We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gladstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gladstone House
Ranked #84 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Amazing house, with elegant rooms and delicious breakfast. Less than 15min walking from the city centre, and 1min from the bus stop. Very friendly reception from the hosts. Thanks Hamish & Tom! Ricardo e Bianca - Brazil Jun/2010.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo_Vizzotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
62
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Spent 4 nights at Gladstone House. The whole experience was excellent. The accommodation was well maintained and beautifully decorated. The hosts (Hamish & Tom) were very friendly, relaxed and helpful and the breakfasts were a great way to start the day. It was really handy being able to park our car on site and it was a very easy walk to the city. Well worth a visit and I have no qualms recommending this B&B.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of house overlook main road (A7) so some people may find this a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruella48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We had a really wonderful stay in Edinburgh made all the more special by Tom and Hamish. Great breakfast and excellent room. So easy for the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSG417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeist, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had two night at Gladstone House. The room was very nice, quiet and still close to the city centre. Tom en Hamish are great hosts!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koror
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We had two nights at Gladstone House. The room was well appointed, quiet and overlooked a small garden at the rear of the building; very nice. Hamish and Tom were great hosts and really looked after us. Dining room was great with a good selection for breakfast. Gladstone House is about twenty mins walk from the city and about 100yds from the nearest bus stop. There is a good restaurant with bar about five minutes walk towards the city from the House. Great experience all round. Thanks again Tom and Hamish.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Had a lovely 2 day stay at Gladstone House over last weekend. We were allocated Room 6 which had a lovely comfy feeling about it, was very tastefully decorated and was most comfortable. It turned out to be the perfect base for our touristy break in Edinburgh. We were able to enjoy a beautiful walk down to Hollyrood via the Park by following one of the walk directions given to us by the guesthouse owner.

The breakfast was equisite and set in a beautifully decorated and vibrantly lit dining room.

The visitor guide was most helpful in finding amenities locally, including places to eat and would thoroughly recommend the grub at The Reverie Bar along Newington Road.

We revelled in the option for a late check out on the Sunday as sometimes you just want to relax and have a cup of tea, read the paper or watch some tele before you head out for the day - well worth paying £20 extra.

The guesthouse was managed with just the right amount of warm welcome, helpfulness and privacy that you hope to find and would absolutely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gapmanjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at Gladstone House. The owners, Tom and Hamish, were obliging and helpful at all times. The breakfasts were excellent as was the dining room itself. We were very comfortable in our top floor double (which in fact turned out to be a 'triple') - with a good view of Arthur's Seat. Gladstone House was outstanding in its cleanliness. One very welcome feature was the guide to local restaurants and routes into the city centre. The Newington district is attractive architecturally and although quiet and residential is within easy reach of the city centre on foot or by bus.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidanrankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#75 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kellerstain Stables B&B
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#35 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
94DR
94DR
#9 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#59 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Property: Gladstone House
Address: 90 Dalkeith Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gladstone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Gladstone House we offer our guests elegant four star bed and breakfast accommodation less than a mile from Edinburgh City Centre and within easy walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s historic and cultural "must see" locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gladstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing