We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom (with bed made up as a kingsize)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom (with bed made up as a kingsize)
Living Room Time to relax
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Bedroom (with bed made up as a kingsize)
Living Room
Time to relax
Living room
Living Room
Living Room
Refreshment
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
The apartment has a funky Scottish interior style!
Kitchen
Kitchen  ... a well stocked home from home!
Kitchen
Our guests can expect a warm welcome!
Kitchen
Kitchen
Halls
Halls
Bath Room
Bath Room
Bath Room
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Entrance
Garden
Coffee and croissants in the south facing courtyard
Garden
Street
Welcome! ~ Ceud mìle fàilte ... 'A hundred thousand welcomes' (Scot's Gaelic)
Hall
Hall
Bedroom ... with bed made up as a kingsize
Bedroom made up as two single beds
Comfortable accommodation ... Egyptian cotton bedlinen and fluffy towels!
Spacious Living room
Fireplace
Stylish comfort ... and a wee dram to welcome our guests!
Leather sofa .... which is easily made into a double bed
Funky Scottish interior styling!
Kitchen with breakfast bar looking out onto quiet and leafy, cobbled lane
In the bathroom
Contemporary bathroom with shower over
Comfortable and relaxed atmosphere ...  in Edinburgh's historic New Town!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Olive W
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from a very enjoyable first visit to Edinburgh. Stuart & Wendys apartment is exactly as described. Very clean,spacious,comfy bed,fluffy towels,great location, quiet-exactly what we wanted for a great break. Would recommend Royal Edinburgh Ticket to visit all the attractions. Would love to stay in this apartment on a return visit to Edinburgh.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. We are very happy you enjoyed Edinburgh and left such lovely comments about the apartment! We pride ourselves on our high standards and our reward is knowing you have had a great time. We would be delighted if you chose to stay with us again! W&S x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny L
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Edinburgh ”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Hi stuart and Wendy , We have literally just arrived home after 5days stay at your apartment, We both loved the homely feel of your apartment. Also thanks for the sweets , and the bubbly . The apartment was neat and tidy and decorated to a high standard . The are itself was easy to access all that edinburgh has to offer, We have very much fallen in love with the place and we will definitely be back , for another stay soon , Also we may end up moving here to edinburgh as we loved the city so much and the locals at the Cumberland bar were very warmly welcoming and a great place to relax with a few pints .
Kindest regards and thanks again
Mr and Mrs Little

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you for leaving this wonderful review! We also love the Cumberland Bar - they do a great Sunday lunch ... and some delicious real ales! Although situated in Edinburgh (an iconic and beautiful city) our little area of the New Town has a friendly and village-like feel to it, especially if you explore surrounding Stockbridge, or a walk to nearby Botanic Gardens and Water of Leith. We hope you return, and you know where we are if you need to book again! Thanks again, S&W x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K
1 review
“fabulous apartment.”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

15 min walk to main shopping areas, a bit further to Royal Mile. Apartment is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and modern, everything you need is there, with some little extras, very much appreciated. Decoration is tasteful and well done.Can't praise it enough. Bus stop, Tesco, bars and restaurants are 2 min away, can't go wrong. Good position.Highly recommended, from three friends who are extremely picky. Will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
We are really pleased you enjoyed staying at 28A Cumberland St. We've worked hard to make it a place our guests will love staying in so much that they'll come back to stay again! Our aim is to provide practical accommodation with a touch of luxury, whilst situated close to many of Edinburgh's attractions. Thanks very much indeed for your feedback - we hope to welcome you again in future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitkat684
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bank holiday getaway”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thank you very much for a comfortable and welcoming stay. Your apartment was so lovely and tastefully decorated.The little extras were also thoughtful and the location was convenient and quiet.
Thank you again.
Claire and Richard

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for leaving this review! We’re delighted you have some lovely memories of your stay at 28A Cumberland Street, and of beautiful Edinburgh. We have tried to make the apartment really comfy and welcoming, so guests feel at home as soon as they arrive … we are also pleased you enjoyed our extra touches! Please know that you will always be warmly welcomed if you chose to return, S&W
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
867Lois
Chico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming apartment in Georgian New Town”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A quiet, central location in Georgian New Town, away from the tourist mob but with easy accessibility to all points of interest including the Cumberland Bar at the end of the street. The apartment itself was welcoming, nicely furnished plus a few extras like a carafe of whisky, a bottle of champagne and sweet treats. I enjoyed the stay very much and communication with Stuart & Wendy was excellent.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Thank you for leaving us a review of your stay at 28a Cumberland Street. A wee nip of whisky and the other treats are our way of saying "Thank you for booking with us!" The traditional Cumberland Bar is famous for its good food and craft ales so it is worth a visit, together with many other interesting shops, cafes and galleries on our doorstep. We hope you can stay with us again in future! S&W
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaisyWJ
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A great place to stay close with only short walk to Princes St and Waverly Stn. The flat was furnished to our standards which made us feel like we had a home away from home, lovely to come home to each night after hours of adventuring. Good restaurants and mini supermarkets to make some home style food back at the flat. Enjoyed little extras like chocolate treats and bubbles, will tell everyone about this little gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thank you for leaving this review. It has always been our aim to ensure our guests feel at home as soon as they arrive at 28a Cumberland Street. We believe that comfort is vital when away from home and special touches here and there do make all the difference. There are plenty of good restaurants and cafes on our doorstep but with our well stocked kitchen it is just as lovely to relax at home and eat something you've prepared yourself! We thank you for your comments and for recommending us to family and friends - we would love to welcome them in future too! S&W
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom1990Lo...
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have stayed at a few apartments etc rather than hotels over the years and I think 28a Cumberland Street may have been the best one so far.

So many thoughtful touches across the board and generally really lovely.

The location is pretty good, being just a short walk to pretty much everything in Edinburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for leaving this review. We are extremely pleased you found the apartment so comfortable. The location is very desirable and perfect for all of Edinburgh’s main attractions, but with a calmer, more relaxed vibe. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with all the comforts of a home from home but with an added boutique hotel vibe, so we are delighted you rated it as one of the best apartments you've stayed in! We are also really proud to announce that 28A Cumberland Street has been awarded a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for 2017!! We hope you return for another stay in future. S&W
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing