We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full marks. "Again"”
Review of Albyn Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albyn Townhouse
Ranked #11 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Full marks. "Again"”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My partner and I have had the pleasure of staying here now three times. The service and warm welcome never cease to impress us both. Lydie and David and their team make it a pleasure. The rooms are of the highest standard with a fantastic french arty chic running through out. See you all soon again at The Albyn. Simon & Stephen.x

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    49
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
65
319
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here on June 24 2011. We found it on the internet, and after speaking to Lydie on the phone, I booked it. It was everything Lydie said it would be and much, much more. The room was absolutely stunning, Lydie, David and baby girl were delightful. Nothing was too much trouble. The room had all the frills ie teas, coffees and nice complementary bathroom products. We booked this at the last minute and were so sorry we had already booked elsewhere for after our return from our Rabbies Tour. If we go back to Edinburgh we won't bother going anywhere else. Peter and Lyn from Western Australia

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockygriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Splendid hosts,superb service throughout our stay and really comfortable rooms.What more do you need on a weekend break?This is our third stay and it just keeps getting better,another room to knock off our list!! you are made to feel welcome from the moment you walk in,you just want to don your slippers and chill out.Breakfast is outstanding and if you leave hungry you only have yourself to blame as apart from your cereals,juice,and breakfast, toast and coffee just keeps coming!!A very short walk from princess street and all the delights it has to offer its an ideal base.thanks for another memorable stay and see you when it gets warmer!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyB10768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I love this place because of the friendly atmosphere it has. It is so close to good feed as well as convenient enough to walk to and from Edinburgh Castle. The place has got a character of it's own and I admire the french taste. I had a spacious room and my breakfast was fantastic. Do try the savoury pancakes or the sweet pancakes - they are both lovely. I will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodelus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Well appointed,comfortable and immaculately serviced room ;super breakfasts with lots of choice;delightful and friendly staff.My partner and I stayed three nights and felt welcome and at home from the moment we arrived.A faultless stay .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Branch, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is a very comfortable B&B in a quiet neighborhood. We had a nice big room with a good sized bathroom. The breakfasts were excellent! It is a bit of a walk to the city center but it is a pleasant walk through a big park with interesting views of the city. There are a number of very good restaurants in the neighborhood. I would love to return to Edinburgh and would choose to stay in this B&B again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daylily984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Superb B&B! Friendly welcome, beautiful decor, and a delightful dining room which feels just like a Parisian Bistro. Excellent breakfast. Set in an ideal location on a quiet residential street with restaurants, coffee shops and bars just around the corner, and just a short taxi journey from the City Centre. Will definitely stay again, and take my family next time!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8 - a double room on the top floor with a good view of Edinburgh Castle and the Firth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCP186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albyn Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albyn Townhouse

Property: Albyn Townhouse
Address: 16 Hartington Gardens | off viewforth, Edinburgh EH10 4LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albyn Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian townhouse 20 min walk to Old Town & all attractions. All en-suite quiet rooms, freeview TVs, Wifi, Visit Scotland Taste Our Best Award winning breakfasts also for veggies and vegans, lots of homemade goodies! Private parking £5.00 Per night. On parle Francais! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albyn Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albyn Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh
Albyn Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing