We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£133
Hotels.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
282
188
53
23
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
282
188
53
23
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common areas hostels grassmarket dorm castle bed pubs privacy dryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2024

This hostel was expensive but to be expected for new years - we paid almost £90 a night each which did seem steep but location was amazing and couldn’t have been better . Stayed in a mixed dorm. Staff at reception were friendly however we were a group of 5 split across two rooms mixed dorm rooms. It would have been nice if the staff had made the extra effort to try and look to accommodate us in one room but this seemed like we were causing a fuss when we asked. We also tried the breakfast one day which personally we didn’t think was worth the ~£4 charge so I’d give this a miss. Overall amazing trip

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank elliem46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

Dear Ellie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kick Ass Grassmarket and for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our amazing location and friendly reception staff.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by not being able to accommodate your group of 5 in one room. We understand that it would have been more convenient for you and we will take your feedback into consideration to improve our service in the future.

Regarding the breakfast, we apologize if it did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into account when reviewing our offerings.

We are delighted to hear that you had an overall amazing trip and we hope to welcome you back to Kick Ass Grassmarket in the future.

Best regards,
Oscar@Kick Ass Grassmarket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

I was put in a terrible room, had to move due to being put in a room with loads of guys which made me feel very uncomfortable. They didn’t give you towels or lockers so you have to pay for all of that aswell. I moved rooms in the middle of the night, was horrible. Rooms were really hot so I could barely sleep. Would not recommend this place as a place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2023

Hi Louisa,
we are sorry that you had such a bad experience, we can understand that being the only girl with 4 other guys is not very comfortable, and that's why we helped you change your room to another with a better gender balance,but please, don't't blame us if you have been out all the day so you managed to change room when you came back later during the night.
all the best
Alberto @Kickass Hostels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2023 via mobile

Comfortable, well-kept and spacious, with helpful staff, and very good in my experience for organised social activities. It’s also in a brilliant location. Excellent option for those on a budget or backpackers seeking a social experience.
The Pods definitely make the place much better too!

Room tip: Do yourself a favour by choosing the Pod option to stay in, and be to inquire about organised events during your stay.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Paradise03023161461
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2023

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your kind review of Kick Ass Grassmarket. It is satisfying to know that the level of service and comfort has met with your requirements. We are pleased to hear that you found our location convenient and that our organised social activities were great.

At Kick Ass Grassmarket, we strive to create lasting memories for our guests through exceptional service, luxurious amenities, and amazing experiences. We are delighted that you found the Pods to be a great addition to your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and will make sure each experience is better than the last!

Warm regards,
The Team at Kick Ass Hostal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2023

I booked a ‘refundable’ package just in case the room is not hygienic and I can still expect a refund. The option is slightly misleading in the first place because you can’t actually have your refund on the same day. Besides they couldn’t promise when the cleaner gonna come. I sincerely tell you to stay away from this hostel, unless you don’t care toe nails/ hair / spiders & crumbs company your sleep. Just remember you pay what you have with the price.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2023

Dear Guest,
we are sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with us;
we always try to keep high standards when it comes to cleanliness,
Regarding the refundable rate it is a global concept, more related to the right to cancel until 24h before check in than actually check if the room is up to your standards.
housekeeping cleans the room before check-in so we are not sure to understand what you mean when you say " they couldn’t promise when the cleaner gonna come" but we trust you and try to resolve the miscommunication with our reception team.
all the best
Alberto@KA Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

Just horrific, from start to finish - don’t go. I repeat I don’t go - I dare you!

Pints dodgy - everything was so overpriced and the bouncer, well, oh my goodness he was a dodgy geezer!!!!

Legit chaps, would not recommend - especially if you’re a chap just looking to have a nice time.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

I'm sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience at the venue. It's disappointing when a night out doesn't meet your expectations. Your feedback highlights a few areas of concern, including the quality of the drinks, pricing, and the behavior of the bouncer. It's essential for businesses to take customer feedback seriously to make necessary improvements. If you have any specific suggestions or details about what went wrong, sharing them with the establishment or on a public review platform could be valuable for both the business and potential future patrons. Hopefully, your feedback will help them improve their services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews