We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Ravensdown Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravensdown Guest House
Ranked #361 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed two nights at the Ravensdown, on our trip to Edinburgh. Our flight from Toronto landed at 6:30am in the morning, but they helped us out by taking our luggage in, so we could explore the city for the morning, before a very early check-in at 1:00pm. The building is on a busy street, but it was not too loud at all.

The room was clean and nice, with a pretty view of the hill in the city in the distance. We were only about a 10-15 minute drive by car or bus into downtown, which was convenient, and parking was free. Their front dining room was very pretty and the full Scottish breakfast was perfect. Of all the B&B's we stayed in, in Scotland, they had the FINEST french coffee every morning. Delicious.

In the end, we left and went to other cities/areas of Scotland, and we forgot our camera's power supply in our room. They graciously(and promptly) shipped it back home to Toronto for us. What a wonderful couple. THANK YOU.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJandTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
6
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

There's a lot of accommodation in Edinburgh (outside of festival time that is) and therefore paying £95 per night for a room for two you expect things to be good. There's nothing really wrong with this place it just didn't leave a positive memory. Perhaps watered down tomato and brown sauces at breakfast leave more of an impression than they ought to!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just completed a two night stay, very friendly hosts and room immaculate. Far enough out of the city centre but very easy for buses in and out of Edinburgh. Would recommend it to anyone, will definately be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank graemeb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We asked for a twin room but got a family room with thin walls which meant noisy neighbours late at night. It cost £95 per night in May, which is more than nearby guest houses but we could not recommend it despite nice looking website. The small bed had a thin hard mattress that was not comfortable. The room was on the top floor with nice views but needed dusting and the shampoo bottle was half used. The breakfast was either cooked or buffet. The cooked was fine for me but my friend found the buffet to consist of poor quality sliced bread, tired looking fruit and processed cheese, with open jams which had dried out. You could do better David.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie and Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
194 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The location is on a main road, so very noisy, breakfast is stingily little so nothing you can plan to start your day with, but the worst is the service. The toilet seat wasn t proper when checking in, but as we were very busy w university visits, we didn t say anything. Two minutes before we left, taxi was already outside, they came and blamed us we had broken the toilet seat and demanded 60pounds. This is unheard of and I really hope that a lot of people read this and don t book them. We were outraged and utterly disappointed. What a cheap way to get to a new toilet seat. We won t stay there again when we go back in September.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank doritg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravensdown, Owner at Ravensdown Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
The guests visited during the Edinburgh Festival when prices are at a premium. The guest did have a family room for the price of a double room. In fact the room and en suite were fully refurbished two months before their arrival and this is a first for us that guests have managed to destroy a brand new toilet seat. We rarely ask customers to pay for damages, but this was extreme. The customer was aware that of the damage the day prior to their departure.
Sorry but our breakfast does not and cannot compare to a top Singapore hotel breakfast buffet.
Unfortunately you cannot please all customers.
Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Some of the reviews have been unfair. I stayed 4 nights last August and found my room to be immaculate and extremely comfortable. My only quibble was the Lilliputian bathroom. The breakfast, while completely unmemorable, was nonetheless adequate. I paid $210 per night because I was there during the Festival, and not by choice. My schedule permitted me a visit to Edinburgh only at that time, so I was stuck, unless I wanted to spend over $300 to be closer to Princes Street. I bet that at almost any other time the room would have cost half of what I paid, and I would have no problem with that. But the location was actually a blessing in disguise, as the neighborhood was lovely and the 25 minute walk to P Street was very pleasant and near the wonderful Botanical Gardens, which Yoka, the lady of the house, highly recommended. She was, in fact, always helpful and charming, whereas David was rather surly, not a good quality for soeone running a guest house. Nonetheless, if you want to be slightly away fom the hustle and bustle of downtown I would recommend Ravensdown House for its great cleanliness, super comfortable bed, overall charm, and Yoka. Never mind the bland breakfast --- the coffee was fresh and strong, and that's all you need to kick start your day.

Room Tip: Inquire about the bathroom size if you have some girth. I don't, but still felt cramped and unab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bardboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#108 of 148 in Edinburgh
284 reviews
Ashlyn Guest House
#104 of 391 in Edinburgh
88 reviews
Heriott Park Guest House
#164 of 391 in Edinburgh
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 391 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
Garfield Guest House
#42 of 391 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
Leith
The Bonnington Guest House
The Bonnington Guest House
#136 of 391 in Edinburgh
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensdown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensdown Guest House

Property: Ravensdown Guest House
Address: 248 Ferry Road | Dszfliugy, Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravensdown Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravensdown is a friendly and stylish guest house, run by David (Scottish) and Yoka (Dutch) providing quality bed and breakfast accommodation in central Edinburgh. A spacious Edwardian house built in the early 1900’s, Ravensdown has spectacular views of the city skyline, Edinburgh castle and Arthur’s Seat.Situated on Ferry Road to the north of the ancient city, within easy access to the port of Leith, with lovely pubs and restaurants, and the Royal Yacht Britannia. Approximately 5 minutes walk to the Royal Botanic Garden, Canonmills, Broughton and Stockbridge, a lively up market 'village', with wonderful pubs, restaurants, bars and boutiques.We can advise you what to do and see in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ravensdown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensdown Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing