We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good accomodation”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The good:
-central accomodation
-fully equipped kitchen
-laundry machine (no dryer though). Laundry detergent is not provided


The not-so-good:
- The heat was turned off when we arrived, we had to figure out how to turn it on ourselves
- No room service on day-to-day basis
- No double beds (we had two twin beds put togeather when we slept)
-You have to take out the garbage at the end of stay (which is down the road, but still....you pay money for your stay, AND have to take out your own garbage?)
-WiFi did not work, despite multiple effots to reset it... the management was not helpful with this situation

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophia2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    65
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
64
26
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just got home from a 5 night stay in Edinburgh for the festival. Stayed at apartments at 7 Newington Road - apartment number 2. There was a mixed group of 5 of us, originally 6 but unfortunately one had to drop out. Booking process was easy, friendly and efficient. Any questions were quickly answered. IApartment spacious and very comfortable. Well equipped. Had 1 bathroom with shower over bath, toilet and sink and another shower room with sink. Perhaps would benefit from an additional toilet but not a major issue.

Tea, coffee and sugar were provided. As was all bedding and plenty of towels, kitchen cloths, washing liquid etc etc. Good location. It is a busy road so can be a little noisy with traffic. However plenty of bars, restaurants and shops nearby.

15-20 minute walk from station and the Royal Mile do very good location for all Edinburgh sights and festival venues. Plenty of buses pass regularly if you prefer not to walk.

Only downside was that apartment tended to be very warm with windows open. Perhaps some fans in the rooms would be a good addition.

Overall great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dangerranger71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at the apartments for 3 nights as we were visiting the Festival - ours was a 2- bedroom apartment on the top floor of no 7 and it was spacious, clean and very well equipped with free wi-fi. Our lounge/diner was huge with a big L-shaped sofa and the kitchen was lovely. Both bedrooms were a good size and one had an en-suite shower room. The main bathroom was nicely finished and had a bath with shower over. The apartments are about a 15-minute walk to the Royal Mile with no hills to negotiate and there are lots of shops, pubs and restaurants in the area, which also felt safe at night. A taxi was £5 one way. There is no parking on site but we were advised of an "easi-park" car park around 10 mins walk away which worked out OK. If we visit the Festival again, we will certainly look at these apartments!

Room Tip: The top floor apartments have a very large living space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wybunbury, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We are a family of two adults and four children and when looking for a place to stay for the Fringe festival we discovered this apartment. Perfect location, perfect price and bags of room for us all.

I wished we had booked for longer. The apartment was very clean and the beds very comfortable.

We will be booking this again when we come up for the Rugby with our friends and will also be booking a longer stay for the Fringe 2013

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
192 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

These are very nice centrally located apartments. Very clean and fully equipped. We stayed there two times first in one room apartment and then in a two room apartment and both were excellent with ample space.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have problem of stairs or have heavy bags, try to get apartment of ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Atycoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed at apartment 7-2 (three twin-beds-made-up-as-doubles, two shower, one toilet) for one night in stormy June. Met by apartment manager who was very friendly and helpful, gave us a map, showed us where we were and some places for dinner, explained the heating etc. He had been in earlier and turned the heating on, which was lovely! The apartment is huge for central Edinburgh - dining room has 8 seat dining table and still plenty of room, and lounge has three massive comfortable couches and still lots of room. New flat screen tv, ipod dock, washing machine, fridge with separate freezer, wardrobes, dressing tables - everything you wanted all in good condition. Rooms are noisy - but this didn't bother any of us and we all slept well on very comfortable beds. A fantastic stay and highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Transcontinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A group of us stayed in numbers 1 and 3 at Southside Superior apartments last weekend and they were just great. The accommodation is clean, well stocked and in easy walking distance of the Royal Mile as well as being in a great area of the city. There is a Sainsburys just a couple of minutes walk away as well as local bars and restaurants being in easy reach. There is also a newsagents next door for any little bits you need - very handy!

In apartment 1, there are two double rooms and a twin room. One of the double rooms has an en suite bathroom with a shower which is clean and modern. The bathroom for the others is also a good size with a bath with a shower. The flats come with plenty of towels and bedding etc and there was a sofa bed in the kitchen/living room. We had access to the back yard which was really lovely to have. (It's a good little sun trap!)

The apartments are a 5 - 10 minute taxi ride from the train station and approximately a 20 minute walk to the Royal Mile. It was such a great location and we will definitely stay there again when we visit.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the building are less noisy as some nights there was music going on into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyK805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#76 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Southside Guest House
#54 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strathallan Guest House
#58 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#6 of 202 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments

Property: Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
Address: 7 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choice of: 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Apartments/Garden Apartments. Building was originally used as a Casino! All newly & beautifully refurbished to a high standard Inc: Plasma screens / Wi Fi etc. Still have many original features - Ornate plaster work, high ceilings, large windows and wooden floors. Large rooms, very light and airy. Awarded 4* Grading by VisitScotland. Close to: the Meadows/Holyrood Park, Arthurs seat, the University and Edinburgh's Commonwealth Pool. All rates INC : Tea/Coffee/Milk. 5 Mins walk from Supermarket. 7 Mins walk to Royal Mile. 12 Mins walk to Princes St. On great bus route to all over the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southside Superior Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing