We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Aaron Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aaron Lodge
Ranked #34 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

•I Have recently stayed at this hotel with my daughter which was recommended by a good friend of mine,Ted and his wife were great hosts and nothing was a bother.

Fantastic hotel, amazing facilities and breakfast was delicious. Room was massive, many added extras, dressing gowns, slippers, tea and coffee all provided, walk in shower bathroom was fab! Best shower i have had in a long time. Very clean throughout, parking facilities to the rear and bus stops outside! £3.50 for a day ticket per person. Make sure you have the correct money, bus drivers in Edinburgh dont carry change, if you dont have the correct money, you cant get on the bus!
The only down side for me was that they had a lovely bar area and I would have liked to have used the facilities of the bar and restaurant but understand that they need to have a night off.
I will definately be returning to this hotel and will be recommending it to my friends

Janet and Amy Young

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I with my husband spent a weekend (3 nights) in Edinburgh this month and after reading all the reviews, picked Aaron Lodge.The room was beautifully, large and comfy with great super kingsize beds and good bathrooms with real power showers. Breakfast was delicious with nice selection of cooked breakfast, toast, tea, coffee, cereals, cheese, yogurt's, juices and fruit. The place looks spotlessly clean and fantastic.The owners Ted and Dot were amazing made my stay so enjoyable, could not be more helpful. Absolutely lovely and relaxed which made us feel very much at home.Very good value for money. Very glad to say we weren't disappointed.We will definitely go back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Ted & dot are lovely hosts, nothing is the bother to them, the rooms and bathroom, to a very high standard, staff really pleasant! The food in the restaurant , excellant ( ronnie the chef )! Nice and handy to the city centre, just leave the car at the hotel, and hop on the regular bus sevice, i wouldnt stay anywhere else in edinburgh, stew!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewmullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed in February for three nights in Aaron Lodge, great location, rooms are fabulous and spacious, very modern bathroom with shower. The place was so clean, just spotless. We had wonderfully breakfast every morning, freshly cooked.
I would highly recommend anyone to stay at Aaron Lodge.Looking forward to come back.Thanks again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siyana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Aaron Lodge and all it offers has to be experienced. The location is perfect for parking your car and enjoying the convenience of the bus route into Edinburgh. The thought and attention to detail which the owners have lavished on this stylish, comfortable yet friendly hotel is clear as soon as you walk in, the rooms are decorated to the highest standard and every guests need is attended to and considered. The experience of the owners in understanding the needs of their guests is clear - the conservatory restaurant is lovely and the atmosphere throughout is relaxing and welcoming. We love Edinburgh and all it offers but a large part the pleasure is knowing that we will be based at Aaron Lodge. Cant wait to go back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NajuManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

It is obviously many years since this place was in the condition as presented on it's website! In general I found the rooms to be somewhat tired. The bathroom had so many broken floor tiles that it resembled crazy paving! The place has a rather un-loved atmosphere and I was left feeling somewhat disappointed and cheated as their website makes it sound wonderful.

Plus points - good powerful shower, reasonably comfortable beds, good levels of cleanliness reasonable buffet breakfast (except for coffee which was lousy).
Minus points - very poor sound insulation between rooms and to the extremely busy main road which is literally 3 metres from the bedroom windows; noise; broken bathroom flooring; very limited and tight parking. Not very welcoming (never saw the elusive Dot and Ted)!

Overall poor value, I felt that some of the chain lodge style hotels would have been better value.

I definitely would not return.

Room Tip: Not sure what rooms are better but would think rooms at back may be quieter being away from busy mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank scottraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron Lodge G, Owner at Aaron Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Scott!!!
I find your comments very offensive
All our rooms are looked after to a high standard and to say they are tired, dated and unloved is totally inappropriate
The photos you see on our web page and others where taken in Janauary 2014
The parking is for 10 cars so limited !!!!!
We where on holiday at the time so find it difficult to reply to what has been said
In our opinion the comments look like they have been said to harm our business but hopefully others will look our overall reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After reading all the good reviews about Aaron lodge I decided to book this place for our valentines weekend to Edinburgh which was our first visit to the city. But after staying here for 2 nights me & my partner left with very mixed emotions about this place. Firstly, we booked this place because of the secure parking included and yes, there is parking however it is ample to say the least (5 cars max). It is also very tight to get parked! On arrival we seen some lady was stood at the door, she didn't introduce herself just told us to come this way. I was a bit taken back to see there was no reception area which was a little awkward for check out at the end of the weekend. We felt a little lost as we had never been to Edinburgh before and would have liked to have had some advice. I do not know who we were greeted by or who was at breakfast each morning but I am pretty sure we did not meet any Ted or Dot which is a shame because they seem like lovely people from others reviews. According to the book in the room wifi is included, but we couldn't get connected all weekend. There was a phone in the room which wasn't even plugged in. The guest bar was also shut as well as the conservatory restaurant (only open at breakfast time). So as you can imagine we felt a little deflated staying here. However, I must say the rooms were lovely and spacious. The bathroom was decorated to a high standard with a great power shower. On the other hand, the walls are paper thin! We could here the couple in the room next door having a conversation but that's not all.. We were on the bottom floor in room number 2 so we had to suffer the noise from upstairs guests and I have never heard squeaky floorboards like it. It was ridiculous, we heard every little movement. Even when they were wandering around at 2am in the morning and 7am on the Sunday morning. The breakfast was fine, buffet style with plenty to choose from & the apple juice in particular was lovely! We didn't feel 'looked after' as such and also felt like there was no point of contact throughout our whole stay. On a whole I would not stay here again & will be looking to book elsewhere when we visit Edinburgh again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room upstairs if you want to get some sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Garfield Guest House
#39 of 394 in Edinburgh
356 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#53 of 394 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sonas Guest House
#32 of 394 in Edinburgh
245 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#46 of 394 in Edinburgh
202 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge

Address: 128 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 10 en-suite rooms including 1 single room, 3 double rooms and 6 rooms with kig size beds. All rooms are modern and include colour LCD TV (Freeview, Sky & BT Sport), telephone, safe and power shower. Residents bar, free car parking, disabled facilities and free Wi-Fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aaron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Edinburgh
Aaron Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing