We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nicolson Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“short break”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We visited Edinburgh with the family so that our daughter could attend a university open day. It gave us the opportunity to have a look around the city together. The apartment had 2 double bedrooms, the whole place was spotless and well furnished with everything you could need. There is no lift and the stairs are steep - we were on the top floor!
Excellent location for many of the University faculty buildings and so that couldn't have been more convenient. Good to know there is a Tesco local literally at the end of the street and its an easy walk into town and all the restaurants etc.
Weather was very very cold so it was great to be able to simply switch on the heating as we arrived.
It wasn't cheap but compared with two hotel rooms it was good value for money and great to have living space and a kitchen. We will certainly use these apartments again if our daughter attends university here.

Room Tip: the stairs could be a problem if on the top floor - especially with lots of luggage or older guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    52
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
51
28
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hengoed
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great apartments - we stayed in 35 Drummond Street. Starting to look a little drab, but will only need a touch of decoration to brighten up the place. Be Warned Parking is not included and can cost at least £15 per 24hrs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonandTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We booked the one bed apartment which is on the top floor. the apartment was spotless on arrival, beautifully decorated and had all mod-cons, including a flat screen television, dvd player, dishwasher and fully equipped kitchen.

The location is perfect for quick access to the Royal Mile and there are plenty of good bars, cafes and restaurants in the vicinity with a 24 hour shop at the end of the street.

They have a handy system for collecting the keys if your arrival to Edinburgh is late and beyond the office opening hours. Outside the office (on the royal Mile) there are little deposit boxes which contain the keys and are activated by the code you are given at the time of making a reservation.

If you do not like stairs this is not the apartment for you as it is located on the top floor with no lift and therefore, 4 flights of stairs stand between you and the apartment. If like myself and my boyfriend, this does not bother you (good way of working off the famous Edinburgh Fudge) I would highly recommend this accommodation and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyMcFadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I stayed at this place the 26th-28th of Oct 2011, it was listed as a 4 star Superior Non-Smoking Two Bedroom Apartment with City View. Room Only.

Ok there was no city veiw but a roof, and a wall. There was holes through out in the carpet, they but the entire builds wi-fi hub in the flats hallway so there was wires, and power strips everywhere (thats why there was holes in the carpet to run the wi-fi cables. There was no freezer as listed, and half the cultery times were missing or broken. There was mold in the shower, and the shower button was broken so you had to hold the on button to take a shower. The commen areas were complety flithy, and the only way to lock the door from the inside was with a key. The beds were so awful my wife and I slept on the couch, also all the fire alarm panel were broken, or painted over to try and hide them.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattandPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We had a one bed apartment on the top floor.tough climb up the stairs-Scott's monument is a breeze in comparison.sloping ceilings means very little space in the living/bedroom section.hit my head a number of times.very noisy from wind and busy street level.do not expect much sleep if you sleep anyway light.wi fi is quite good but not sure you wud want to stay around. Shower fan must be on the way out as it sounds like a jack hammer.id say avoid the top floor,maybe the lower levels are better.certainly better value elsewhere I'd say.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauricmcgowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Was staying on West Nicolson Street in a 2 person flat on the first floor. Impeccable quality of flat at a good price, very tidy and just what was needed for a week long trip with a colleague.

Sound proofing between flats is great, couldn't hear anything around me. As I lived in Edinburgh in that area before I knew there were plenty of drunk students who wander that street and slept well. But don't be alarmed if people yell late night or such on their way home from a night out.

Excellent flat, free wifi and right in the centre of the University area - 10 minutes on foot to Princes Street tops, 10-15 minutes to the Filmhouse and 5 to the Festival Theatre. All good!

Room Tip: Aim for a higher floor flat, that'll remove most of the noise at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liceas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

we stayed here for one night and i wish we could have stayed longer. The apartment was modern, clean, and quiet. The room had a nice living room area with a flat screen tv and dvd player. The kitchen was great and fully stocked with appliances, plates, cups, kettle, tea, coffee, and cooking tools. The bathroom was also nice and large with everything you need. The staff was helpful in assiting us with luggage storage and helping us get our keys since we arrived after hours. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richasa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#35 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Richmond Place Apartments
Richmond Place Apartments
#24 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Lady Nicolson Court
Lady Nicolson Court
#118 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
#65 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Old Town
St Giles Apartments
St Giles Apartments
#21 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicolson Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolson Apartments

Property: Nicolson Apartments
Address: 28 West Nicolson Street, Edinburgh EH8 9DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nicolson Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city Nicolson luxury self-catering residences offer a stylish and unique base to explore all our city has to offer. These spacious apartments are tastefully decorated using neutral décor with traditional Scottish furnishings to create a warm and relaxing atmosphere. All are situated only a few minutes’ walk from some of Edinburgh’s major attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, the Scottish Museum and are located just around the corner from Edinburgh University.Each apartment has a living room with dining area, modern tiled bathroom, well equipped kitchen, luxurious bedroom(s), cable TV, a DVD player, washing machine, dishwasher and hairdryer as well as soft fluffy towels and fantastic quality Egyptian cotton linen. We can also provide cots and high chairs if required.To complete your home away from home we also provide complimentary sea kelp toiletries from the Scottish Fine Soap Company as well as tea, coffee, mineral water and orange juice to help you settle in.Whether you are visiting for work, play, a family holiday or a romantic break away we have an exclusive private residence to suit your needs. Apartment Facilities:Iron, ironing Board, washing machine, heating, hairdryer, complimentary sea kelp toiletries from the Scottish Fine Soap Company, bathroom with bath or shower, TV, DVD player, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, electric kettle, cooking equipment and crockery, additional blankets. Cots and high chairs can be supplied upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Nicolson Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolson Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Nicolson Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing