We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borderline”
Review of Aizle

Aizle
Ranked #101 of 2,556 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$54 - US$54
Cuisines: Scottish, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: The best meals are the ones you don’t have to choose. Everything at Aizle is made in-house, from the nutritious live ferment in the sourdough, to the hand churned butter, to the aquavit and aged kombucha in our cocktails. Aizle is now based in the Garden Room at The Kimpton Charlotte Square, we hope to see you soon.
Reviewed 18 May 2019 via mobile

I’m all for casual dining. Aizle takes casual service to the cliff edge. To the extreme of what is acceptable. Courses repeatedly served without clearing plates? An eyebrow raising lack of attention to detail which left me asking “really”. The sommelier on the other hand was the real deal. The complete package.

The tasting menu was interesting and generally well executed. Ryan’s dishes in particular were spectacular. The hogget main course was out-shone by two dishes of note. A Parmesan topped bon-bon flavour bomb. And there was an excellent steamed bun with a delicious filling.

Aizle for me was borderline. A lovely concept, with some excellent cooking - let down by over casual service.

Date of visit: May 2019
4  Thank Pedalpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 170 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2019

Very much enjoyed the excellent food which was well presented and full of flavour and interest.
However the surroundings and overall ambience ,in our view,did not do the food justice.The tables and decor were tending towards the rustic and lower end and the staff turn out was very casual.The service whilst very efficient seemed a little impersonal at times and whilst the contents of each course was explained it was done in a hurried manner which left us a little confused at times.
Our first drink was served after our starter course was delivered which gave no time for pre dinner settling down and chat etc and the price of a small can of Beer @£8 served in the Can and a small wine type glass did little to start the evening well.The wine served from the list was fine but again rather pricey @£44 even for a fine food restaurant.
The overall cost for our evening given the excellence of the food was reasonable however we would doubt whether the increase in cost which they intend to implement in September would be justified compared to similar good food establishments.
Overall a good food experience but with limitations and not worth a second trip in the future.

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank shakeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 May 2019

My daughter and I came over the Queensferry Bridge from Fife for 2 days to Edinburgh. We stayed in a lovely hotel in York Place, then we went to AIZLE, a beautiful restaurant on our first night. I had booked it before we came. It was such an enjoyable experience. the tasty food and the service was second to none. Thank you!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Sapphire1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 May 2019

The restaurant is small : you have to book before you go because they are very busy. It’s a kind of poetic gastronomy : the chef arranges the courses with art. Everything is very good and well prepared. You won’t have any menu but a suggestion of products on the black board which will be prepared in 6 courses. You can ask for a wine appearing if you want. However, the prices are a bit too high for what we had to eat, even if it was artistic and very tasty.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ca_et_Da
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

What an amazing restaurant. Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. No menu to choose from so you get to try things you might not normally try and every dish was fantastic especially the hogget. If going to Edinburgh would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank B359GXsaraht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Aizle also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Aizle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.