We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Kenvie Guest House

Kenvie Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenvie Guest House
Ranked #217 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Kenvie was absolutely spotless. We were able to choose what we would like for breakfast from a printed menu given to us the night before. There were many options to choose from. The fresh fruit bowl was both beautiful and tastey. It is a short walk to the bus to the Royal Mile and the Castle. There are good restaurants within walking distance if you do not wish to go into downtown for dinner. I would highly recommend the Kenvie to my friends. Dorothy was very helpful with all of our questions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhorse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at Kenvie Guest House. The Scottish breakfast was customizable, day by day, which was a nice touch. Dorothy waited for us on our arrival day (rather past the time she posts as the latest check-in time) and was unfailingly gracious and helpful. The dining room is cozy, which encouraged conversation amongst guests, but with tables far enough apart to allow easy movement and solitude if preferred. Our double room en suite was nicely laid out, clean, and everything worked as it should. Making a cup of coffee first thing in the morning was appreciated, as was the wi-fi. Since Kenvie Guest House is close to public transport (buses), and still close enough to walk to the centre of town, it was ideal. We would stay there again, should the occasion arise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Great B&B in quiet area, bus stop 5 minutes walk, Royal Mile in walking distance (about 30 minutes). The room was well furnished, clean, with tea/coffee making facilities, wlan. Excellent full scottish breakfast including fresh fruits and Dorothy was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would choose it again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed there July 12/July15. Breakfast was great. Convenient to public transportation, University of Edenburgh and a great pub. Clean and affordable. Dorothy was very helpful in guiding us to where we wanted to go. We arrived later than we thought and Dorothy was waiting for us and it was much nicer than what we anticipated. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roe107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in May with wife and two college-aged kids. Dorothy is very personable and an excellent resource for sight-seeing tips, etc. Breakfast was very good, served to the table (no buffet) in a lovely dining room. Never took the bus (we're walkers!) approximately 20 minute, safe walk to city center. Free parking on the street right in front of the B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Not fancy. Clean and comfortable with our own bathroom. Easy bus connection to city center. The Vidlers are informative and helpful. Very Good "full Scottish" breakfast. Alternatives to "Scottish" breakfast available. Favorite Pub within 10-15 minute Walk - The Bell Pub. Just ask the Vidlers about it. We were able to eat in the restaurant section upstairs with our young daughter. We used the Pub menu rather than the restaurant menu. Very good traditional pub dishes and decent prices compared to elsewhere. The restaurant menu is fancier and more expensive. Very nice, clean atmosphere at Bell Pub. Kenvie is in a quiet neighborhood away from bustle of downtown. Near Common Wealth Swimming Pool and fitness center which travelers can use for a fee. Swimming Pool is mainly lap lanes, not for hanging-out.

Room Tip: There are a fair number of stairs. If you need an elevator - this is not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacNCheeseMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

If hou are hoping for a reasonable, well-run, clean place in Edinburgh, this is it. Dorothy took care of our every need, from a great breakfast to the loan of a scale to check luggage weight to touring suggestions. While this is not luxury, there are many nice touches such as oat biscuits, ice upstairs in the evenings, etc. we walked to everywhere from here, although others may wish to use the convenient buses.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#110 of 394 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenvie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenvie Guest House

Address: 16 Kilmaurs Road, Edinburgh EH16 5DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly traditional 3-star guest house well-situated in a quiet Victorian residential area of Edinburgh, recommended by Lonely Planet and Rick Steves. 10 minutes from the city centre on good bus routes. Attractive, comfortable rooms, most with en-suite bathrooms. Free wireless internet access in all rooms and a free shared PC. Good Scottish breakfasts and warm helpful service! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenvie Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing