We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #349 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel room that I stayed in was basically falling apart. The room that could sleep 4 people. (room 1). It had a window that was right next to one of the beds which wasn't even a window, it was a slatted window that you'd see in hot countries, NOT Scotland! Second gripe was, we paid for breakfast and when we got up to go and get it we were told that there was to be 'NO BREAKFAST!' I am outraged and will be contacting Trading Standards about this hotel. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. The carpet was stained and there were sweet wrappers just left under our bed from previous occupants of the room. Don't expect anything like the standards of a Youth Hostel, it's worse. LOOK ELSEWHERE!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonnyDayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

its a great little hotel, amazing value for money, excellent customer service! we felt really welcome and looked after. Walking distance from city center ( 20 - 30min ) but you could easy just catch a bus close by. from our room we had a lovely view of the park - i loved it! Room and bathroom were clean, tea's and coffees provided every day.
it was a perfect stay, most recommended!

Room Tip: room with a view of the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k793511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We were travelling around Uk and we stayed two nights at Adelphi Hotel.
It was a nice room with all facilities we needed to have a rest after visiting all day Edinburgh and its surroundings...
We liked because it is a Georgian townhouse and we had always been at Victorian's...
Through the window, we had good views of the nice and quiet park that it is in front of the hotel; at the same time, we could watch Edinburgh's skyline.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank alberto c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

The staff were extremely generous and upgraded me the night that I arrived. The room was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and it was a 10 minute walk away from a bus stop to take you directly into town. Only real downside was no free wifi but the local bus had wifi on board. Over all, a decent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaisieHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and it was v good! The best part was the customer service we got from the Gudwara the hotel manager as he emailed details and directions to the hotel and welcomed us when we got there and looked after us throughout our stay.
The facilities are basic, however with the price we paid for we got a bargain! we opted for en-suite as didn't want to share.
We chose this hotel as it was the closest to the training we had attend but it was fantastic. It is only a bus away into town and it takes 10 mins and a day saver is £3.50 or 1.50 for a single.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Struggled to find 'decent' priced accommodation for our visit to the Edinburgh Tattoo.
The better hotels were fully booked, and their room rates seemed to have doubled to coincide with the Tattoo, so I thought we were lucky to have found this place. It was a walk to find a bus stop, and then a bus ride away from the centre of Edinburgh, which wasn't a nice return journey late at night in the rain!
The hotel was very run down. We had old and odd items of furniture in the room. We had to share a bathroom - no problem, just had to keep nipping out to see if it was free!!!. The downstairs toilet was off the main reception area, which wasn't very discreet (or hygenic!)
The cooked breakfast was very good though!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Clean bed and room, decor was dated but the staff member I met was super friendly which more than made up for it. The shared bathroom wasn't anything special - the shower head had broken off the wall, but again it was clean.

In Leith, so you have to grab a bus for a short journey up to Edinburgh tiself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#105 of 394 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#199 of 394 in Edinburgh
204 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#139 of 394 in Edinburgh
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Falcon Crest
#328 of 394 in Edinburgh
23 reviews
Leith House
#341 of 394 in Edinburgh
93 reviews
16 Pilrig Guest House
#184 of 394 in Edinburgh
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 7 Links Gardens | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £31 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelphi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing