We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccommend”
Review of Aaron Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aaron Lodge
Ranked #30 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly reccommend”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight whilst touring on a short break and were more than pleased with the accommodation. Ted and Dot are very friendly and nothing was a trouble. The room was spotless and lovely bathroom. Everyone is made to feel more than welcome and it is situated very close to centre of Edinburgh. There is also a very good bus service just outside the door if you want to leave your car - parking available at the Lodge (5 minutes into centre including stops). We had our evening meal at the Lodge and it was really good. Would definitely return if we were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoobyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    89
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
147
335
64
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

From the moment we arrived (for an overnight stay to see a concert) we were made to feel very welcome. Nothing too much trouble, and the room was as good as, if not better than, some of the 'big' hotels in the city centre. Plus car parking - bonus! To find the special touches such as slippers, robes, in-room safe, in a smaller establishment was really a lovely surprise. The breakfast was great, and I would have no hesitation in staying here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Due to stressful visit to ERI due to my husband's illness, my daughter and I were put in touch with Ted and Dot at the Aaron Lodge. They could not have been kinder. Ted collected us at ERI and drove us to the guest house. We were given an exquisite room with beautiful marble en suite shower room. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed wonderful service and the breakfasts and evening meals could not be faulted. Ted delivered us back to ERI at the end of our stay to collect our cars. Ted and Dot, you are angels. Thank you xx

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for a week at the Aaron Lodge, Edinburgh. I cannot speak highly enough of the friendly hospitality of the owners Ted and Dot and their wilingness to assist in any way possible. The advantage of their local knowledge was most helpful and freely given by both Ted and Dot they are excellent hosts. The room we stayed in was clean and very well presented, we could not fault it. Its very close to a good bus service if you want to go into the city centre which we did. Staying at the Aaron Lodge made our stay in Edinburgh very enjoyable and we will certainly be staying there again on our next visit to Edinburgh. Thank you Ted and Dot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We booked our mother in to this establishment between 19th and 23rd February 2014 because she wanted to be near our father who was going through major surgery in Edinburgh Royal Hospital. Immediately on realising my elderly mother walked with the aid of a stick she was relocated to the ground floor. Breakfast was excellent and the condition of the bedrooms is beautiful giving absolutely no concern about the standard of provision. Throughout her stay she was treated with dignity and respect commensurate with her age. In addition above the call of duty Margaret the enthusiastic and for ever helpful house keeper drove my mother to the hospital on a couple of occasions. As the family live 80 miles away this was an excellent gesture we discovered from my mother that she was extremely pleased with her accommodation and the way she was treated throughout offered her comfort and us reassurance during her stay. Thank you very much Margaret and Aaron Lodge.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are fitted out to a very high standard and would meet you individual of group needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunkyboyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have just returned from a business trip which was made so much more easier having had the absolute pleasure in staying overnight in this wonderful establishment !
I can honestly say it has been one of the nicest places I have ever stayed.
The staff were so welcoming, attentive and accommodating ... Nothing was a bother, and they went out their way to assist me with my travel the next day!
A beautifully decorated, well maintained hotel that has missed on nothing in providing total comfort, relaxation right down to the robes and slippers.
I felt very easily ' chillaxed' in such a homely comfortable room. I highly recommend a stay in this place.
Thank you !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishwellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

From the friendly welcome (!), yes I am a good driver Ted!, to the minute we left there is really nothing we could fault about Aaron Lodge. Ted and Dot are excellent hosts; our room was large, clean, cosy, comfortable and beautifully presented; the bathroom was also big with a great shower. There was a couple of minor points with the bathroom that we discussed with Ted as we were leaving and he agreed that they should be rectified. But they certainly in no way impinged on our stay here. Breakfast was great. We have found on our travels that buffet breakfasts tend to be warm to cool, but not here. Thoroughly enjoyed both breakfasts.
The Aaron is a bit out of the city centre but there is a good bus service with a stop almost outside the door.
When we venture back to Edinburgh and are in need of accommodation this will be our first port of call. Thanks to all at Aaron Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
706 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 392 in Edinburgh
355 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 392 in Edinburgh
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
821 reviews
Edinburgh Sixteen
#101 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge

Property: Aaron Lodge
Address: 128 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 10 en-suite rooms including 1 single room, 3 double rooms and 6 rooms with kig size beds. All rooms are modern and include colour LCD TV (Freeview, Sky & BT Sport), telephone, safe and power shower. Residents bar, free car parking, disabled facilities and free Wi-Fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aaron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Edinburgh
Aaron Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing