We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous little gem on the edingburgh landscape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aaron Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Aaron Lodge
Ranked #36 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous little gem on the edingburgh landscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

this fabulous little hotel is a sparkling gem on scotlands landscape. we have stayed many times & each stay just gets better!! they have opened up the conservatory into a delightful restaurant serving excellent food from the hands of a very talented chef!! the hospitality from the owners ted & dot is unique. you will never be able to be made feel more welcome than you do here. the accomodation is first class & attention to detail makes it that little bit extra special!!we are looking forward to our next stay with them next month.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank teddyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    84
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
142
328
63
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

The rooms are modern and equipped with everything you may need, including a wide screen TV. The conservatory is spacious and extremely bright & comfortable. Our hosts (Dot & Ted) were always there for us when we needed them. Not only are the facilities great, but the location is perfect - close to both downtown and the city bi-pass.
We are looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

Rose, Rob & George - Ontario, Canada

  • Liked — Modern and very cleanly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RPRGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

We rushed from the U.S. to be with our daughter who was critically ill at the Royal Infirmary. Two persons there recommended Aaron Lodge as a good place to stay, and they were correct! It was a short walk between the lodge and hospital. Hosts Ted and Dot were very kind during our difficult time, helping in several special ways far beyond what would normally be expected.
Our room was modern and very comfortable. The breakfast food was excellent, and the dining area very nice. The free wireless access was good quality, so that communication with family and making of necessary arrangements were convenient.
We recommend Aaron Lodge for visitors who come to Edinburgh for any of the usual travel purposes, but especially to those with loved ones or business at the Royal Infirmary.

  • Liked — Location, helpfulness of hosts
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BYUfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

My family and I are from South Africa and were doing a trip around the Uk and Ireland. We had planned to stop in Edinburgh to see the Castle and ended up staying for 3 DAYS thanks to Ted and Dot. A truly friendly face and welcome greeted us like we were family, and i still say the best decision of our whole trip was turning into Aaron Lodge (by complete chance). Ted was wonderful. As we arrived he was so very helpful and attentive and spent the whole night telling us stories of Scotland and being our tour guide of Edinburgh. For South Africans in a strange land and culture we could not have asked for more. He suggested the best places to visit and even drew us a map and told us the bus routes!! The rooms were 5* quality, honestly, classy and luxurious, with all those little extra touches that make you never want to leave!! Perfect for either a honeymoon or coming back after a long day of sightseeing. The food was fabulous, as was the service during meals, we literally couldnt have asked for more. My birthday happened to be on one of the days we were staying there and i got a nice big supprise chocolate cake and the whole restaurant singing me happy birthday. Ted even made us some of the famous Haggis which we had never tried, he made Scotland a truly magical and unique experience for us and i couldnt thank him enough for that. I wholly suggest Aaron Lodge for a true Scottish experience.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — N.A
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank denza_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

My partner and i stayed at the aaron lodge over new year. We had an amazing time. The hotel was great. Stylish rooms with a huge bed! The owners were very friendly Ted an Dot. The welcome we got and the service throughout was exceptional. I definatley intend to go back to Edinburgh for Hogmany next year. Unbelievable and we will certainly be returning to the aaron lodge. Would reccomend to anybody.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank manchesterrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

We spent the night at Aaron Lodge with my parents after spending a long hard day viewing potential wedding venues in and around Endinburgh.
I loved the lodges caption of 5* accomodation at 3* rates. It was absolutely true and it met every expectation.
My mother is, lets say, a little fussy when it comes to accomodation and cleanliness of hotels etc. We were all very pleased with the warm welcome recieved, the very high standard of the rooms, the comfort of the rooms, and the breakfast was really tasty. All the areas including the communal areas were very clean and tidy and well presented. The beds were really comfy and were huge! The bathrooms were miniture palaces with led lighting and walk in showers.
Overall the accomodation and service was to a very high standard throughout and I will definately be stopping there again when next up in the area. The lodge is ideally located for Edinburgh city centre too, so its a great place to stop if you are sight seeing or have a night out.

  • Liked — Luxury for a small price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Marc_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

My family and myself stayed overnight on Saturday 13th of December 2008. On arrival we received a truly warm welcome from the hosts Ted and Dot. Our rooms were very spacious and very clean. We decided to have the evening meal at the hotel as it was the Christmas menu and what excellent value and standard it was too. We would recommend this place to anyone !!

  • Liked — Cleanliness,spaciousness, freindly hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank White-family-Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#183 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aaran Lodge
Aaran Lodge
#103 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.1 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#40 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
6.0 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#93 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#30 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge

Property: Aaron Lodge
Address: 128 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 10 en-suite rooms including 1 single room, 3 double rooms and 6 rooms with kig size beds. All rooms are modern and include colour LCD TV (Freeview, Sky & BT Sport), telephone, safe and power shower. Residents bar, free car parking, disabled facilities and free Wi-Fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Aaron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Edinburgh
Aaron Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing