We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penny Airey- No.38 Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$849
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$683
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
36
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
7
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

No exaggeration. The best B & B we have ever stayed in. The breakfasts....oh the breakfasts!!!!! Lovely people too. Richard is as interesting a host as you could find. Penny was lovely too!!

Big rooms, great location.....spotlessly clean.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is a really great B&B, located very close to the centre of Edinburgh. The owners are lovely, the breakfast good and our room (a family room) was huge (more than big enough for 2 adults and 2 teenagers) and comfortable. My only complaint was the noise from outside - we stayed on a Saturday night in a room at the front and made the mistake of leaving the windows open overnight - the noise of people walking past until the early hours keep us awake. Would still recommend though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeBanchory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have been staying here for several years at festival time & have always had a very warm welcome from Penny & Rick. It is a great B&B. The room is comfortable & a good size. The breakfasts are wonderful especially Penny's scrambled egg. It is well located in the Georgian new town & close to Princes Street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetking65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent two nights in Edinburgh at 38 Dublin Street with Richard and Penny. Their house is a World Heritage Site, and it was more interesting than we could have imagined. Our room had large windows, opening on a beautiful courtyard full of beautiful flowers and shrubs. They served a delicious and beautifully prepared breakfast our first morning and for our early departure at 6:00 am the following day, they left a lovely fresh fruit platter and croissants with butter and jam in the refrigerator in our room, complete with china dishes and cloth napkins. It is convenient to many restaurants and pubs and within easy walking distance to the Royal Mile for sightseeing. As an added bonus, Richard worked for ten years mapping both the Artic circle and Antarctica with dog teams, so he had very interesting stories to tell us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JO ANN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Every trip, it seems, we meet someone we'd like to return to stay with again and again. This trip it was Penny Airey and her family at No. 38 Dublin Street. The room we had was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were filling and well-prepared. But the icing on this nice little B&B is Penny - a ray of sunshine even when it was overcast outside.

The B&B is a little walk-down from Dublin Street that was quiet despite the tramway construction going on at the intersection (once the tram from the airport is up and running to this part of New Town, Dublin Street is going to be a very good location for B&Bs). Even now, it's only a couple minutes walk from the Waverley Street station.

It's nicely located for dinner in New Town (Henderson's and the other restaurants on Hanover Street are about two blocks away) and for art lovers, the National Portrait Gallery is a block and a half up Dublin Street. Calton Hill, High Street and even the Botanical Garden are an easy walk from the B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews