We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mick H”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aaron Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aaron Lodge
Ranked #31 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
aiskew
2 reviews
“Mick H”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned home after spending 3 nights at Aaron Lodge on our first visit to Edinburgh over the period 8-11 October 2013. We found the accommodation to be first class. The evening meal we had in the restaurant was as Ted said, a 5 star meal at 3 star prices. We found Ted and Dot to be excellent hosts. We are looking forward to returning next year as like Ted and Dot we found Edinburgh to be a great place to visit. Our visit was way to short to experience all that Edinburgh has to offer. Scotland should be proud of their Capital City. We found the people of Edinburgh to be very friendly and ever so helpful. Finally I would definitely recommend Aaron Lodge as a great place to stay when visiting Edinburgh. For getting around the city, use Lothian buses they are the best way to travel around the Capital and the cheapest!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michalisAiskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    85
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
145
329
63
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

What a lovely friendly couple, made u feel very welcome. Lovely food. Great rooms, accommodated all our need couldn't do enough to help us. The conservatory was lovely to sit and have meals in. Double glazing makes it a quiet place to stay in.
Bruce an Lorraine Knight New Zealand

Room Tip: Huge ensuite, bus stop right out side. Highly recommend staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Ted and Dot were amazing host. Our meals were to die for. Our room was excellent. Queen size bed, en suite bathroom with large shower, we didn't want to leave. Free wifi . Huge tv x we will be back. Thx very much.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Went to Scotland for our Honeymoon and Edinburgh was our first stop. Ted gave us a wonderful welcome upon our arrival (which we needed after our 8+ hours of travel with little sleep in over 24 hours!). The room was great and the food better. My husband had Fish & Chips all over Scotland and still raves about how it was the best here. Ted even went out of his way to help us with Dinner on our second day when we arrived back to the Lodge late after getting turned around in the city. Fantastic place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 2pm on the Friday to be given a warm welcome by the owner, Ted. Our room was lovely, comfy bed, big tv, nice bathroom. Ted told us which buses to catch to get into town. We stayed 3 nights. Breakfast was great. Nice coffee, lovely bacon and lurpak butter instead of the usual cheap stuff. Wouldn't hesitate to return if we come back to Edinburgh. Many thanks to our hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildeydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I originally found Aaron Lodge on Tripadvisor and after reading several reviews decided to take a chance and booked 3 nights during our Edinburgh stay. I can honestly say, I wasn't really disappointed. I was initially worried that the location would be a problem being outside the city limits, however the bus into Edinburgh City stopped right outside with only a 10-15 minute drive. Just make sure you get on the right bus coming back! The room was lovely with everything provided, even down to bathrobes and slippers. The walls may be a little thin as there was a bit of noise from above and next door, but nothing to be too concerned about. Breakfast choice was fine however perhaps the 1 hour time window could be extended. We dined in the restaurant on two occasions, there was a variety of choice from the 3 course menu, the meals were substantial and tasty. Ted and Dot, our hosts, were friendly and happy to oblige. Can I just suggest that when advising bus times and numbers, that perhaps it is stressed that to get back to the B&B after a long day, you make sure you get on the bus on the opposite side to where you originally got off in the morning. Some might say, commonsense prevails, but when you are a stranger in a city, accurate directions are essential. All in all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64sarahb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here simply as a stopover prior to being picked up for a tour we were doing in the Highlands. As such, the location didn't play into it for us, although for me, it is too far away from the action to seriously consider for a longer-term stay.

The place itself was average to good. We had to stay in the overflow area down the road since someone (ostensibly, our tour operator) neglected to say we were two couples, as opposed to two people. Not a problem, since "Father Ted", as he called himself, was perfectly happy to drive us to and from this spot as required. He also provided us with some lively entertainment in the form of stories and jokes and noted that his restaurant is the best in Edinburgh (we reserved judgment for this).

The room itself was quite clean and comfortable, although we did hear quite a bit of noise from other guests.

Dinner in the restaurant was actually quite good, and I have no problem recommending it.

Breakfast the next morning was fine, with good variety, but nothing much stands out about it.

For our purposes, this was a fine place to stay. We quite enjoyed the personality and wit of our host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTravelLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
3.4 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#184 of 444 in Edinburgh
117 reviews
4.1 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#39 of 444 in Edinburgh
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Kellerstain Stables B&B
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#34 of 444 in Edinburgh
143 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#35 of 444 in Edinburgh
456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#36 of 444 in Edinburgh
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge

Property: Aaron Lodge
Address: 128 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 10 en-suite rooms including 1 single room, 3 double rooms and 6 rooms with kig size beds. All rooms are modern and include colour LCD TV (Freeview, Sky & BT Sport), telephone, safe and power shower. Residents bar, free car parking, disabled facilities and free Wi-Fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aaron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Edinburgh
Aaron Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing