We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Room 106!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine
Ranked #72 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware Room 106!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Place was fully booked but our room was ready early. First warning sign. Room was clean and bright, very warm. We lunched in the Carvery which was excellent value. We returned to room around 7pm and we then noticed the noise. Like a jet engine outside the window. We lasted around four hours then complained. It was the power for the freezers and couldn't be switched off. We had no alternative but to leave and were given and accepted a full refund. Beware this room if the lodge is fully booked, give it a wide berth unless major soundproofing is done. Shame as it spoilt our anniversary and we arrive home around midnight.

Room Tip: Just don't accept Room 106,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColRob2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to our Innkeepers Lodge, and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    103
    49
    19
    7
See reviews for
78
110
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I know it`s a bit late but wasn`t on Tripadvisor when we stayed here May 2013 so here we go.Room nice very clean, was allocated a room at front of hotel which was very good but a little bit noisy early in morning due to being on the main road to the city, when a room became available we moved to the back of the hotel overlooking the carpark, much quieter and the staff moved all our gear when we were out. The location of the hotel is perfect in a nice area in the suberbs on the main Bus route with shed loads of pubs and restaurants even a Wethy`s next door, bus stop right outside front door £5.00 return for two, 10 mins walk from the zoo, 1 mile to Murrayfield stadium. Now for the staff...Excellent, nothing was to much trouble, very friendly from the Manager right across the board, food usual good quality TOBY CARVERY fayre always served with a smile and on top of that no need for Tourist Information, the staff told us where to go how to get there and when to go.....brilliant. Going to book this great hotel in this fantastic city again for May June this year......if the staff read this......C U Soon.

Room Tip: Choose at the back overlooking the car park if you like a lie in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nonsailing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night for a night out in the city centre. Check in was easy and quick. The room itself was quite small but tidy and clean. The shower was powerful and hot. My only issue was that although there was a hair dryer in the room this was fixed into a drawer and the only mirror was at the other side of the room and therefore I was unable to see my hair when I was drying it. A mirror at the dressing table instead of the picture that was there would have solved this problem. Breakfast was ok for £3.99, although not of the same standard as the carvery. We caught a bus directly outside to take us into town for £1.50, the taxi back cost £10. All in all good value for money, I would stay again but I would take my own hair dryer next time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AngloScot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hi, I have recently stayed at the Innkeepers Lodge for one night whilst on a business trip.I found that the hotel was easy to locate and had adequate parking.
Check in was not particularly pleasant as I the check in desk was actually an area at the end of the bar which was busy and crowded, I found it a bit intimidating as there were lots of people sitting staring at you while checking in. I would suggest that a more personal and private area be provided for check in, I would also add that the lady at check in seemed very flustered and not too sure of what she was doing (she obviously had other duties like serving deinks and food to do as well)
I was allocated room 212 which was upstairs and along a very narrow dirty looking corridor a lick of paint was sorely needed. The security device for access to the 1st floor looked broken. I got to my room and found that it was tiny, it had to be 1 of the smallest hotel rooms I have stayed in, although it was comfortable and clean, Again the décor was tired and in dire need of updating, The bathroom however was relatively modern and had a nice shower cubicle but no bath.
I didn't get much sleep as I found the traffic noise very annoying even late at night as the hotel is situated right on a very busy main road.
I must admit that I found the carvery to be a good deal with tasty food at a reasonable price however it did take several attempts to find a clean plate (they were all dirty underneath. Breakfast was good and I would recommend paying the extra for the cooked breakfast,
All in all, I personally would not stay here again, there are lots of other hotels that have higher standards for the same price available in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge, Edinburgh, Corstorphine on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hotel has a good location for Edinburgh Zoo and other attractions, with a bus stop right outside. With bus fares at £1.50 per journey and an all day pass for £3.50 it is not worth taking a car into Edinburgh due to the traffic and parking problems. The Hotel was clean throughout ,although our room (218) had a very small bathroom ( the door had to be closed before sitting on the toilet ! ) and had insufficient shelves, hooks etc for personal toiletries. This room over looked the main road but had had double and secondary glazing and traffic noise was no problem. The food at the adjoining restaurant (a Toby Carvery) was very good, but hotel residents were unable to book a table unless it was for six or more persons. This resulted on some nights having to wait up to 45 minutes for a table, and this around 6pm. These were the only down points otherwise I would have given 4 stars. Overall the accommodation is generally good value for money. We also were able to see Tian Tian the female Panda, even though the timed viewings had been cancelled.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuBuHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, Corstophine .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

this accommodation is ideal for visiting Edinburgh. the zoo is a short walk from here and the bus service is wonderful into the city. the lodge itself is above the toby carvery, food was delicious and very reasonably priced. the free breakfast is continental, toast, yoghurt, cereal, fresh fruit etc. I tried the cooked option for £3.95 which is all you can eat, and it was lovely. the rooms were clean and comfortable and considering I live in the country the noise of the traffic never woke me. the staff were very friendly and helpful. I will be using this inn everytime I visit the city.

Room Tip: if your a light sleeper perhaps you should ask for a room at the rear although I wouldn't be too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge, Edinburgh, Corstorphine and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a fantastic trip to the UK we loved the city very much, there is so much to do. We stayed for 2 nights in room 101 it was a twin room and very comfortable. The breakfast was good. Itwould have been nice to have the little cheeses, but you dont do them anymore. The staff are brilliant, especially Carol and Maureen who did our laundry for us as we where leaving early morning to go to Paris. So thanks again girls. Would recommend to everybody.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little small but its a lodge and not a hotel, its good enough if you want to be centralt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found Innkeeper;s Lodge, Edinburgh, Corstorphine a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#37 of 149 in Edinburgh
628 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corstorphine
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
#110 of 392 in Edinburgh
137 reviews
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, Sou...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
286 reviews
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#215 of 392 in Edinburgh
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine

Property: Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine
Address: Edinburgh West | 114-116 St Johns Road, Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8AX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming lodge is a great choice if you're looking for budget accommodation right on Edinburgh's doorstep.Corstorphine is one of the seven hills of Edinburgh, near the city's western suburbs of Kingsknowe and Slateford. It provides an ideal base whether attending a business event at Edinburgh International Conference Centre or spending a short break in Scotland's vibrant capital.The lodge is home to 28 comfy rooms and a Toby Carvery, where you'll find a hearty range of freshly roasted joints, seasonal vegetables and all the traditional trimmings.Edinburgh is a fantastic city to visit, with its distinctive architecture, world-class cultural scene, plus pubs and restaurants aplenty. For a start you could delve into hundreds of years of history at Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace, shop to your heart's content amongst the hustle and bustle of the Royal Mile, climb the volcanic Authur's Seat in Holyrood Park, or see more than a thousand animals at Edinburgh Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh West Hotel Edinburgh
Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing