We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lo♥ed it”
Review of Alva House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alva House
Ranked #277 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

perfect guesthouse for gaymen. A tiny refuge in a busy city. My room was spic and span clean, had a good bed, a lavabo with hot and cold water and a really good telly. Breakfast is simple but adequate. The location is perfect. Walking distance to Waverley Station and very quiet at night. I was really quite happy there. The host is a perfect gentleman and knows everything about Edinburgh. The kitchen is not only a meetingpoint but also fully equiped ... If I ever go again to Edinburgh this is the place I wanna be :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonlover68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here on Saturday for 1 night i must say it is the cleanliest most friendliest place i have stayed in a while when arriving i was shown straight to my room then round the communal kitchen where i was told to help myself to tea coffee hot chocolate and biscuits was given my keys and told to have a nice stay. i stayed in the single room where the decor was so nice and bright had my own washand basin TV and DVD. the bed was a single and very comfortable i would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend to anyone staying in Edinburgh to stay here
thanks for my wonderful 1 night stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here in July - the mattress was so comfortable I peeled back the bedclothes to see what it was - unfortunately the company no longer makes them, typical!

Anyway, we had the room opposite the kitchen on the 1st floor; pleasant decor. We had private, but separate, bathroom - which was next to the room so perfectly capable of making it an attached en-suite, but there we are - the nuances of B&B.

Breakfast was plentiful - as were the flies in the room. Really not sure why so many came in, they circled like planes waiting to land at Heathrow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidNewman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Only has 5 rooms and the description on the web site is accurate. I had booked the smallest (and cheapest) one and it was larger than I expected. Most rooms have shared bathroom and toilet but this is no problem as they are near to the rooms, The place is clean and martin provides a good continental breakfast which you can have anytime up to noon. Free cooffe tea and buscuts always available in the kitchen/breakfast room. Good gay pub (regent) nearby and within walking distance to city centre. if yu dont feel like walking plenty of buses available. if using bus buy a day pass for £3.50 it gets you nearly everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmbobSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend, and what a find!

Emailed the owner Martin and reserved the room, all he required was an approx arrival time - in the event we were about an hour earlier than anticipated, but not a problem....we were offered coffee whilst the room was prepared, which had a beautiful polished floor, lovely firm mattress on the bed, and a kitchen directly opposite where you can make tea/coffee etc whenever you want.

Room was spotless, well maintained, and my only quibble would be that the room wasn't en-suite......that said, the bathroom was the next door along!

Martin was a great host, friendly and knowledgeable about Edinburgh, and for anyone, I couldn't recommend this place highly enough....we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room One has a private bathroom....not en-suite, but literally the next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmoak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had an extended stay at the Alva House during May 2012 for about 3 weeks; give or take a day or two. The owner, Martin, was gracious and accommodating. He took the time to explain the area, pointing out places where I could save money, and even allowed me to do a few loads of laundry. Some of the other reviews are a bit unfair.

The Alva House is not a luxury hotel but it is clean, convenient and adequate. The design is simple but modern bed and breakfast.

To be honest, it can be a little noisy but Edinburgh is a bustling city. If you want peace and quiet go to the Scottish countryside. You'll get plenty of it there!

It is a 10-15 minute walk to Holyrood Palace, Arthur's Seat, Calton Hill, Scottish Parlement and the Royal Mile. There's also several neighborhood bars where there's inexpensive bar food.

In regards to the unfriendly service, I can only tell you that if you want overly friendly service then maybe you should stay at the Ritz. In my experience, British people tend to be a little more constrained and are not overly friendly; Scots maybe being the exception. You must earn their trust. Get over it.

When I'm visiting Edinburgh in the future the Alva House will receive my patronage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomKYHWU-EBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Great guest house been here a few times would definitely recommend this Martin the owner Is very nice and friendly great gay men only guest house fresh and clean good to come and go as you wish very quiet and in a great area would deffenitly go back to stay hear great value for money and a great warm welcome

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayum29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,057 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva House

Address: 45 Alva Place, Edinburgh EH7 5AX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Alva House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing