We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thank you for exceptional stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
Ranked #171 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2014

for family here is perfect. nice room-not large but perfectly fine with double bed and bunk beds. we liked this very much. bathroom was on hall and was very clean and good shower and many pleasant shamposs to choose from.
the people who work there were so nice and very kind and we loved to chat with them. and they made very large breakfasts and with real Scottish haggis-a delicacy we believe.
we will return there one day for sure and will recommend to everyone

Room Tip: room 1 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carla d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaledonianGuesthouse, Caledonian at Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write us a review. We very glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we must confess we do love a good chat and a hearty breakfast! We hope to see you again, all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

stayed with my wife for a long weekend. the guesthouse was very clean and recently refurbished. i've stayed at a lot of bed and breakfasts up and down the country and have to say the attention to detail here is second to none. staff were very helpful, i found the way you ordered breakfast helpful as the dining room isn't massive and we didn't have to wait for our food, unlike other b&b's where you have to wait for a free table..You can tell the owners are trying very hard and couldn't fault anything, will definitely stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaledonianGuesthouse, Caledonian at Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are very glad to hear you had a wonderful time. We do try our very best to make sure our guests stays are as pleasant as possible and we certainly do prioritise our breakfasts as they are the most important meal of the day! We hope to see you again, all the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family and I visited the ECG last weekend and was rather disappointed. The shared bathroom had no hand towels, a lack of cleaning products and a shower with such a lack of power you would have been as well using the sink tap. I know that you can't choose your neighbours but the others on our floor were dirt. This could have been helped if someone working at the B&B had checked the facilities more regularly.

The breakfast service was slow and considering you had to put your order in the night before and book a time slot, a little more organisation would have gone a long way.

The room was crammed and full of cheap ikea furniture. Alright if you are just wanting to somewhere to lay your head, not great if you are used to anything upwards of a premier inn.

Overall, for the money we had spent,I wouldn't rush to recommend the B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We reserved a room for three at the Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse. The room was spacious enough, and had a nice view to the west. The breakfast was very good, and you can indicate what time you would like to have it ready for you. A bus stop was just steps from the front door, which made trips in to the city center very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shodapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaledonianGuesthouse, Caledonian at Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it! We are glad you enjoyed our stay with us and must agree the views from the window into the merchant gardens and local area are quite lovely. We hope to see you again, all the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Filippo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaledonianGuesthouse, Manager at Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank macisa6971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#170 of 396 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 396 in Edinburgh
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#56 of 396 in Edinburgh
209 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#111 of 396 in Edinburgh
293 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse

Address: 14 Granville Terrace, Edinburgh EH10 4PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse is located in the Merchiston district of Edinburgh. This elegant Victorian property was refurbished in March 2014; rooms here will provide you with a flat-screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathrooms also come with free toiletries and some rooms boast garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing