We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Star Villa”
Review of Star Villa

Star Villa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Villa
Ranked #165 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the star Villa in Edinburgh, what a wonderfull place to stay. As well as being very convenient (15 min walk to Princes Street) Doreen the host goes out of her way to make your stay so special. The rooms are immaculately clean, warm and confortable and the breakfasts are out of this world. We have have booked another 2 trips already for this year, if we can't wait to get back there. Thank you Doreen for a wonderfull stay we will see you again in March.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wertster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed at the Star Villa in October whilst visiting Edinburgh for my birthday!
My boyfriend and 1 booked one of the small rooms as it was only a base for our stay; as we spent most of our time exploring the wonderful city.

The room was just nicely decorated and very clean. It was just whaty we needed. A comfy bed, clean shower and toilet room. We also had a mini fridge which was a nice touch for keeping drinks we bought to the room cool and also the room has a kettle and facilities to make tea & coffee; along with a couple of shortbread biscuits!!

The lady who was there during our stay was lovely (Not sure if it was Doreen) and greeted us each morning and was helpful when we asked where was nice to eat and about days out etc.

The breakfasts were nice and was of the standard expected for what was paid.

I would recoomend this B&B to anyone visiting Edinburgh; great location as its only a short walk to the centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We recently spent a weekend at the Star Villa, followed by a trip north to visit our son, and then another weekend with our son and his girlfriend at the Star. When we first arrived Doreen greeted us at the door by name (such a nice touch when travelling a long way to be warmly welcomed). We stayed in two different rooms and both were very clean, had everything in them you could possibly need for a comfortable stay, i.e. small frig, hot pot for tea and coffee, television, wifi, blowdryer, iron. The beds were comfortable as well. The small staff was very accommodating and friendly and the breakfasts were the best - would definitely keep you full for many hours. We would definitely recommend this to friends and would return on any future visits. We were able to walk to all the city's main attractions. Thank you so much for a great stay, Doreen!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed here for one night when attending a concert at The Usher Hall. Free off road parking at the front of the property,a very warm,friendly welcome from Doreen .We were in room 3 which was a very large family room at the front of the house,decent bathroom with large shower.Also had large wallmounted TV and a fridge.Breakfast was very good,freshly cooked to order.Nice B and B in good location ,on bus routes,plus many attractions within walking distance.Good value for money,will definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: The property is close to the road,not too busy but if you want quiet,book a room at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent one night in April in this nice B&B. It is close to the city center. The place was clean, we had wifi access. The breakfast was friendly and tasty as we shared our table with American tourists who were on holidays here.
Our only difficulty was to park the car as our host had broken her wrist and was not able to move her car from the car park (there are only 3 car park places).
Our room was spacious and clean; we had wifi access, and we could see the castle from our window.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

staying in this house was really nice, especially because of doreen, she is really friendly, it is always nice to meet people like her.
So if you want to have a relax stay just go there and the breakfast is very good with a nice choice and nice portion, all well prepared.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Steph829106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was our second visit and was just as good if not better than the first. Doreen is such a wonderful hostess and keeps an immaculate B+B. Breakfast is a must and keeps you full all day. Would reccommend to everyone. Thanks so much Doreen for making our stay so enjoyable and comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room six which was a lovely size with an ensuite. Beautifully decorated and very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,612 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,015 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Villa

Address: 36 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Star Villa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing