We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Ranked #100 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I booked this hotel to visit the Fringe essentially due to its price. It's three stops on the tram from the Airport and only four / five stops into the City centre. I got my room for £89 which compares very well to the over inflated prices in the centre - Ibis in the. City is min of £229 for a night for an example.

I've stayed in Ibis before but the Style brand. They are modern, minimalist and clean. It's not luxury but it's very functional. You can't book in before 12 midday and have to check out by midday as well.

Only down side of bing this far out of the city is Tram / Train / Bus timetables don't run that late - so some of the later shows at the Fringe may be more problematic.

All in all this hotel was quiet, functional and value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FortyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear FortyEngland,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Budget Edinburgh Park Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have stayed in quite a few Ibis hotels now, and all have been OK. This one however I will not return to if I can find alternative accomodation that doesn't cost too much more. The hotel has not long been open, so it was all very clean, the bed was comfortable and the room adequate although very compact. My big issue was that even when you turned off the lights everything still glowed! There are LED lights everywhere, and it's as though they are still receiving a small amount of power. They glowed all night. Not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Becky S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our LED lights have a setting on them that turns the "glow in the dark" setting off. I'm sorry if this wasn't made clear to you during your stay.

I hope you will consider staying at Ibis Budget Edinburgh Park again in the future.

Kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jamie M, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for one night during festival time peak season. This hotel had just been opened and therefore everything was still brand new. The room was very small but enough for just one night after arriving at Edinburgh late evening. In fact this hotel is not in the centre but closer to the airport. However, one can easily reach the city centre by tram in just 10 mins. The tram stop is very close by. Breakfast is continental only and limited. We had to wait for ham and milk until 9am as they were not available.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveller M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Traveller M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am really sorry that you had to wait for ham and milk during breakfast and this is something I am looking in to.

As your review reads very positive the title alarms me. Can I ask you to contact me directly at h8710-gm@accor.com to give me some more information as to why you didn't feel like we are up to Ibis standards.

Thanks again for the review and I hope to speak to you soon.

Kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Located within walking distance for a convenient tram ride from the Gyle Centre to Edinburgh Airport. This is not a long-stay option, but is fully functional for an overnight stay and in walking distance from the Gyle shopping centre. The hotel is brand new but already has a friendly and helpful staff complement.

Room Tip: A room without the overhead bunk gives some useful extra space.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NevilleGeorgeRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear NevilleGeorgeRSA,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked a night here during the Edinburgh Fringe as it was the best value we could find. Hotel is bright, modern and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Room was smallish but had everything you would expect (and some) from a budget hotel, as it had free wi-fi. Hair dryers are available at reception but best to take your own, however, no electricity point by mirror. Had a great night's sleep due to comfortable bed, efficient black out blind and bedroom door blocking out all noise from the hallway. With free parking and tram stop nearby, a good budget choice hotel when visiting Edinburgh.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsSpanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear MrsSpanner,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Luckily I had taken an inflateable bed for my 3yr old son as a backup, as our family room only had a double bed in it when we arrived late at night, it just about squeezed down the side of the bed, but this meant if you needed a wee in the night you had to climb over the other person in the bed. It would have been nice to have been able to lock the toilet door for a little privacy,(the huge gap above the door meant no privacy either-though my little boy thought it was hilarious that you could make funny noises and everyone could hear) but then the glass door on the shower that opened directly into the room (opposite a mirror) meant privacy went out of the window. Would have been nice to have had some storage space (no wardrobe-just a hanger). Sink also leaked which we reported, but made the floor very slippy which was especially dangerous for our little boy. The compact room would have been better suited for a single person. Only one double plug socket in the room so if you need to plug things in to charge over night I would take an adaptor. Also if you want a hot drink-there is a drink station in the hotel reception area but only hot water free-tea & coffee £2, so would suggest you take teabags with you or nip to Morrisons across the road. On the plus side the reception staff were very helpful and a nice touch to have bus and tram times readily available at reception desk. Breakfast was a farce, had to ask 8 times to get bowls and cutlery, and in the end cleared the table myself and asked staff for a cloth to clean my own table, and food kept running out- so much so that when an item was topped up everyone ran to grab the food and we went at a quiet time. Hopefully staff will be increased to be able to cope with customers as it felt like they hadn't had any training whatsoever which I realise its a newly opened hotel but think training should have been done before opening and not on the job. It is handy that the tram stop is right outside which goes directly into Edinburgh centre and the parking is free at the hotel, but isn't worth the money. Also there needs to be better signage its almost impossible to find in the dark.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Smokiethecat,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of your recent stay.

I can assure you that your feedback is very important to us and the points you have raised are being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

We are working with our local council to have more directional signage outside the hotel grounds.

We hope we will see you again on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,554 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#135 of 150 in Edinburgh
136 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park

Address: 6 Lochside View, Edinburgh EH12 9DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £38 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ibis budget -essential comfort at a budget price. ibis budget Hotel Edinburgh Park is perfect for a City Break in Edinburgh-only a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Park train station with frequent trains into the heart of the city (in only 7 minutes). 161 Cocoon rooms for up to 3 people. En-suite shower, air-cooling and flat-screen TV. Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 reception. 24/7 sweet/savoury snacks/drinks. Good value Continental breakfast buffet. Free limited on-site car-park. 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibis Budget Edinburgh Business Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing