We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Ann, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We (myself, hubby, son, my mom) stayed at #11 Newington, Flat #2 for 3 nights in May 2014. This is a 2 bedroom apartment with a nice living area. There is a bus stop right outside the door, a grocery store down the street, and tons of restaurants and shopping nearby (or a short bus ride away). The kitchen is well-equipped with cooking implements and a gas stove. There is a clothes washer, but (strangely) no dryer. The couch in the living area was comfortable enough for our 20-year-old son to use as a bed. The bathroom is tiny but functional. Overall, I would definitely recommend this apartment.

Note: The entrance is tucked between an Indian restaurant and a convenience store and might be little tricky to find the first time.

Room Tip: Flat #2 is on the first floor (although the building itself is up a flight of steps from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamm516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    65
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
64
26
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We Stayed at 7-& 11 11 Newington Road,Newington
Edinburgh,superior south side apartments for 3 nights in first week of May 2014. The 3 bedroom unit was very spacious, with en-suite private W/C, ample room for an extra bed in the bedroom or common room Clean, very nicely decorated, well-equipped, in a quiet, central location --15 to 20min walk from the west end of Princess Street and Waverley train station. Everything worked, no complaints whatsoever. Reasonable price, considering it was the last week in here. Surroundings felt very safe. The staff was always prompt and accesible for email inquries prior to arrival. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafaideen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were met at the apartment at the exact time arranged and given a very informative and friendly welcome. The parking was very good and the apartment very spacious. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. There was a supermarket very close. Edinburgh Castle was a 15 minute walk so the location was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The apartment we got was the 11/1 and this review is specific to the apartment.

-ves:
Creaky floors (my daughter kept waking up in the night continuously)
Very horrible smell in the apartment. It smelt like like some drain cover was opened. We had to but odor killer and a perfume to mask it
Not clean (The carpet in the living room was dirty.My daughter who is crawling, could not)
Bathrooms not clean
Not anything as shown on the photos which was a big let down

Its not all negative though, the kitchen was sufficient and location is the best. Hence its ideal for planning to move around

Hopefully other apartments are better as we booked after looking at those reviews. The stay was quite ok due to the fact that weather was great for all 4 days and we remained outside most of the time.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 11/1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank few_expect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The apartment we got (11-3) is very spacious and beautiful. It has a dreamy lounge/living room with simple but elegant decoration. We really enjoy our stay and nothing to complain.

The location for the apartment is also very convenient with shops and supermarket around and a distance of 15-20 minute walk to city centre. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Love our stay. It is one of the best value for money we've ever stayed. Our group thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Email after booking to get the best room possible. We recommend the apartment 11-3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were greeted as soon as we arrived, even though we changed our arrival time twice! Parking was a 5 minute walk from the apartment (very reasonable charges). The rooms were clean and spacious. The kitchen was also clean, well equipped and compact. I felt right at home here. The only complaint I have is the floorboards are very squeaky on the top floor apartment, apart from that there were no faults at all with it! Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borris, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

No complaints at all. Perfectly functional kitchen with everything you need. Clean, warm, no problems with noise at night. Room i slept in had 2 beds, i was in it on my own and it was fine but would be pretty cramped for 2 ppl. My roommates shared a room and it was bigger and it was fine for them. WIFI is weak but worked fine for our needs. On a main shopping street, takeaways and restaurants every 10 feet it seemed! 5minute walk to a small Sainsburys supermarket, maybe 15minutes to a tesco. All on the same street. 20 minute walk into the main tourist area (royal mile).

We rang the number when we were outside the apartment, they gave us the code for the door so we could let ourselves in and then one of them met us 10 minutes later. Very pleasant to deal with, happy to answer questions etc.
We got Airlink bus from airport (4pounds per person) which drops you off at Waverly bridge. Taxi rank across the road, 5-7pounds for 5/6 minute trip to apartment.

TIP: several buses pass this apartment, bus stop just outside the apartment, take note/picture of the notice on it so you know what buses come your way for your return journey. Turn left and walk a little further down and then across the street for a bus stop for trips into town. Make use of the day ticket for 3.50pounds. You can use it several times throughout the day on all Lothian buses. Otherwise you pay 1.50pounds regardless of distance travelled each time you get on a bus. Unfortunately there is no indication what the next stop is when on a bus (none that we saw anyway) so keep your eyes peeled for landmarks, if in doubt get off and get on the next bus that comes along, having the day ticket is handy for this also.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#79 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Southside Guest House
#56 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strathallan Guest House
#58 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#6 of 203 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments

Property: Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
Address: 7 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choice of: 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Apartments/Garden Apartments. Building was originally used as a Casino! All newly & beautifully refurbished to a high standard Inc: Plasma screens / Wi Fi etc. Still have many original features - Ornate plaster work, high ceilings, large windows and wooden floors. Large rooms, very light and airy. Awarded 4* Grading by VisitScotland. Close to: the Meadows/Holyrood Park, Arthurs seat, the University and Edinburgh's Commonwealth Pool. All rates INC : Tea/Coffee/Milk. 5 Mins walk from Supermarket. 7 Mins walk to Royal Mile. 12 Mins walk to Princes St. On great bus route to all over the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southside Superior Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing