We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hour. Really worth a visit”
Review of Escape Edinburgh

Escape Edinburgh
Ranked #5 of 59 Fun & Games in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Escape is a new, simple, fun, challenging game in Edinburgh City Centre. Designed for groups of 2 - 5. With 3 rooms in operation we can accommodate teams of up to 15. We lock you up in a mysterious room, and give you exactly 60 minutes to get out. In order to escape you and your team must solve many puzzles, riddles, brain teasers and identify clues. Using your powers of observation and problem solving.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hour. Really worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a very entertaining hour here. The organiser was very helpful and explained exactly what was expected. The clues were difficult but we guessed the first one relatively quickly leading us into a false sense of security. Then things got difficult and the organiser - bless him - gave us some much needed help in the form of clues on the computer screen. Needless to say we didnt get out of the room but this did not detract from the fun. Well worth a visit. It gets the grey matter working hard. Will go again to try more of the escape games.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TyneTeesTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    101
    17
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An engaging and thrilling 60 minutes!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We turned up having no idea what to expect, but we all left wanting to experience it all over again!

In short, you enter a room with only a few 'do and do not type rules'. With 60 minutes on the clock, the room is yours to work out how to escape. Turn it upside down, find hidden keys and clues...

This is really something new and unique to Edinburgh, and unlike anything you will have done before. Highly recommended to all. We will certainly be rebooking!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mystiko737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Applause”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

bloody brilliant! 2 groups of us went and competed to see who could get out of their room the fastest. was very challenging and fun! recommenced you brush up on your skills like roman numerals, Sudoku, and problem solving. Will certainly be going again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrandoKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing challenge!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Incredibly fun and engaging experience for the whole family! This is something I would love to do again. Very fun, you get very "into the game" once you are in the room. We were four people taking on the challenge of the light room, and succeeded with only 2 minutes to go!
The man who works there explains the consent of the game and what is not a part of the game (like the heating etc.) so you go into the room knowing somewhat what to expect. What he doesn't tell you is all the fun and excitement you are going to have solving the puzzle!
Wish there were more live escape-the-room games around!

Helpful?
Thank KLHyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A truely amazing experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Myself and my husband booked Escape as part of our trip to Edinburgh. We weren't 100% sure what to expect but I'm so glad we went! I've always been a fan of programmes such as Crystal Maze etc and logic games such as this really excite me! The rush of adrenaline you get whilst trying to escape is amazing and I would recommend this experience to anyone who likes to try new things and likes a bit of adventure!

Kudos to Dan too, fab time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escape Edinburgh also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Escape Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing