May 2013 and it was again wonderful.
Reta & John are very good hosts, Very friendly. The breakfast was very delicious, specially the pan cakes. (LOL)
When we will came back to Edinburgh then w will again to be guests to Reta & John.

Stefan & Gudrun

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gundi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
50
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Violet Bank has an amazingly quiet, peaceful and calm atmosphere, which I found most salving after my day. My first impression of the accommodation was just how clean and plain nice it was – instantly thinking how much work and effort they must put into it to create such a brilliant environment.

I was met at the front door with the warmest of welcomes from my hosts Reta and John who you can see are dedicated to the satisfaction of their guests – the ambience is what I would strive to create for my own guests – a really warm homely feeling.

My bedroom was better than any other hotel I have slept in - again with so much attention to detail – right down to offering a whole range of different teas and coffees for me to make and enjoy – I find where the host is actually focused on my satisfaction I can relax and just enjoy my stay.

I like pleasant surprises! – the house looks quite small from the road, but is lovely and stretches way back onto the terraced garden… where I was invited to view the resident ‘Bee Colony’ fresh honey from the garden and some of the most delightful food perfectly presented and served!

My conclusion is that, ‘little things don’t mean a lot, they mean everything’!

Room Tip: My bedroom at the rear of the house was very quiet and peaceful with everything I needed, where I ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amazing220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Our hosts were incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating. A very comfortable room with literally the "run of the house". The property is beautiful and wonderfully located for ease of access to Edinburgh and wonderful local restaurants. We even met their grandson who gave us a marvelous tour of the property all the way to the river running through the back yard. A sherry and a dram of whiskey greets you. Wonderful breakfast and tour recommendations from our hosts made this a highlight of our travel around Scotland.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed with John and Rita for our honeymoon in Aug 2012, as we arrived we was given a very warm welcome followed by refreshments and homemake cake in their wonderful garden. Our room was immaculate, very clean, lovely and cosy. The breakfasts kept us going for most of the day, there was plenty to choose from we even tried the haggis!! I really cannot find any faults at all with violet bank house, Edinburgh is only a 20 min bus drive and the bus stop is just around the corner, Rita and John were only too happy to help with booking tickets and restaurant reservations, we would recommend this b&b to anyone wanting to visit scotland and we hope we are able to visit again soon, many thanks to John and Rite for making our time with them extra special

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Violet Bank House in Lanark Edinburgh, was not quite what we expected but we still enjoyed our stay. Initially we were surprised how far out of Edinburgh itself it was but Reta advised us to catch the bus in and it really did make it a lot easier to get around. Lanark Road West is not the most picturesque of places but the area behing the B@B was quite beautiful. Our room was upstairs, but was a good size clean and nicely presented as was the bathroom. Breakfast was lovely and Reta and John were lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Specify if you want to be upstairs or downstairs and if you want a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

12th August just back from the Violet Bank B&B and can I just say what a lovely couple Reta and John are they make you so welcome and the house is lovely & clean and the bus to Edinburgh is just outside a few steps away so we did not need to take the car.Would go back and stay again as the breakfasts were lovely and a good selection of food. So a big thank you Reta and John for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweep049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

v friendly welcome and a great room and breakfast - only stayed one night but it was fab. rightly scored and rated by many others :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SianCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#118 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Cherrytrees Bed & Breakfast
#162 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Just B
#179 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Bank House

Property: Violet Bank House
Address: 167 Lanark Road West, Edinburgh EH14 5NZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Violet Bank House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With five stars "It's the difference which makes the difference." Beds you won't want to leave, powerful showers, fluffy robes and towels. Breakfast on smoked haddock topped with tomato and melting cheddar, hot pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Our garden overlooks the Water of Leith, Pentland hills farmland and woodlands. Free Parking, Wi-Fi, DVD, TV and radio. 10 minutes to the airport. Heriot-Watt University - one mile. Finalists in "Friendliest Landlady "award - 2007-8. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Violet Bank House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing