We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stevenson House
Ranked #84 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2009

This is the most charming B&B i have been to. With the complete family atmosphere and hospitality, it transformed what would have been dull business weekend into a warm and delightful experience. I will continue to come here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesTh0mps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for The Stevenson House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2009

Caveat emptor . . . though the bones of this historic house are exquisite, the RLS House website does not remotely provide the described ammenities nor depict it's inner appearance. Does "misrepresentation" come to mind? The owner of this home, a gentle, articulate and intelligent man seemed pulled in many directions . . . the details of hosting a B and B seemed least in his priorities. Take time to read the less favourable reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trusty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

I concur with most of the reviews already posted. This is not your typical B&B, and therein lies its charm. It's like staying with a family who live in an historic and characterful 1804 Georgian house. The Macfies were truly welcoming, as were their offspring, the youngest of whom are darling 2-year-old twin girls with whom I shared breakfast each morning in the beautifully proportioned dining room hung with family portraits. If you want impersonal accommodation with all the modern bells & whistles, this is not the place for you. If you want to sample life as it is well lived in one of Edinburgh's elegant neighbourhoods, then try Stevenson House.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sluggergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Having to come up to Edinburgh on business, I was delighted to find this gem of a B&B right in the heart of Edinburgh within walking distance of everywhere I needed to be.
I had a warm welcome, a spacious and clean room and there were so many special extras the Macfies provide !

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Salesbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

I stayed in Edinburgh over a November weekend, and this charming B&B offered a fantastically warm reception.

Not only was the bedroom and bathroom clean and comfortable, but the hospitality was also friendly and genuine. This place is a refreshing antithesis to the slew of bland and impersonal hotels out there.

Breakfast was excellent and the Mcfie family were just great.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank digitalime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

My husband and I completely enjoyed our stay at the RLS house! We were visiting from the U.S. It was a stay that strongly appealed to our passion for history and literature. It is in a superb location and has a warm inviting, homey atmosphere.
The host family and housekeeper made us welcome. The children were delightful. They shared their homework lessons with us, spoke German and English, and had helpful tips on how to find local restaurants. Each morning, a different family friend came in and joined us for breakfast. (As serendipity would have it, one friend and I had a mutual colleague!) Breakfast was good and each morning we were offered fresh cooked eggs along with the cold buffet. We were asked if we had any special dietary requirements. We were offered tea and coffee every afternoon.
Our room and en suite bathroom was large and interesting, It had very high ceilings and was chock full of antiques, plain old treasures, intriguing books and DVDs. 24/7 wireless internet was included in the rate. A wee dram of whiskey awaited us in the room, as well. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was clean. Our room had an abundance of the family's personal belongings (stored luggage, clean laundry, etc.). It was not in our way at all and only added to the homey feeling.
Our conversations with our hosts were stimulating. They ranged from the local practice of law to literature and history. One evening, the inaugural meeting of an RLS reading group was held in the house. We were given the key to the amazing private park across the street. Walking in that park it was hard to believe we were in the heart of one of the world's great cities. It wasn't just trees and greens!! The landscaping completely envelops you!
This B&B may not be for everyone. For example, there are a lot of stairs that may be challenging for the elderly or handicapped. Another example, the second floor bathroom has a unique history. The bathroom was installed by RLS's father, a well-known engineer, after RLS's wife teased her father-in-law about how unseemly it was that such a famous engineer did not have modern indoor facilities. It has a huge tub, typical of the day. However, if you simply *MUST* have a shower to begin or end your day, this historic facility may not be for you. I loved the bath tub and the nostalgia of washing my hair like I did as a child. Inside, the house is a bit dark consistent with its age. If you must have a bright, sparkly, chrome-like, modern decor, again, this may not be for you. Also, in this day and age of electronic commerce, some may find it a bit inconvenient to have to pay in cash or certified check. We didn't. (It was also nice to know the stay was already paid for when we left and that we weren't going to see a credit card bill when we got home!) If your idea of the perfect B&B experience is one with minimal contact with the hosts and near total seclusion, then this bustling, friend and family-filled environment may not be for you. Finally, if you have any strong preferences (twin vs. double beds, shared vs. exclusive bath facilities, vegetarian or other needs, etc.) we recommend raising it with the hosts at the time you book.
However, if you are looking for unique, interesting, far from "cookie cutter" hotel experience, the RLS House is for you. All in all, we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends. It was delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelsalot12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

If you like to read and are interested in history, this is a great place to stay! The site itself is Robert Louis Stevenson's childhood home and the current owners are friendly bibliophiles who will figure out your interests, ply you with books from their own collection, and discourse knowledgeably on local history, Edinburgh literary figures, 19th century plumbing, Scottish law as compared to English and American law, the history of linoleum, lighthouses and steam engines, and just about any other topic you might care to raise with them. We have never stayed in a B & B before, so cannot compare with others, but this one may have raised our expectations to an unfairly high level for the next one we stay in. We were given a large quiet room with bath on the second floor, fed lavish breakfasts and offered delicious whiskey in the evening. The three Macfie children who were home were charming hosts themselves, even the toddler twins who lavished us with grins and giggles. We were welcome to visit the common dining room at any time and each time we did we encountered a different set of interesting guests who were passing through. The Macfies manage a most gregarious and friendly B and B and they enriched our stay in Edinburgh immensely.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EchoParkReaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
231 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#74 of 393 in Edinburgh
427 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#46 of 393 in Edinburgh
188 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#58 of 393 in Edinburgh
196 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson House

Address: 17 Heriot Row | New Town, Edinburgh EH3 6HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very central family home which welcomes you at all times of the year.Experience Edinburgh like a local,walk to the sights and let us help you make the most of your visit.Especially suited for family vacations as we have active children ourselves.French,German & Afrikaans, Literature and History spoken.An atmospheric,multicultural experience in the childhood home of R L Stevenson awaits you ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stevenson House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing