We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing,fantastic home with lovely family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stevenson House
Ranked #80 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I spent unforgettable days with the more numerous and nice family I have ever known!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnygiulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2010

I found the house while looking for Stevenson sites, THEN found it was a B&B, so booked a stay immediately. If you like to move in with a delightful family and be treated as one of them, this is the place. Good food, wine, constant conversations about books and authors. We exchanged books and tips. My friends joined us for a lovely dinner. Felicitas is an amazing cook and inn keeper. After visiting Vailima and working my way back to Hariot Row, I feel very much in touch with my favorite author.
Oh, yes, and the location is perfect for enjoying the city, walking the historic streets, and learning about great shops, restaurants and sights to see.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portland_ORTeasipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Located in a perfect spot to hit beautiful Edinburgh city, lies the family owned Stevenson house. Yes, Stevenson as in the writer. And booklovers, you will adore this place and the family living in it. There is a slight catch, you will be part of the family. Is that a catch, you might ask? Well, I have read some comments complaining about noise made by the children and the amount of clutter. So if you are looking for a quiet room, without the lively laughter of people, just to be on your own, without any distractions whatsoever, please, do not go here. But if you are looking for a vibrant place, filled with books and history, with a beautiful family running it, with breakfast at whatever time you like, with an absolutely stunning room and dito bathroom, and all this slap bang in the centre, please, go here. I surely will be coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

The decor was a little creepy (animal hides hanging over the banister railing)and made us feel uncomfortable. We stayed in a room with two single beds that had really creepy decorations hanging over them(bone and bead decorations and scary masks). The light would also flicker randomly.

Although the location was fantastic and the proprietors were friendly and helpful we do not recommend this b&b for anyone who is afraid of the dark.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmoothSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevensonHouse, Owner at The Stevenson House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Canadian visitors,

We are very sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortable stay due to your dislike of our decor. If you had told us we could have easily switched you to the first floor master bedroom which has no African decorations in it. You will be glad to know that the light system was seen to and the intermittent fault was fixed.
We would love to welcome you back and give you the experience that so many of our other visitors have.
The bedroom you occupied has now also got its own en-suite facilities which everybody loves.

Best wishes, Felicitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We had an excellent stay in The Stevenson House. Apart from the perfect location, it is wonderful to stay at a place with such a wonderful past.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcelverhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Was exciting to stay in the home of R.L.Stevenson. Friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsarwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

It was a last minute booking and we weren't sure what to expect. What we found was an incredible house in a great, central location and a vivacious welcoming hostess to open the door to us. Felicitas showed us our four poster room full of character and with great views. The house is grand and impressive, and yet it doesn't have the feel of a museum but rather a wonderful lived-in family home. This was confirmed in the morning as we shared the breakfast table with their charming budding inventor son and exuberant twins (it's worth pointing out that we weren't bothered by noise at all during our stay). The food was excellent, we were really impressed with the variety on offer, especially delicious home made jams, bread and muesli. Felicitas and John are wonderful hosts: they are both very interesting, hospitable and helpful. If you want a unique, warm Edinburgh experience, and not the sterility and anonymity of a hotel, then this one is for you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gocinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#49 of 394 in Edinburgh
192 reviews
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#182 of 394 in Edinburgh
357 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#67 of 394 in Edinburgh
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson House

Address: 17 Heriot Row | New Town, Edinburgh EH3 6HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very central family home which welcomes you at all times of the year.Experience Edinburgh like a local,walk to the sights and let us help you make the most of your visit.Especially suited for family vacations as we have active children ourselves.French,German & Afrikaans, Literature and History spoken.An atmospheric,multicultural experience in the childhood home of R L Stevenson awaits you ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stevenson House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing