We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Smooth stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Luciana-A...
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Smooth stay!”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Carlton Terrace Mews was smooth!
The house is in a very quiet place but very well-located - near bus stops, a big supermarket, and walking distance to main areas.
It was clean and comfortable - bedding, toilets, and kitchenware. The kitchen itself could have received a little more attention to professional cleaning though. Also, the food products found in the house were mostly expiered. So make sure you check it before using anything.
The only thing we had issues in the house was having a shower. No problems with hot water at all. The thing is it was difficult to find a way to stand in the shower areas. In the ensuite, the bath is too narrow - your feet don't fit, that round curtain keeps sticking all over you, and the taps are too close to your legs. I got a really bad bruise... And in the other bathroom, there isn't a proper shower only a bath. So in the end we had great baths then! We can always adapt, but when on holiday I think people prefer not having to...
Anyways, Mary was very friendly. She replied to all our questions, doubts and requests.
All in all, it was a very nice stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review. I am always open to all comments. I am sorry you were not happy with the shower but this is one of the compromises with an old house. I apologise re the expired goods in the cupboard - my housekeeper tries to leave some productsfor other guests to use rather than throwing out food unnecessarily but it seems as though some has been left too long! I will certainly take action regarding the deep clean of the kitchen - thank you so much for this. I do hope you come back sometime. Kindest regards, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, comfortable apartment - perfect for a family to enjoy the city!”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was easy to find and perfectly appointed! Very cozy yet had plenty of space for a family of 4! Having 2 bathrooms was great and the washer/dryer combo allowed us to backpack through Scotland rather than pack tons of clothing. The apartment is in a safe, tucked away location. We walked here from the train station at 11PM without any fears. You can quickly walk to Arthur's Seat, Holyrood Palace & Abbey, the Royal Mile and many other sites. The Waverley train station is about a 15-20 minute walk. All-in-all, we were very happy and would definitely stay here again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay, Sabrina. Do come again some time. Kind regards, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you, Jane. I'm glad your enjoyed your stay. Do come again! Kind regards, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gkrevans
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely quiet location close to the centre.”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Suited us well especially as dog friendly. We like to stroll about and nothing was very far away. Only thing that was a drawback for us was the size of the kitchen which was tight for 4 people eating around the table.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
The kitchen is small (as is the house) but I am glad you enjoyed your stay anyway. Kind regards. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you, Catriona. So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Magoo1968
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“31 Carlton Terrace Mews”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely brilliant. Mary the owner outstanding. Try it to believe it. The welcome pack was great and the handover perfect. Good comms from start to finish. If I had a complaint which I don't it would be a 4pm getting in is late and 10am leave is a tad early. Especially if you've had a few the night before. I will be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette G
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location to explore central Edinburgh and surrounding areas”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely comfortable two bedroom mews just 10 minute walk from Edinburgh's city centre. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with lots of little extra touches - hot water bottles on each bed, which were perfect when the temperatures were hoovering around freezing. Welcoming flowers on the kitchen table and complimentary tea and coffee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: A short walk to the city centre
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thank you, Yvette. Do come back! Kind regards. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing