We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”

Ravensdown Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravensdown Guest House
Ranked #360 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

But we didn't expect it to be. The place was kept up nicely enough. Clean, tidy, the essentials. Breakfast was basic.

My husband dealt with the owner and was able to get some useful information to help us with our last day in Scotland. The lady who served us breakfast was nice enough.

If you were put in the front part of the house, you would have a lovely view of the castle.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank srm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
6
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

First impression was very good.Nice place,good location with great views from the top floor double room and a very nice bathroom. Breakfast was very basic and absolutely not what you would expect in a 3star accommodation with a £90,00 per room rate in December!! Also a bed the makes a sound everytime you move is not what we expected to get for the money.
On the day of departure we experienced the owner has a flexibility as a concrete block. I'm not going into this matter but ,in spite of the offer getting a discount on our next stay, we won't be back here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarrickBroadford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We were looking for B&B for a night and having stayed in Edinburgh years ago, I decided we would try Ravensdown. We drew up and there were vacancies, so we rang the bell and David made us very welcome. The rooms and public areas were very clean, warm and maintained to a high standard. Since it was 16 years since I had visited, he showed me the changes over the years.
He told us the bus routes into Edinburgh which represented good value (£1.40 each way) and reminded me of the main attractions.
Breakfast was ample.
We hope to visit again in the near future and would recommend this guest house

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I booked my family and my husband-to-be's family into The Ravensdown as it was just up the road from Leith Registry Office where we were getting married the following day. Unfortunately, when we were all out for dinner on the eve of our wedding, i fell and broke my ankle and was admitted to Edinburgh Royal Infirmary. All of our plans had to be re-arranged and our wedding took place a the Sanctuary Space at ERI instead of Leith Registry Office. My Daughter had to bring my wedding outfit over to the hospital. leaving her partner and my Mother at the Ravensdown, aiming to be back there for the 10 am get-out, she was delayed and received a call from them saying that they were out on the street, in the rain, with their suitcases as the owner had insisted that they leave by 10am! I had paid the bill in full when we checked in, otherwise i would have had great trouble in paying this man anything! I have run a guest house and understand completely that time is vital when you have rooms to do, but no-one is able to do every room at once, He could of let them at least sit in the hallway, or in the dining room. My Mother is in her late seventies and in recovery from having Chemo. I would not rate this B&B at all for his lack of compassion and flexibilty. A poor example of hospitality :(

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

When we arrived David greeted us with a warm welcome,even thou we had been before about five years ago David told us the best ways of getting into the city,bus routes and pathways which jogged our memory and was very helpful.
Our room was lovely and the ensuite was as well.There was just one downside to the room there wasnt really any storage for our clothes so we lived out of our holdall.
Breakfast was great you could have as much or as little as you want and you werent worried about asking for more.
Above all a great stay. Thanks David

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrynj651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I had a very good stay at this lovely guesthouse, which has been beautifully renovated to a very high standard by David and his wife Yoka. David was present for our stay and he was very helpful, providing lots of information and maps about how to get around Edinburgh. The guesthouse is nearer Leith but it is very easy to get into the centre of Edinburgh as the buses stop outside and it costs something like £1.30 into the centre or you can buy a day ticket for £3.50; we also walked into the centre a couple of times. It is about a 5-10min bus ride and a 30-40min walk. I guess for us there were two drawbacks, in that we had the downstairs room by the office and opposite the dining room where you could hear people going to breakfast and wandering in the corridor or going up and downstairs, this also made you conscious of making noise, the up side to this was the lovely smell of breakfast drifting into your room as it was cooked in the morning - breakfast was delicious. The second thing for me was that there was a narrow time to get to breakfast 8-9am - these points are minor though as our room was lovely and the bed extremely comfortable, I would definately stay at this guesthouse again.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msjaneellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

David was a really helpful host and the room had great views of Edinburgh. The room and facilities were reasonable but not spectacular. Location is ok- about halfway between Leith and Edinburgh centre although easily accessible.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Ashlyn Guest House
#101 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
The Ardleigh Guest House
#189 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Leith
The Bonnington Guest House
The Bonnington Guest House
#154 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brig O'Doon Guest House
#249 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Garfield Guest House
#41 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Leith
Swan Lake Guest House
Swan Lake Guest House
#193 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensdown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensdown Guest House

Property: Ravensdown Guest House
Address: 248 Ferry Road | Dszfliugy, Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravensdown Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravensdown is a friendly and stylish guest house, run by David (Scottish) and Yoka (Dutch) providing quality bed and breakfast accommodation in central Edinburgh. A spacious Edwardian house built in the early 1900’s, Ravensdown has spectacular views of the city skyline, Edinburgh castle and Arthur’s Seat.Situated on Ferry Road to the north of the ancient city, within easy access to the port of Leith, with lovely pubs and restaurants, and the Royal Yacht Britannia. Approximately 5 minutes walk to the Royal Botanic Garden, Canonmills, Broughton and Stockbridge, a lively up market 'village', with wonderful pubs, restaurants, bars and boutiques.We can advise you what to do and see in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ravensdown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensdown Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing