We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4 star B&B with a 5 star Breakfast”
Review of Gladstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gladstone House
Ranked #91 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A 4 star B&B with a 5 star Breakfast”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Gladstone House in Edinburgh was a gift. A lovely turn of the century house with a large, light room. We arrived quite late and were able to walk to pubs close by for dinner.

The owners are meticulous in their care of the B&B, and breakfast was a delight. The Inn was located ~25-30 walking distance to central Edinburgh. A great choice for us.

Room Tip: We had a room right on Dalkeith Road, and we didn't hear the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for our guest house. We really like the title you chose. As you would probably have noticed, we really like our food. So, to us, a good breakfast is just as important as a clean, cosy room and comfy bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
62
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

After a long trip from the Lake District to Edinburgh, we were warmly greeted by the owners. The room was small but immaculate and every detail was attended to in the decorations and amenities. Breakfast was fabulous. It is a long walk to the heart of the city, but the buses are convenient and frequent. The Gladstone was a great find!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBS656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Thank you for posting your photographs, the cosy picture of your room and that superb picture of our front path. Everything seems to have bloomed late this year, but it was all so colourful when it emerged. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We selected this great B&B over the Internet the day before arriving in Edinburgh by car. What a terrific and unexpected find. We looked over previous comments and reviews and feel that this met all our expectations: immaculately clean, courteous and helpful staff (Tom and Harnish), perfectly appointed rooms especially the breakfast room. Great breakfast tastefully presented and prepared. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
We are so glad we were a highlight at the end of your holiday. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you for your comment in our guest book - “Best B&B this side of the pond!” - that had us smiling all day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Immaculate clean, Rooms are wide and very nicely decorated. Barhrooms could be bigger, but well, the truth is they are quite enough. Service is very good, the owners make you feel welcome and they really take care of everything to the smallest detail
Location is quite convenient. Althought not in the very downtown, is close to everything and weel communicated.
Strongly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful when our efforts to make our guest comfortable and welcome are noticed. It is even more pleasing when our guests take the time to give us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We had a great stay.The following made our stay very pleasant:
- Very friendly and helpfull staff.
- Nicely decorated spacious room.
- Very clean.
- Breakfast is absolutely delicious (all fresh, large choice, very fast service). Breakfast is served in a stylish room.
- Free parking in front of b&b.
- Multiple restaurants nearby (especially recommend the "Salisbury arms" pub right around the corner for lunch, dinner or just drinks).

Would prefer this b&b over a four star hotel anytime! Would surely visit again when in area.

Road is a bit bussy in front of the house but didn't bother us at all. Walk into center took us about 20 minutes (could be done in 15). Is a nice walk through a large park. Bus service is (very) near to the house. Multiple buses into city center (frequent service).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Jaap K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. Of course we are not a hotel and have no pretentions of being a hotel, but we do enjoy it when people compare us to a hotel – especially a four star one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Tom and Hamish gave us the best nights in Scotland. The hotel was just excellent. Room lovely, Breakfast delicious. Hamish very helpful with tourist advice when asked. The hotel is a short bus trip (3.50 PNDS full day pass) from central Edinburgh. This is definitely a must return to hotel/B&B. Only three car parking spots in front of hotel. We got one and left the car there.

Room Tip: We suspect any room is going to be lovely. The first level would be best for heavy bags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidT1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Praise from such a well-seasoned traveller is praise indeed. We are so pleased to have made such an impact on your holiday. Thank you for giving us such an enthusiastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

5 years after first visiting this Guest House & it has been upgraded for a 4 star rating since & well deserved. The room was comfortable, well decorated & looking over the owner's lovely garden. The owner's remembered me from the time before, which made it feel even more welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkeyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Although we enjoy seeing new faces we like it even more when guests come back to us. We are so glad that you liked Gladstone House even more this time. Thank you so much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#50 of 392 in Edinburgh
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clan Walker Guest House
Clan Walker Guest House
#104 of 392 in Edinburgh
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southside Guest House
Southside Guest House
#57 of 392 in Edinburgh
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
94DR
94DR
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#47 of 392 in Edinburgh
163 reviews
2.7 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#40 of 392 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Property: Gladstone House
Address: 90 Dalkeith Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gladstone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Gladstone House we offer our guests elegant four star bed and breakfast accommodation less than a mile from Edinburgh City Centre and within easy walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s historic and cultural "must see" locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Gladstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing