We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Gladstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gladstone House
Ranked #85 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We booked 2 rooms, and stayed for 3 nights, the breakfast was very good, the B &B is located in a good place for site seeing, the bus is close and with in walking for town.
The owners Tom and Hamish are very kind and helpful with directions. Breakfast was delicious cooked to order, the side bar alone was great! We had a nice stay in Edinbourgh!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geneieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
62
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Well presented house with grand Victorian character. Spotlessly clean, large bedroom with ensuite, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast in pleasant dining room. Friendly, informative hosts.
We found the main road a little noisy the first night - not used to city life!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subandean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Positive: I liked the view out my window of Arthur's Seat. The location is within walking distance of the town centre. It's a nice old house. Negative: One of the owners was quite rude and surly, but perhaps he was just having a bad day since most other people seem to have had a good experience here. One of the rooms (which I saw, but did not stay in) has no windows but only a skylight, and would be a death trap in case of a fire; also anyone slightly claustrophobic could not stay there, so when booking be sure to specify you do not want that room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
This review is a bit of a mystery to us. This is because in Nov 2009 our skylight room became a storeroom and no longer a guest room. So wherever this traveller was in August 2010 to observe the rather alarmingly described “Death Trap”, it could not have been Gladstone House.

We can only assume that some confusion has arisen in the 7 months between their visit to Edinburgh and the posting of the review. We have endeavoured to contact the reviewer to establish if or when they were our guests, but to date we have not had a response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Around 20 - 30 minutes walk from Edinburgh Waverley station, Gladstone House was located on a main road overlooking Arthur's Seat. As our train arrived early in the day of check in, we emailed Tom and Hamish to ask if dropping our bag would be ok and within minutes a confirmation told us that it was no problem and they were only too happy to relieve us of our bag so we could see the sights unhindered.

Our room was No 3 and it was well equipped with flat screen TV, modern furniture and a very comfortable bed. It was on the back of the house so we were not interrupted by road noise and to be fair never heard any of the other guests at any time.

Breakfast was excellent with a choice of around 6 different pre-orderable options the night before with as much toast and coffee/tea that you could put away!

Overall the owners were friendly, breakfast was relaxed and good quality and although Gladstone House was out of the centre a choice of 5 buses would get you there under 10 minutes for £1.20 each or a day travelcard for £3 each from right outside the door. It is also on the night bus route if you wanted some late nights but quiet mornings!!! A helpful information pack in the room told you everything about the transport and the surrounding area so don't worry if the thought of catching buses puts you off. It was easy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylinYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

This is a rather late review; I stayed at Gladstone House with my boyfriend in June 2010 for 5 days.

The house is lovely with very large, clean and well-furnished and decorated rooms that were very comfortable, though the floors creaked a little in spots! There was a large window that let in plenty of light with thick curtains for night. We had booked a double room but got a triple so the room was very spacious with a double bed and a single, large desk, armchairs and a large closet. Plenty of space to move around in, even with our large luggage. Beds were very comfortable, room was quiet and dark and we got a good sleep every night. However, the ensuite bathroom was pretty small - there was very little room for the door to close and if you are somewhat larger in stature it may be very difficult to get in and out. We managed, but neither my boyfriend and I are large at all. The toilet and showers worked perfectly and were spotlessly clean. Towels, soap, some amenities like cotton wool was supplied. The room also had a hot water kettle, complimentary tea/coffee and some biscuits daily. Free wireless too which worked perfectly. Oh, and there was also a large TV where we watched Wimbledon and the World Cup ;)

Breakfast was truly one of the high points - served fresh every morning for an hour, you get a choice of a main item (selected through a menu which you place the day before in a bowl in the hall) which included omelettes, full Scottish breakfasts, pancakes and more. You also get a choice of several items from the sideboard (cereals, fruit, pastries, yogurt etc), a pot of hot tea/coffee and piping hot toast. This was enough to keep us going for the whole morning and even into lunch on days!

Location wise, Gladstone House isn't extremely central as it's about a good 20-30 minute walk to the centre of town/Waverley station. Buses stop just right outside Gladstone House though and are pretty convenient (maybe a 10 minute trip), but if walking is a difficulty I would definitely get a day pass for the bus and would factor in bus fares into cost as they can add up quickly. We had our own keys to the main door and could come and go as we liked (though the lock could be a little dodgy at times).

Tom and Hamish were lovely hosts and very welcoming. It was easy to book our rooms (from across the world in Singapore) through email. Note that there is a surcharge with credit card payment - I usually clear these things up in advance to avoid nasty surprises, but just a heads up. We really appreciated the welcome folder filled with lots of info about places to eat, buses, walking routes and so on and there were a number of travelguides that could be borrowed in the hall. One problem was hoisting the luggage up the stairs - we had one very large and heavy piece of luggage and had to get some help from Tom and Hamish to get it up (luckily only to the second floor). If you have trouble with stairs, this might be a problem.

Overall for the price I would probably go to Gladstone House again though the location was not as central as I would've liked. For those who enjoy a warm homely place to stay, this is an excellent bet, but it might be difficult for those who have difficulty with stairs or too much walking.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank effloresce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We stayed there for Hogmanay 2010 and it was fantastic. The owners are absolutely lovely and made the stay that little bit better. They even provided a very thoughtful gift when we arrived from our Hogmanay celebrations which made us love it that much more.

The breakfast is excellent (get the pancakes) and the location is very good. Rooms are absolutely gorgeous in true Victorian style.

Tip: When you stay, make sure you go to Karen Wongs. Truly unforgettable experience and excellent food.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk_trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Spotlessly clean, large and beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast and the friendliest hosts. We had a fantastic stay here at Gladstone House. Walkable distance to the city (20-30 mins) or a short bus ride. Buses are frequent and stop right outside. If you want a B&B that goes the extra mile, this is it! Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#53 of 392 in Edinburgh
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clan Walker Guest House
Clan Walker Guest House
#103 of 392 in Edinburgh
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
94DR
94DR
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
#157 of 392 in Edinburgh
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#101 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southside Guest House
Southside Guest House
#51 of 392 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Property: Gladstone House
Address: 90 Dalkeith Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gladstone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Gladstone House we offer our guests elegant four star bed and breakfast accommodation less than a mile from Edinburgh City Centre and within easy walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s historic and cultural "must see" locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gladstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing