We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic!”
Review of Violet Bank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Violet Bank House
Ranked #158 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Just returned from a fantastic 4 days in Edinburgh and just had to sing the praises of this amazing accomodation. From the minute we arrived our hosts John and Reta were so hospitable, welcoming us with a tray of tea and biscuits as well as the complimentary whisky and brandy! Our room was absolutely lovely with really beautiful pieces of furniture and the comfiest bed EVER! The en suite was also to a high standard with good quality toiletries and the whole house was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was easily the best breakfast we have ever had in any guest house or hotel, with a wide selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurts, bread, toast and pastries. After this John or Reta would then cook something hot and fresh to order. The Scottish breakfast was lovely but our favourites were the smoked salmon and the scrambled eggs and the hot croissant with cheese and bacon which was to die for! This house is in lovely surroundings with a fantastic garden that leads down to the river. John and Reta have a great knowledge of the city and will book tables in restaurants for you if need be.Reta even replaced the chocolate biscuits in our room with shortbread when she realised we had given up chocolate for lent! All in all this really is a top class accomodation with top class hosts who thoroughly deserve their 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyandKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
50
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The Violet Bank House in Edinburgh is truly a 5 star accommodation! The hosts were lovely people and the food was divine. Reta made our stay very memorable and they were so accommodating. I enjoyed the WiFi in our room and the lovely view of the beautiful gardens. This was the first stay in our 25 day trip and many of the other B&B's just could not compare after staying at the Violet Bank House.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n6kls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This B&B is well placed for visiting Edinburgh with direct links by frequent bus service into the centre. The service was excellent with very helpful advice. Breakfast was good and rooms of a high standard.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enforcerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Lovely house, wonderful hosts, beautiful gardens, delicious food. 40 minute bus ride into town, which would be fine if you were staying in the quiet suburbs, but please note this house in right on a busy commercial thoroughfare with nonstop heavy traffic noise around the clock.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xworldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed in Scotland and England for 3 weeks and this was by far the best B&B we stayed in. Reta and John were perfect hosts and made some great recommendations as we headed off to the Isle of Skye. Our room was great, very clean, spacious, and a very comfortable bed. I also have to rave about their breakfasts - made to order and just the perfect way to start the morning. I would highly recommend this B&B and if my travels take me back to Edinburgh, I would stay here without hesitation. There is also a great walking or running (old railway line) trail behind the B&B if you are energetic enough to get up early in the morning. The Violet Bank House is well deserving of their 5 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Very friendly hosts, excellent breakfast.
Our rooms were spacious and very nice, but it was a bit noisy because of the busy road. We had access to 2 lounges, both very lovely decorated.
But what was absolutely not acceptable was mould in the shower.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constantiae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reta7166, Owner at Violet Bank House, responded to this review, 24 August 2009
I'd like to put a sense of perspective on the cleanliness score of 2 out of 5 please. The rooms were immaculate, drinking glasses and mirrors gleaming, not a speck of dust anywhere. 100% egyptian cotton bed linen crisply ironed. The small "mould" area in the shower is now freshly painted and regrouted. We just had to wait a few days until we could get into the room for a day when it was not occupied. Future guests, please take comfort in knowing that the 24 superb reviews on our standards of cleanliness and other aspects of our business reflect accurately the general standards which we continually strive to maintain. Ouch!! 2 out of 5 - that review really stung us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

warm friendly and helpful hosts. Very relaxing after a busy day sight seeing. good food and pubs within 15 mins walk on bus route. breakfasts lovely and fresh fruit so tasty.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
2.7 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cherrytrees Bed & Breakfast
Cherrytrees Bed & Breakfast
#171 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Just B
Just B
#146 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riccarton inn
The Riccarton inn
#162 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Bank House

Property: Violet Bank House
Address: 167 Lanark Road West, Edinburgh EH14 5NZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Violet Bank House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With five stars "It's the difference which makes the difference." Beds you won't want to leave, powerful showers, fluffy robes and towels. Breakfast on smoked haddock topped with tomato and melting cheddar, hot pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Our garden overlooks the Water of Leith, Pentland hills farmland and woodlands. Free Parking, Wi-Fi, DVD, TV and radio. 10 minutes to the airport. Heriot-Watt University - one mile. Finalists in "Friendliest Landlady "award - 2007-8. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Violet Bank House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing