We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room for the weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great room for the weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I was on a stag do to Edinburgh and with not being involved with the booking I didn't know what to expect till I got there. After being given the code upon arrival we entered the 2 apartments we booked and were welcomed with a fresh smelling and clean living area. The rooms were lovely high ceilings with detailed cornice and modern/contemporary with everything needed including iron and board, hairdryer, TV, DVD etc etc. We stayed 2 nights and the heating was mega so no expense spared to keep you warm. I would recommend these rooms to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 3 upstairs is the better room and lounge - I think it was room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonster28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    63
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
62
25
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

By the time we arrived it was already dark and the apartment was difficult to find at first as the entrance door was right in between a pub and a newsagent. Gary who checked us in was very helpful and showed us the nearest supermarkets and where to park our car (5 mins walk away for a fee). The apartment was spacious, very clean and it had everything we needed, fully equipped kitchen, washer and more than enough beddings/duvet. The beds were comfortable and the sofa was equally nice. The only negative comment that I have is the rug in the living room - it looked really worn out and tarnished with stains. Overall, we had a lovely time staying at the apartment and would not hesitate to recommend this to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorashikinSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived earlier than the agreed time to the apartment but we called the office and they gave us a code to come in from the cold and let ourselves in until the manager came to fill in forms and give us info. This accommodation (1 and 2) was perfect for the hen party. It was spacious, clean and modern. Always hot water available and even with high cealings we found it was warm enough for when we were there, there was extra bedding available for those who did feel cold. Just across the road was a lovely chinese takeaway which I do recommend. A few shops around to top up on wine purchases etc and public transport straight into Edinburgh centre which was only about 10 mins away. It was only about 6 pounds in a black cab from the train station. With it being on a main road, and a pub below it could be noisy for those people who sleep lightly. So take some ear plugs. Other than that. Fab place. Would highly recommend it. And would definitely use them again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MichelleEThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed here for my hen weekend as a party of 14. We had apartments 1 and 2 and they were absolutely fine. We telephoned and were given the access code and a few minutes later a lovely chap turned up to show us how everything worked and recommended some local takeaways. The apartments were really spacious, especially apartment one, the lounge/dining area could quite comfortably fit us all for an evening of girly games and chatting. The apartments were clean, warm, the beds were comfy and had everything we could possibly need, the security code system was easy and the location could not have been better. The apartments are really central and I would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The apartment is very nice, far exceeded my expectations. The kitchenette comes equipped with all the necc items to make the stay comfortable and Wendy, the lady who checked us in is very friendly and told us the nearest super markets, eateries, etc. Stayed there for three days and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
228 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had arranged to meet somebody at the apartment at 3pm. We waited inthe rain for 15 mnutes and then a lady mysteriously appeared ....a bit frustrating!
The apartment (number 3) is indeed a good size with 2 decent bedrooms. The living room is bright and airy with high ceilings. The bathroom needs some attention as there is a lot of paint peeling off. This is simply due to the fact that when you have a shower the water goes everywhere (very ineffective bath screen). Other than that it's fine - a 15-20 minute walk from all the shops and Royal Mile.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashthetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed at flat 3 7 Newington Road 20th -22nd October with my husband and 3 teenage children. The apartment was great- clean and spacious with good basic facilities. It would have been difficult to cook properly as there are a limited range of pots, pans etc. but for a short stay they are sufficient to prepare breakfasts and snacks. The flat was lovely and warm, I didn't catch the name of the person who greeted us but he was very friendly and helpful and gave us all the information we needed.
The only negative points I could suggest are that it is a bit awkward having to give an exact arrival time and pillow protectors on the pillows would be a good idea

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Southside Guest House
#55 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#25 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Southside & Holyrood
Richmond Place Apartments
Richmond Place Apartments
#24 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#6 of 214 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments

Property: Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
Address: 7 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choice of: 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Apartments/Garden Apartments. Building was originally used as a Casino! All newly & beautifully refurbished to a high standard Inc: Plasma screens / Wi Fi etc. Still have many original features - Ornate plaster work, high ceilings, large windows and wooden floors. Large rooms, very light and airy. Awarded 4* Grading by VisitScotland. Close to: the Meadows/Holyrood Park, Arthurs seat, the University and Edinburgh's Commonwealth Pool. All rates INC : Tea/Coffee/Milk. 5 Mins walk from Supermarket. 7 Mins walk to Royal Mile. 12 Mins walk to Princes St. On great bus route to all over the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southside Superior Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing