We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“HIGHLY RECOMENDED!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Street
Street
Entrance
The Double Bedroom
The Double Bedroom
The Double Bedroom
The Double Bedroom
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bath Room
Bath Room
Bath Room
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Halls
Halls
Halls
Halls
Halls
Street
Street
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Street
Street
Entrance
The Double Bedroom
The Double Bedroom
The Double Bedroom
The Double Bedroom
The Double Bedroom
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bath Room
Bath Room
Bath Room
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Halls
Halls
Halls
Halls
Halls
Street
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jenniferr...
Carlsbad, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMENDED!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the Writers Pad! Great location just a short walk into the city. It was on a lovely residential street which was very quiet. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen was nicely equipped with everything we needed. There was even a cute little yard in the back. We would definitely stay here again. Russell was a very accommodating and helpful host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not great wifi....just a hotspot that was
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manik M
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous and will be back!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fab location, about 10 mins (or less) walking distance to Harvey Nics, and the day tour bus station. Great place for adults, and good enough for kids of 5YO and above. Short walk to amenities, and nice eating places and easy to get cabs (owner provides a list of very useful info, so read your welcome pack!).

Owner is organized, and reps were friendly and professional. I am impressed, and defo going back. Love the simple but tasteful deco all around. Quiet area, which was perfect for us, family of 4 adults and 2 kids.

Even ordered a fab takeaway when we were too tired to go out, but unfortunately I forgot the name to share it here :( And forgot to take down the owner's email too (must do for future bookings!)

All in all, wish I could keep this place a secret :) but it won't be fair. No hassle refund of deposit too :) Thank you, we really had a blast ; we tried to extend as soon as we arrived (which was of course not available) but, we'll be back ;)

Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unit itself and of course location
Liked least: The unfriendly neighbour's dog that made us think twice to go out the back garden
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murmoo
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and stylish apartment in a grand Georgian townhouse only a short walk from the centre”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful and stylish apartment in the basement of a grand Georgian townhouse in an affluent part of the city. The area was peaceful, felt safe, and was only a short walk from the centre.

The apartment is stylishly furnished, very clean, and has good quality linens and carpets. Lounge and bedrooms were homely and welcoming.

The largest bedroom is at the rear, which can be made up as a double or twin. We had a 9 year old with us who had this room, and liked the garden view. The smaller double bedroom at the front of the property is just off the lounge and looks out onto a small paved area.

Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher (tablets provided) and washing machine, and upon arrival we were met with the keys and tea/coffee/milk was provided, a really nice touch after a long journey!

Loads of useful information was provided in a guest folder, including closest supermarket and a great Chinese restaurant just up the road.

Wifi provided by a mobile 3G router, easy access and was fast enough.

We usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels, and were not disappointed with our first short stay in an apartment let.

Prompt and efficient booking experience. Highly recommend to couples and families :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie534...
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable flat in a great location!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Scotland and we enjoyed every minute. That we had this comfortable flat as our "home base" certainly contributed to our enjoyment. The flat is very well located, in a quiet residential area yet within walking distance of all the major attractions in Edinburgh. There are many fine restaurants close by, as well as places to buy food should you wish to cook for yourself in the well-equipped kitchen. The flat has two bedroom with extremely comfortable beds, and the back bedroom has the additional advantage of facing onto a pleasant little garden. Everything was in mint condition, extremely clean and ... in a word, comfortable. All the amenities you might expect were provided, from Wi-fi to a first aid kit. The owner has even provided a library of books by selected Scottish authors, so if you are rained in one evening, you can always curl up on the sofa with a good book. Communication with the owner was extremely pleasant and the check-in was both friendly & smooth. All in, this flat provided great value for money, and we were very happy with our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The back bedroom with the view into the garden
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACMAE
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing