We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We took a two day break and stayed at Gladstone House,”
Review of Gladstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gladstone House
Ranked #85 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We took a two day break and stayed at Gladstone House,”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The decor in our room was very good and we felt very much at home.

The range of food available for breakfast was enough for anyones needs and of course was more than tasty.

We would be pleased to return to this friendly B&B where nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
62
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here from 21st Nov for 3 nights, it was our 1st time in Scotland and we had a very enjoyable stay in a beautiful city. We would highly recommend Gladstone House, lovely large room and a nice hot breakfast and Tom & Hamish were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DjChef64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very close to the Royal Commonwealth Pool on the Dalkeith Road. Edinburgh Old Town / Royal Mile about a 15 - 20 minute walk away, but very regular buses nearby that take you there in a few minutes. The Royal Park and Arthur's Seat a 5 minute walk. Had 4 nights here - no complaints at all. Rooms clean and comfortable, nice variety of breakfasts. 3 off street parking spaces at the front of the property bit of a tight fit but managed to squeeze in. Hosts very friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again next time you are here to research your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was by far the best experience I have ever had traveling. The room was very large and comfortable. I loved the sunken bathroom. The view was lovely. The food was out of this world.
Tom and Hamish are gracious, kind, and extremely helpful host. I highly recommend beautiful Gladstone House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you so much for your high praise. It was such a pleasure for us to have a real Southern Lady come to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montserrat
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed while working at the Royal Highland Show, as I had to leave to early for breakfast, a breakfast in a box was arranged. On my last day I was able to enjoy a cooked breakfast, which was excellent. A huge range if information is available from places to eat , bus routes and walking routes to town. The room was very clean and well furnished. I would certainly return

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Redditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Our packed breakfasts are very popular. They give guests who have to go out early the freedom to take their breakfast with them and eat them when they feel like eating. We are glad you enjoyed them, but also that you had time to have a sit down breakfast and a chat before you left us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We do very much appreciate your comment and we hope to see you again next year for the Highland Show if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed at gladstone house while at a conference in Edinburgh. My room was really nicely decorated and very clean. The owners of the place were very charming, warm and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious! Minor issue was that the room was cold during the day because its on a timer. So the one day when i stayed in the room during the day it was pretty cold but warms up once the heating comes on.
I would definitely recommend the place, but you may need to ask for the heating to be put on if you plan to stay in the room during the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berivan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Guesthouse and got a chance to see some of our beautiful city between conference events. You certainly got into Scottish culture with your enthusiasm for Ceilidhs. Hopefully your ankle is all better by now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We had a very pleasant 3-days stay at this loveley guesthouse. Our room was a very comfortable and beautiful room with garden view. Everything was perfectly cleaned. The owners are so friendly and helped us with any query. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast with a great offer of different breakfast menus. The town center is just 1,6 km away and can easily be reached by bus or by walking through a beautiful park. The owners provided us different routing instructions how to reach the city center. So we surely say that we can recommend this guesthouse to everyone and will stay there again when we will be in Edinburgh the next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whatsaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your kind words here and in our visitors book. We try to make sure that our guest get the very most out of their visit to our city and it is so pleasing to know when we have achieved this. Luckily the weather allowed you to make the most of our varied and we hope interesting walks to the Castle, Royal Palace etc. We are glad you enjoyed them. We hope you tour of the Highlands went well and we certainly look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#53 of 392 in Edinburgh
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clan Walker Guest House
Clan Walker Guest House
#103 of 392 in Edinburgh
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
94DR
94DR
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
#157 of 392 in Edinburgh
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#101 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southside Guest House
Southside Guest House
#51 of 392 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Property: Gladstone House
Address: 90 Dalkeith Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gladstone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Gladstone House we offer our guests elegant four star bed and breakfast accommodation less than a mile from Edinburgh City Centre and within easy walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s historic and cultural "must see" locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gladstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing