We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight”
Review of Aaron Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aaron Lodge
Ranked #30 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overnight”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Ted and Dot were amazing host. Our meals were to die for. Our room was excellent. Queen size bed, en suite bathroom with large shower, we didn't want to leave. Free wifi . Huge tv x we will be back. Thx very much.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    88
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
147
333
64
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Went to Scotland for our Honeymoon and Edinburgh was our first stop. Ted gave us a wonderful welcome upon our arrival (which we needed after our 8+ hours of travel with little sleep in over 24 hours!). The room was great and the food better. My husband had Fish & Chips all over Scotland and still raves about how it was the best here. Ted even went out of his way to help us with Dinner on our second day when we arrived back to the Lodge late after getting turned around in the city. Fantastic place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 2pm on the Friday to be given a warm welcome by the owner, Ted. Our room was lovely, comfy bed, big tv, nice bathroom. Ted told us which buses to catch to get into town. We stayed 3 nights. Breakfast was great. Nice coffee, lovely bacon and lurpak butter instead of the usual cheap stuff. Wouldn't hesitate to return if we come back to Edinburgh. Many thanks to our hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildeydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I originally found Aaron Lodge on Tripadvisor and after reading several reviews decided to take a chance and booked 3 nights during our Edinburgh stay. I can honestly say, I wasn't really disappointed. I was initially worried that the location would be a problem being outside the city limits, however the bus into Edinburgh City stopped right outside with only a 10-15 minute drive. Just make sure you get on the right bus coming back! The room was lovely with everything provided, even down to bathrobes and slippers. The walls may be a little thin as there was a bit of noise from above and next door, but nothing to be too concerned about. Breakfast choice was fine however perhaps the 1 hour time window could be extended. We dined in the restaurant on two occasions, there was a variety of choice from the 3 course menu, the meals were substantial and tasty. Ted and Dot, our hosts, were friendly and happy to oblige. Can I just suggest that when advising bus times and numbers, that perhaps it is stressed that to get back to the B&B after a long day, you make sure you get on the bus on the opposite side to where you originally got off in the morning. Some might say, commonsense prevails, but when you are a stranger in a city, accurate directions are essential. All in all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64sarahb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here simply as a stopover prior to being picked up for a tour we were doing in the Highlands. As such, the location didn't play into it for us, although for me, it is too far away from the action to seriously consider for a longer-term stay.

The place itself was average to good. We had to stay in the overflow area down the road since someone (ostensibly, our tour operator) neglected to say we were two couples, as opposed to two people. Not a problem, since "Father Ted", as he called himself, was perfectly happy to drive us to and from this spot as required. He also provided us with some lively entertainment in the form of stories and jokes and noted that his restaurant is the best in Edinburgh (we reserved judgment for this).

The room itself was quite clean and comfortable, although we did hear quite a bit of noise from other guests.

Dinner in the restaurant was actually quite good, and I have no problem recommending it.

Breakfast the next morning was fine, with good variety, but nothing much stands out about it.

For our purposes, this was a fine place to stay. We quite enjoyed the personality and wit of our host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTravelLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Run by a cheeky chappy Wally Banter type who is constantly telling you how great the place is, but is quick to demonstrate any inflexibility ie restricted meal times etc. the wife (Dot I presume) was very pleasant and unobtrusive, as I prefer. The fella will probably rubbish any negative feedback, so desperate to claw for Tripadvisor awards, see previous poor reviews.

The place has good reviews, so expectations were high. It is a bit crossroads motel, but there is very little choice in the area, which is about half an hour at least from the city.

The bed felt like sleeping on uneven pallets, there was no sky tv, just free satellite tv. The owner hogged the bar tv.
The evening meals were to a good standard, if on the pricey side, as you have to pay a fixed price for three courses whatever you want. The owner likes to sit at the end of the restaurant, shouting at you, then bursting out into song, like he has some sort of crooner Tourette's. The "restaurant" is a lean-to conservatory corridor next to the pavement by the busy A7 main road, just an awful location. Why the restaurant isn't round the back and the car park located at the front is a mystery.
The breakfast however is a very mixed bag. The healthy options are all present and correct, including individually wrapped cheese portions, but the cooked breakfast is a disgrace to scottish cuisine - grey hash browns, swimming fried eggs, cold deep fried bacon etc.

Overall, a well fitted out room, though the experience is somewhat underwhelming due to the limitations of the location and the overbearing Alan Partridge type host.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Windmillingthebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron Lodge G, Owner at Aaron Lodge, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
If everything was as you say and in your opinion we got everything wrong why stay 4 nights?? Why not speak to us and tell us what you thought face to face!! You could have moved on at any time.
How did you get into the city?? All our other reviewers say 10-15 minutes, another lot of rubbish from you !!
A 3 course A La Carte meal for £22.50 expensive, all cooked to order, freshly bought in daily !!
I can asure you that I do not sit at the bottom of the restuarant and sing, your remaks are offensive!! As for a "lean to" conservatory I take it you are a master builder - not!! Another uncalled for and offensive remark
Sleeping on pallets!! If you thought the bed was that bad why not speak up !!
There is sky sports & movies in ALL rooms and a choice of another 80 odd channels!!
As for hogging the bar area another load of rubblish!!
The wife ( you presume) is the one writing this reply and I feel this is more a personal attack from you than constructive critisisim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We went for a meal here as is it was the nearest restaurant to where we were staying, what a fabulous meal we had it was so good we returned the following night to repeat the experience, we were bowled over by the hospitality of Ted and Dot, our only regret was that we weren't staying at this little bit of paradise on the outskirts of edinburgh, but if we ever return to that neck of the woods we wouldn't even bother to shop around we would just book in here. We were travelling with our american coursins from Oregon we all said that this had made our holiday. Thankyou once again Ted and Dot for making our trip. Elaine and Steve Peterborough

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.1 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#42 of 392 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
688 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#24 of 392 in Edinburgh
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 392 in Edinburgh
750 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#32 of 392 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#102 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge

Property: Aaron Lodge
Address: 128 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 10 en-suite rooms including 1 single room, 3 double rooms and 6 rooms with kig size beds. All rooms are modern and include colour LCD TV (Freeview, Sky & BT Sport), telephone, safe and power shower. Residents bar, free car parking, disabled facilities and free Wi-Fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aaron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Edinburgh
Aaron Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing