We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Edinburgh”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #140 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel was nice and was in a good location for accessing Edinburgh city center (bus leaves from almost outside the hotel).

Downsides were the noise (very loud) in the mornings and the beds. Two singles do not make a double bed.

The breakfast is very generous however.

Would recommend, but make sure you get a double/king room.

Room Tip: Make sure it's not two single beds pushed together.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_j_graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

After visiting next doors bothy and having a bad experience, we visited the Hampton... Great service and nice local pub - stayed for a few hours and some sports showing on TV too... Looked quite busy for food too...... Ideal for Murrayfield for the rugby.. Definitely recommended :)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiBBSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Hampton offers honest Bar Meals at resonable prices which is rare in Edinburgh. You can have a meal in the bar area or choose to sit in the restaurant which is quieter. I personally prefer the Bar area. The hotel has a warm atmosphere and the service is good. It is good value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch with my family. Fair enough it was busy as there was a few parties in, so we had to take a seat in the bar which was totally fine. Our orders were taken and an hour later no sign of the food.... now if there was going to be a long wait this should have been made clear before us ordering.. we may have had plans... while waiting not one member of staff came over to apologise or offer us another drink while we waited..... other tables were complaing too.

When the food did arrive it was lovely. I had the veggie burger. Nice and fresh. We were put off buying another drink or deserts. Won't be back for a while

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank cozbawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose this hotel because it is so close to Murrayfield - then hotel does a good trade with spectators before and after the match - and is only a short walk away.

the room was large, clean and quiet - it is very well soundproofed from the bar. Breakfast was good - but not over-sophisticated.

Good and down to earth - and the rugby proved (for us) especially memorable - a good visit

Room Tip: Less traffic noise at the back of then hotel - not a great problem however
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisBerkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After a horrible experience with a major hotel chain in Edinburgh, it was back to the Hampton for this visit. It's not the most modern or spectacularly well appointed, but everything is pretty good from the rooms to the quality of the food. As others have said, off-street parking is also a major plus point, but be advised, it's limited!

It's not very big (6 rooms I think) and it's a bit outside the city centre, but given the frequency of buses and taxis, that shouldn't present a problem to anyone.

If I was being really picky, I'd want a bigger shower enclosure, but given the layout of the bathroom, maybe it was as big as could be managed.

All in all, I'd recommend the Hampton

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouse8459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here again, a small but perfectly formed wee hotel that does really good food too. And the added bonus - you can park off street!! Stayed there last weekend and 4 of us are going back next weekend. Pay a little extra for the executive room at the front, giant bed, very comfy and well worth it.

Room Tip: If you are a couplke book the executive one at the front.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petenjan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,999 reviews
Murrayfield
Twin Lions Hotel
Twin Lions Hotel
#145 of 393 in Edinburgh
90 reviews
4Kt Guesthouse
#25 of 393 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corstorphine
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
#111 of 393 in Edinburgh
139 reviews
Abbotsford Guest House
#97 of 393 in Edinburgh
153 reviews
Leith
Hanover House Hotel
Hanover House Hotel
#148 of 393 in Edinburgh
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Address: 14 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing