We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel,perfect hosts”
Review of Aaron Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aaron Lodge
Ranked #34 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for three nights celebrating friends 50th birthday. We were impressed with the quality of rooms, what you see on website is definitely what you get, extremely clean and spacious. We decided to eat in restaurant on the first night after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed, food was to die for and excellent value for money. Ted and Dot were the perfect hosts and went out of their way to make our weekend special. They recommended restaurants for us to eat, booked tables for us and ordered taxis and every meal was superb. Edinburgh is a fantastic city and will definitely stay at Aaron Lodge on our next visit

Room Tip: We booked three rooms, all of which were a very high standard
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Aaron Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is the first review that I have written for a place I have not visited. However, there is a reason for the review. We booked Aaron Lodge specifically for parking, large beds and good reviews. Three days before our visit we were told that the rooms had been double booked. We were also told that a replacement guest house had been booked. We were told that the replacement had large beds and free parking. In fact, there were two parking spaces and we had to share a standard double bed. Very disappointing.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Keith4529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron Lodge G, Owner at Aaron Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We cancelled this booking through the official channels as we did not have the rooms requested by them giving them 72 hours notice
We did inform the guest of the alternative 4 star guest house and booked them in on there own approval.
We them the name address and location and this gave them every opportunity to cancel if they wanted
I am sure they checked the guest house out before going to stay
We did inform them that parking is first come first serve basis as is with most establishments
I feel that these comments should not be allowed on to the web site

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed for 8 nights while my husband had his operation at the royal infirmary which is why I chose the Aaron Lodge because it's within a 5 min walk.a very handy bus stop right outside to take you into town. The rooms are beautiful,the food was lovely,Ted and dot were so kind,great friendly people. A very good choice of place to stay will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I stayed over-night at the Lodge ,Ted & Dot are great hosts , room was large and very well kept , with the rest of the accom of a high standard , a tip for anyone thinking of staying here , you have got to stay for an evening meal , the menu is of a very high quality , it would put some class hotels to shame , it is honestly that good .
Would stay here again without hesitation .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainMacFarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed for two nights in October. Room was large and at the back so very quiet. Ted welcmed us, showed us the room and gave information how to get into the city and where the local shops were. Adequate breakfast. Parking on site

Room Tip: Room 3 at the back of the hotel. Very large and comfortable. Unable to get WIFI reception in the roo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night to go to the theatre in the city. The hotel is on the outskirts of Edinburgh city with a bus stop right beside it. We took taxi's in and out to save any confusion of where to get on and off etc. The taxi was around £12. There is no reception as such and we were met in the car park by a pleasant lady who showed us how to use the door and where are room was etc.

The room was nice, very clean with a large tv, clothes hanging area, dressing table, tv/coffee making facilities etc. The window was open when we went in and I thought it may be an issue as the noise from the traffic (the hotel is on a busy road) may be an issue, however, as soon as the window was closed all was quiet. The bathroom had a large shower that was reasonably powerful, was clean and modern with enough towels etc.

Breakfast was a buffet with a selection of fruits, cheese etc as well as some cooked items that were good. The hotel also provide newspapers in the lobby for you to read.

Overall it was certainly worth what we paid for it and we would stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank shorthaul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is the third time we've been back to Aaron Lodge and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Edinburgh. Ted and Dot are wonderfully welcoming and friendly people, even though they are incredibly busy, they find time for you. Accommodation is second to none and bedrooms are luxurious to say the least, in fact the accommodation is so well maintained, it still looks new. Breakfast is good and sets you up for the day after a comfortable night's sleep and fantastic, invigorating shower.

We also ate at the Conservatory Restaurant and the food is superb. We had a delicious meal and it was very good value for money.

We can highly recommend this accommodation. If you go to Edinburgh, then you should stay at Aaron Lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel for getting into the city...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentkeaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.1 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#38 of 393 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#48 of 393 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#8 of 393 in Edinburgh
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#14 of 393 in Edinburgh
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#41 of 393 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
6.0 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#78 of 393 in Edinburgh
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge

Address: 128 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £62 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 10 en-suite rooms including 1 single room, 3 double rooms and 6 rooms with kig size beds. All rooms are modern and include colour LCD TV (Freeview, Sky & BT Sport), telephone, safe and power shower. Residents bar, free car parking, disabled facilities and free Wi-Fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aaron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Edinburgh
Aaron Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing