We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and welcoming stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stevenson House
Ranked #85 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We recently stayed in the Stevenson House where we received an effusive welcome and were made to feel at home.
John is an excellent host with a warm personality. We also met Nicole- an attentive and kind housekeeper who looked after us well. The house is in the perfect area for visiting Edinburgh as it is situated centrally.
We felt very relaxed and were also fascinated by the link that the house held with the great Scottish family of Stevenson.
Kate

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WILLAVA391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevensonHouse, Owner at The Stevenson House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words of praise and indeed for coming to stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

My thirteen-year-old daughter and I spent our final night in Edinburgh at the RL Stevenson House in mid-July. While we expected to find a residence steeped in history, we were pleasantly surprised to find this as well as a family home that was the perfect combination of welcoming and private.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Fellcitas and ushered to the second-floor twin room overlooking the Firth of Fourth. The room was quite large and well-appointed with a lovely attached bathroom boasting a powerful shower, two sinks, and comfortable beds. The home overall was decorated with a combination of antiques and items collected during the Macfie family's world travel.

Fellcitas offered several suggestions for area restaurants, scheduled our transportation to the airport, and provided us with an overview of the home's history inclusive of a brief tour. We were blown away by both her detailed knowledge of the area and her welcoming demeanor.

After a great night's sleep, we shared breakfast with John, Fellcitas, and three of their children. The children kept us in stitches. John shared insights into the inspiration behind Stevenson's Jekyll and Hyde (my daughter's summer reading and the impetus for our stay), and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast including homemade jellies.

Our stay was truly the "icing on the cake" of an amazing trip to Scotland, and we would stay again without reservation.

Room Tip: The climb to the top floor was definitely worth the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevensonHouse, Owner at The Stevenson House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Visitors like you really make a difference. We so enjoyed all your interest in Edinburgh and your daughter's project has hopefully been a resounding success after all our input ! You and your daughter were simply delightful guests, so please haste ye back !

Best wishes, Felicitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a short but exceptional stay at the Stevenson House directly after our wedding a few days ago. Our hosts knew that we'd got married that day and we arrived in our en-suite rooms to find two beautiful bouquet's of flowers awaiting us along with a carefully decanted wee dram; a personal and elegant touch.

Breakfast was a delicious smorgasbord of home made marmalade, lemon curd, chutney and toasted rye bread. Cold meats, fishes, cheese, boiled eggs, cereals, fruit juice and numerous other tasty bites. All served in the large dining room which, like the rest of the house, included numerous pieces of exquisite furniture and artwork. The Macfies have excellent taste and that's reflected in every room, from the wallpaper to the book shelves bursting with classic literature.

The massive Stevenson bath and ornately carved four poster bed were a treat for us to decompress in after a hectic few days. To bathe in the same tub as used by one of our greatest authors is a magical experience. We slept extremely well and although it's a large family home, we were never disturbed by any noise. All the members of the family that we did meet were very friendly and helpful but at the same time respectful of our space, we very much enjoyed our chats with them.

The property is in Edinburgh's 'New Town' (built well over 200 years ago), so relatively close to everything you could want in a visit to the city. We'd definitely highly recommend and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevensonHouse, Owner at The Stevenson House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Matt, when you initially booked we were quite apprehensive about hosting a couple on their wedding night, this being a family b&b and filled with life and maybe not the quietest romantic spot to take your bride. But it was so lovely having you and seeing how appreciative you were of our efforts. Thank you for your kind review and keep us in mind for your anniversaries !

Best wishes, Felicitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

History is merged effortlessly with family life at Stevenson House and you get to be a part of it for the length of your stay. We slept in the double room with en-suite on the first floor. It was beautifully decorated, spacious and bright, very clean and confortable.
The Macfie's take great care of their guests, with special treats for breakfast, useful tips and interesting conversation. As a plus, the location is absolutely perfect for walking to the main Edinburgh attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isani n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevensonHouse, Owner at The Stevenson House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and for your choice of words describing us. We pride ourselves on giving a very personal service and providing our guests with all the information they need to get the most out of their visit to this beautiful city.
We hope to be able to welcome you soon back to the Stevenson House.

Best wishes, Felicitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This charming residence was the old home of Robert Louis Stevenson and forms part of an imposing row of town houses within 10 minutes walking distance of the centre (and train station). The residence is filled with interesting artefacts and history. The private garden is a peaceful haven.

I booked this at the very last minute and received prompt confirmation, they were very helpful. The room (I stayed in the twin with nice en suite) is good value for money considering its history and position.

The family were endearing and keen to talk, the au pere was also fantastic. The breakfast was simple but excellent.

I would strongly recommend this as an alternative to a hotel for a true Edinburgh experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevensonHouse, Owner at The Stevenson House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your great review. When booking last minute, some guests don't have the time to check out our website and therefore don't really know where they are going to end up. How lovely then that we met and exceeded your expectations and that we were not only a convenient bed close to the city centre.
Thank you for your visit, we hope to see you back in near future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I spent some days at Stevenson House in December last year. I went there with my husband and son to celebrate my 40th birthday. It was unforgettable, I almost felt at home. I always feel at home when I am in my beloved Edinburgh but that time I wanted it to be really special so I decided to stay in this warm, cosy and very friendly guest house. The master room was beautiful and so was the bathroom (I liked the shelves with books in the toilet and books everywhere). The host family is friendly and kind and they really do their best to make you feel welcome and at home. The house is located very close to the city centre, you just have to walk a few minutes to be in Princes Street. Nice cafes and restaurants nearby. A place to stay if you wish to live a real Scottish life. Francesca

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Stevenson House. The house itself has an amazing, overwhelming atmosphere and my room had a fantastic view. A big plus, too, was the newly decorated bathroom with its blissful shower and underfloor heating! Also, the house is located very conveniently in walking distance from "everything" - the bus station, the old town, Princess Street...

The B&B is run by a lovely, welcoming family. They helped me finding my way around the city and recommended the really nice pubs (that are frequented by locals rather than tourists).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
939 reviews
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#46 of 395 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#175 of 395 in Edinburgh
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Scott House
Scott House
#47 of 395 in Edinburgh
63 reviews
New Town
A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#68 of 395 in Edinburgh
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson House

Address: 17 Heriot Row | New Town, Edinburgh EH3 6HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very central family home which welcomes you at all times of the year.Experience Edinburgh like a local,walk to the sights and let us help you make the most of your visit.Especially suited for family vacations as we have active children ourselves.French,German & Afrikaans, Literature and History spoken.An atmospheric,multicultural experience in the childhood home of R L Stevenson awaits you ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stevenson House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing